We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mount Nelson Hotel Cape Town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Ranked #10 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mount Nelson Hotel Cape Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

I would recommend this hotel to anyone having time in Cape Town.We had 4 nights at the end of November the service was great from walking through the door to leaving. Room excellent also breakfast on terrace such a great start to the day.. Swimming pool temp. just right and so clean.The staff were all very well trained and obliging.This being my first visit to South Africa I could not of had a better start.

Room Tip: We had room looking over looking swimming pool which was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Celia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xavier L, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thank you for your kind review. Happy to hear that you enjoyed your first visit to South Africa which is truly one of the most beautiful countries in the world!
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,497 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,245
    183
    48
    15
    6
See reviews for
260
711
49
237
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

A colleague recommended that i give the Mt Nelson a try (given that i usually frequent the other 5 star establishments in Cape Town). My wife and i were very pleasantly surprised. We were blown away by our experience. The accommodation was superb, and the service from the hotel staff was excellent. What's more, my wife is convinced that i have the most impeccable taste when it comes to choosing hotels. Give the Mt Nelson a try. You won't regret it!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Shaheen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xavier L, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thank you for choosing the Mount Nelson Hotel to celebrate your wedding anniversary. Happy we were able to give you a little boost to shine even brighter in front of your wife. All the best to both of you.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

The hotel and all amenities at our disposal were absolutely impeccable! Robyn Ilcheva was possibly the most efficient, friendly and accommodating co-ordinator I've come across to date. Thank you to all staff at MN Hotel for making our stay one we will not soon forget!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Deidre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xavier L, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback. I will pass on your compliments to Robyn Ilcheva who is doing a fantastic job at the Mount Nelson as a group coordinator. Thank you so much for choosing the Mount Nelson for your stay and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again on a future visit to Cape Town.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

This hotel combines history, excellent service, and great fascilities. The soul of the hotel and its staff welcome you from check in to check out. I had 5 marvellous days here, and will definitively return!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Kristoffer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xavier L, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We look forward to seeing you on your return visit to Cape Town.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

They may have the world's best afternoon tea but lunch service is terrible. I could hear Margaret, our server, reminding the bartender that she had put in an order for a glass of ice water and an ice tea. She came back and said he was making the tea fresh. Well they must have been making the water fresh too. We noticed that we were given two different menus but they took our order anyway. When it arrived they had given my wife the same thing but she had ordered the pulled lamb sandwich which shouldn't look like the ostrich fan steak. Despite repeated apologies it finally came. Of course I didn't get what I ordered. I had asked for more onion rings on the side rather than French fries. I got French fries. They finally sent out the chef, Samantha, who was quite personable.

Well, nice venue, but abysmal service. If they can't get orders correct, then they should close. I hope your experience is much better.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DocRichardson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

One of the best hotels we have stayed in worldwide. Service impeccable, food wonderful and first rate accommodation. Staff friendly, attentive, knowledgable and helpful. We could not fault it. We would have no hesitation in recommending it.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank mwright982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xavier L, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Thank you for your positive review. Hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again on your next visit to Cape Town. As an FYI, we have just had the opening of "Summer of Sculpture 2" in our gardens where we have 17 South African artists exhibiting 22 sculptures.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

The Mount Nelson Hotel is truly an oasis in the heart of Capetown. Lush gardens surround this stately low rise hotel and Table Mountain rises behind; a stunning, jaw dropping vista. From the moment one arrives, entering through the massive white columns and up the long shaded drive, one is treated like royalty. Each and every staff member is remarkable; friendly, professional, and helpful. They do whatever they can, to make your stay special.

My room was beautiful; a large, elegant retreat overlooking the pool and gardens, the bed, exceptionally comfortable with top quality linens.

Each morning I enjoyed a delicious buffet breakfast on the terrace. It was a wonderful, leisurely way to start the day and I felt always a little reluctant to leave and go sightseeing! From the Mount Nelson Hotel, both routes of the Hop On Hop Off bus can be accessed, as the bus stops right at the main entrance. The courtesy car is also available should you want to go directly to a specific location, such as the waterfront. As much as the waterfront is a lively and interesting tourist destination, I was quite happy to not be staying there. I much prefer the quieter, secluded nature of the Mount Nelson. It is also a great spot from which to set off on a walking tour. Very near are the Company Gardens, the National Gallery ( very worthwhile!) and other museums and attractions, as well as many good restaurants.

I loved my stay at the Mount Nelson. I would love to go back, and if I am ever able to return to Cape Town, I will return to the Mount Nelson. In fact, I would go back to Cape Town, just to stay at the Mount Nelson! Now that's an idea!!

Room Tip: I had a pool view and it was very very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank noreen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xavier L, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor. Hope to see you again if you have a chance to return to Cape Town. In the meantime, you may want to see the new movie, "Long Walk to Freedom". The movie is being released on November 29 and it is a chronicle of Nelson Mandela's life journey from his childhood in a rural village through to his inauguration as the first democratically elected president of South Africa. I haven't seen it yet but will make sure I see it.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
1.7 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,948 reviews
1.6 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#15 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,507 reviews
0.7 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#17 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#19 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,079 reviews
2.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#32 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,657 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cape Heritage Hotel
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel

Property: Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Address: 76 Orange Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel is a timeless and authentic resort hotel located in the heart of Cape Town. With a unique legacy of service excellence based on authentic Cape hospitality, the hotel remains a destination of choice. The hotel's convenient location makes it easy for guests to explore the city centre and its surrounds, and some of South Africa's best beaches. The garden estate setting is an urban sanctuary, complete with two heated swimming pools, rolling lawns, a palm lined avenue and secluded Rose gardens which lend themselves to romance. The abundance of secure wide open space makes families feel at home and encourages children to run free and explore. Several distinctive accommodation wings offer a variety of 198 individually decorated, elegantly appointed rooms and suites. No two rooms are exactly the same, and each annexe offers unique views, mood and style. Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel has played host to countless weddings and milestone celebrations. The glamorous and contemporary Planet Bar and Restaurant offers guests a true South African gastronomic dinner experience, and the newly refurbished Oasis Bistro offers guests a Mediterranean inspired al fresco breakfast and lunch menu overlooking the family pool and gardens. A daily Afternoon Tea served in the hotel lounge is a signature and not to be missed experience. Extending the emphasis on pleasure is Librisa Spa - a destination day spa boasting eight oversized treatment and shower rooms, separate manicure and pedicure rooms, and a sun-splashed conservatory. Treatments are based on the healing power of touch and incorporate products containing local ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Belmond, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotelopia, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Nelson Cape Town
Hotel Mount Nelson
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing