We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Ranked #10 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Rugeley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

My partner and I received a afternoon tea voucher as a Christmas gift,
Thete had been a delay in delivery of the voucher and we only had e mail confirmation, the staff sorted this without fuss, abd we had a thoroughly enjoyable afternoon, the food and staff where excellent, and thr surroundings amazing, we would thoroughly recommend afternoon rea,
One small critism the food table did not look as opulent as the advert, the food certainly was

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Roydw1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xavier L, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Thank you for coming to the hotel's afternoon tea. Our gift vouchers do make very nice presents. Hope to see you again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,266
    185
    49
    15
    6
See reviews for
263
721
51
243
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We stayed for 4 nights at the Mount Nelson. It is well situated at the top side of the Company Gardens, a pleasant walk into the town centre and only 10 minutes by taxi to the waterfront.
The hotel is lovely, the staff are very friendly and helpful without being "OTT". The food and service were excellent. Security as everywhere in Cape Town, seemed to be a priority but once the gate keepers knew you (say hello as you leave) you are greeted as a welcome friend when you return.
There is a courtesy car available during the day if you wish to travel to the waterfront and taxis are very cheap for your return.
Should you wish to eat out of the hotel there are plenty of restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doc061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xavier L, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thank you for your kind review. Look forward to welcoming you back on a return visit to Cape Town.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

I would recommend this hotel to anyone having time in Cape Town.We had 4 nights at the end of November the service was great from walking through the door to leaving. Room excellent also breakfast on terrace such a great start to the day.. Swimming pool temp. just right and so clean.The staff were all very well trained and obliging.This being my first visit to South Africa I could not of had a better start.

Room Tip: We had room looking over looking swimming pool which was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Celia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xavier L, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thank you for your kind review. Happy to hear that you enjoyed your first visit to South Africa which is truly one of the most beautiful countries in the world!
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 December 2013

A colleague recommended that i give the Mt Nelson a try (given that i usually frequent the other 5 star establishments in Cape Town). My wife and i were very pleasantly surprised. We were blown away by our experience. The accommodation was superb, and the service from the hotel staff was excellent. What's more, my wife is convinced that i have the most impeccable taste when it comes to choosing hotels. Give the Mt Nelson a try. You won't regret it!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Shaheen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xavier L, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thank you for choosing the Mount Nelson Hotel to celebrate your wedding anniversary. Happy we were able to give you a little boost to shine even brighter in front of your wife. All the best to both of you.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 December 2013

The hotel and all amenities at our disposal were absolutely impeccable! Robyn Ilcheva was possibly the most efficient, friendly and accommodating co-ordinator I've come across to date. Thank you to all staff at MN Hotel for making our stay one we will not soon forget!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Deidre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xavier L, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback. I will pass on your compliments to Robyn Ilcheva who is doing a fantastic job at the Mount Nelson as a group coordinator. Thank you so much for choosing the Mount Nelson for your stay and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again on a future visit to Cape Town.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 December 2013

This hotel combines history, excellent service, and great fascilities. The soul of the hotel and its staff welcome you from check in to check out. I had 5 marvellous days here, and will definitively return!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Kristoffer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xavier L, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We look forward to seeing you on your return visit to Cape Town.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

They may have the world's best afternoon tea but lunch service is terrible. I could hear Margaret, our server, reminding the bartender that she had put in an order for a glass of ice water and an ice tea. She came back and said he was making the tea fresh. Well they must have been making the water fresh too. We noticed that we were given two different menus but they took our order anyway. When it arrived they had given my wife the same thing but she had ordered the pulled lamb sandwich which shouldn't look like the ostrich fan steak. Despite repeated apologies it finally came. Of course I didn't get what I ordered. I had asked for more onion rings on the side rather than French fries. I got French fries. They finally sent out the chef, Samantha, who was quite personable.

Well, nice venue, but abysmal service. If they can't get orders correct, then they should close. I hope your experience is much better.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DocRichardson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,996 reviews
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,550 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#17 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Table Bay Hotel
#18 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,153 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,390 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel

Property: Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Address: 76 Orange Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel is a timeless and authentic resort hotel located in the heart of Cape Town. With a unique legacy of service excellence based on authentic Cape hospitality, the hotel remains a destination of choice. The hotel's convenient location makes it easy for guests to explore the city centre and its surrounds, and some of South Africa's best beaches. The garden estate setting is an urban sanctuary, complete with two heated swimming pools, rolling lawns, a palm lined avenue and secluded Rose gardens which lend themselves to romance. The abundance of secure wide open space makes families feel at home and encourages children to run free and explore. Several distinctive accommodation wings offer a variety of 198 individually decorated, elegantly appointed rooms and suites. No two rooms are exactly the same, and each annexe offers unique views, mood and style. Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel has played host to countless weddings and milestone celebrations. The glamorous and contemporary Planet Bar and Restaurant offers guests a true South African gastronomic dinner experience, and the newly refurbished Oasis Bistro offers guests a Mediterranean inspired al fresco breakfast and lunch menu overlooking the family pool and gardens. A daily Afternoon Tea served in the hotel lounge is a signature and not to be missed experience. Extending the emphasis on pleasure is Librisa Spa - a destination day spa boasting eight oversized treatment and shower rooms, separate manicure and pedicure rooms, and a sun-splashed conservatory. Treatments are based on the healing power of touch and incorporate products containing local ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Belmond, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, Agoda, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Nelson Cape Town
Hotel Mount Nelson
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing