We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The fairy tale that sadly had to end”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Ranked #11 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

There is simply not enough time or space to sing the praises of everything this hotel has to offer.

We were picked up at the airport on time with ice cold refreshments. The driver was such a friendly soul. Explaining the history, pointing out buildings as we came through the dust and down into Cape.

The reception and porter staff were impecable. Fizz on arrival, a grand tour of the hotel, finishing at our room where our bags awaited.

Oh and what an amazing room... "so nice".......we were on the 2nd floor (room 23 something)of the main block with a small balcony.... if you can upgrade to the cottages ... then certainly do, we managed to sneak a look.

Nb: For the keep swimmers there is also a second and more secluded pool.

Breakfast and high noon tea were amazing with a very colonial feel. Dinner was not especially great but this is a very small point to give a balanced review.

By the time my stay here was over a part of me died.

A hotel could not have done more to make my stay this comfortable.... and thus ends my tale!!!!


Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank CuratingNate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xavier L, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2013

Thank you for your very nice comments. Happy to hear that you thouroughly enjoyed your stay and that the Mount Nelson Hotel is by no means " A Sleepping Beauty". Hope to see you again.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,572)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

848 - 854 of 1,572 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

My partner and I received a afternoon tea voucher as a Christmas gift,
Thete had been a delay in delivery of the voucher and we only had e mail confirmation, the staff sorted this without fuss, abd we had a thoroughly enjoyable afternoon, the food and staff where excellent, and thr surroundings amazing, we would thoroughly recommend afternoon rea,
One small critism the food table did not look as opulent as the advert, the food certainly was

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Roydw1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xavier L, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2013

Thank you for coming to the hotel's afternoon tea. Our gift vouchers do make very nice presents. Hope to see you again in the near future.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We stayed for 4 nights at the Mount Nelson. It is well situated at the top side of the Company Gardens, a pleasant walk into the town centre and only 10 minutes by taxi to the waterfront.
The hotel is lovely, the staff are very friendly and helpful without being "OTT". The food and service were excellent. Security as everywhere in Cape Town, seemed to be a priority but once the gate keepers knew you (say hello as you leave) you are greeted as a welcome friend when you return.
There is a courtesy car available during the day if you wish to travel to the waterfront and taxis are very cheap for your return.
Should you wish to eat out of the hotel there are plenty of restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doc061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xavier L, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Thank you for your kind review. Look forward to welcoming you back on a return visit to Cape Town.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

I would recommend this hotel to anyone having time in Cape Town.We had 4 nights at the end of November the service was great from walking through the door to leaving. Room excellent also breakfast on terrace such a great start to the day.. Swimming pool temp. just right and so clean.The staff were all very well trained and obliging.This being my first visit to South Africa I could not of had a better start.

Room Tip: We had room looking over looking swimming pool which was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Celia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xavier L, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Thank you for your kind review. Happy to hear that you enjoyed your first visit to South Africa which is truly one of the most beautiful countries in the world!
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

A colleague recommended that i give the Mt Nelson a try (given that i usually frequent the other 5 star establishments in Cape Town). My wife and i were very pleasantly surprised. We were blown away by our experience. The accommodation was superb, and the service from the hotel staff was excellent. What's more, my wife is convinced that i have the most impeccable taste when it comes to choosing hotels. Give the Mt Nelson a try. You won't regret it!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Shaheen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xavier L, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Thank you for choosing the Mount Nelson Hotel to celebrate your wedding anniversary. Happy we were able to give you a little boost to shine even brighter in front of your wife. All the best to both of you.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

The hotel and all amenities at our disposal were absolutely impeccable! Robyn Ilcheva was possibly the most efficient, friendly and accommodating co-ordinator I've come across to date. Thank you to all staff at MN Hotel for making our stay one we will not soon forget!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Deidre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xavier L, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Thank you for your positive feedback. I will pass on your compliments to Robyn Ilcheva who is doing a fantastic job at the Mount Nelson as a group coordinator. Thank you so much for choosing the Mount Nelson for your stay and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again on a future visit to Cape Town.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

This hotel combines history, excellent service, and great fascilities. The soul of the hotel and its staff welcome you from check in to check out. I had 5 marvellous days here, and will definitively return!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Kristoffer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xavier L, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Thank you for your kind review. We look forward to seeing you on your return visit to Cape Town.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
1.6 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,074 reviews
1.6 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#12 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,647 reviews
0.7 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#16 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#18 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,280 reviews
2.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,760 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#35 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel

Address: 76 Orange Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £293 - £627 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel is a timeless and authentic resort hotel located in the heart of Cape Town. With a unique legacy of service excellence based on authentic Cape hospitality, the hotel remains a destination of choice. The hotel's convenient location makes it easy for guests to explore the city centre and its surrounds, and some of South Africa's best beaches. The garden estate setting is an urban sanctuary, complete with two heated swimming pools, rolling lawns, a palm lined avenue and secluded Rose gardens which lend themselves to romance. The abundance of secure wide open space makes families feel at home and encourages children to run free and explore. Several distinctive accommodation wings offer a variety of 198 individually decorated, elegantly appointed rooms and suites. No two rooms are exactly the same, and each annexe offers unique views, mood and style. Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel has played host to countless weddings and milestone celebrations. The glamorous and contemporary Planet Bar and Restaurant offers guests a true South African gastronomic dinner experience, and the newly refurbished Oasis Bistro offers guests a Mediterranean inspired al fresco breakfast and lunch menu overlooking the family pool and gardens. A daily Afternoon Tea served in the hotel lounge is a signature and not to be missed experience. Extending the emphasis on pleasure is Librisa Spa - a destination day spa boasting eight oversized treatment and shower rooms, separate manicure and pedicure rooms, and a sun-splashed conservatory. Treatments are based on the healing power of touch and incorporate products containing local ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Nelson Cape Town
Hotel Mount Nelson
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing