We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Cape Heritage Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$143
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Victoria & Alfred Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$211
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$206
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$144
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$133
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$267
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$212
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Taj Cape Town(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Commodore(Cape Town Central)
US$223
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$177
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cape Grace(Cape Town Central)
US$633
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$491
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blackheath Lodge(Cape Town Central)
US$212
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Table Bay Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$370
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$340
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,744)
Filter reviews
1,744 results
Traveller rating
1,440
222
59
17
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,440
222
59
17
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplanet restauranthigh teaoasis restaurantpink ladyfamous afternoon teachef's tabletennis courtscolonial hotelgrand damegrand old ladytable mountainmain buildingjunior suitecompany gardensoystersconcierge deskwonderful hotel
Filter
Updating list...
994 - 999 of 1,744 reviews
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

My partner and I received a afternoon tea voucher as a Christmas gift,
Thete had been a delay in delivery of the voucher and we only had e mail confirmation, the staff sorted this without fuss, abd we had a thoroughly enjoyable afternoon, the food and staff where excellent, and thr surroundings amazing, we would thoroughly recommend afternoon rea,
One small critism the food table did not look as opulent as the advert, the food certainly was

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Roydw1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xavier L, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2013

Thank you for coming to the hotel's afternoon tea. Our gift vouchers do make very nice presents. Hope to see you again in the near future.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We stayed for 4 nights at the Mount Nelson. It is well situated at the top side of the Company Gardens, a pleasant walk into the town centre and only 10 minutes by taxi to the waterfront.
The hotel is lovely, the staff are very friendly and helpful without being "OTT". The food and service were excellent. Security as everywhere in Cape Town, seemed to be a priority but once the gate keepers knew you (say hello as you leave) you are greeted as a welcome friend when you return.
There is a courtesy car available during the day if you wish to travel to the waterfront and taxis are very cheap for your return.
Should you wish to eat out of the hotel there are plenty of restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doc061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xavier L, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Thank you for your kind review. Look forward to welcoming you back on a return visit to Cape Town.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

I would recommend this hotel to anyone having time in Cape Town.We had 4 nights at the end of November the service was great from walking through the door to leaving. Room excellent also breakfast on terrace such a great start to the day.. Swimming pool temp. just right and so clean.The staff were all very well trained and obliging.This being my first visit to South Africa I could not of had a better start.

Room Tip: We had room looking over looking swimming pool which was excellent.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Celia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xavier L, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Thank you for your kind review. Happy to hear that you enjoyed your first visit to South Africa which is truly one of the most beautiful countries in the world!
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

A colleague recommended that i give the Mt Nelson a try (given that i usually frequent the other 5 star establishments in Cape Town). My wife and i were very pleasantly surprised. We were blown away by our experience. The accommodation was superb, and the service from the hotel staff was excellent. What's more, my wife is convinced that i have the most impeccable taste when it comes to choosing hotels. Give the Mt Nelson a try. You won't regret it!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Shaheen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xavier L, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Thank you for choosing the Mount Nelson Hotel to celebrate your wedding anniversary. Happy we were able to give you a little boost to shine even brighter in front of your wife. All the best to both of you.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

The hotel and all amenities at our disposal were absolutely impeccable! Robyn Ilcheva was possibly the most efficient, friendly and accommodating co-ordinator I've come across to date. Thank you to all staff at MN Hotel for making our stay one we will not soon forget!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Deidre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xavier L, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Thank you for your positive feedback. I will pass on your compliments to Robyn Ilcheva who is doing a fantastic job at the Mount Nelson as a group coordinator. Thank you so much for choosing the Mount Nelson for your stay and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again on a future visit to Cape Town.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews