We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the best hotel I ever stayed at”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Ranked #11 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 December 2013

I had the pleasure staying at Mount Nelson Hotel for a 3 day business stay and the room, the ambience, the service and the restaurant was as close to perfect as it gets.
The staff is very helpful land friendly, the food is excellent and the location is perfect.
The room was newly renovated and nice. The bed was comfortable and for one time sake the WIFI actually worked satisfactory which is rare even in high class hotels.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RBUCH-DK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xavier L, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2013

Thank you for posting your positive review. Please spread the word in Denmark. Hope you can return and enjoy the Western Cape for a vacation.....it's a beautiful part of the world!
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,682)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

944 - 950 of 1,682 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2013

Before arriving - many of my friends who have travelled to S.A had raved about the Mount Nelson. Most of them only visited for the High Tea. However my wife and I stayed for 6 nights in 2011. The place was very welcoming and the staff fantastic. Food was first class. As the hotel is situated right under Table Mountain - the walk into Cape Town Central was through the gardens. This is ok until the day we decided to go it rained!!! Fortunately the Science Museum was open so spent a few hours wandering through this establishment.
Back to the hotel, rooms were very well furnished and great layout. Views from the romm was over Cape Town looking down to V+A. The girls who served breakfast were full of fun. One of the girls we named Grandma - as she was slightly older than the others and someone who you would like to have as your nan!
A most definite return is on the cards if you can get booked in!!

fantastic Hotel

Room Tip: No preference as the rooms are all fantastic - depends on your spend, our room was a deluxe room a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DMSSA2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xavier L, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2013

Thank you for posting this positive review. We are fortunate to have some wonderful museums in Company Gardens. The Iziko South African National Gallery and the Iziko Slave Lodge are both very interesting. Hope to have the pleasure of welcolming you back in the very near future.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

There is simply not enough time or space to sing the praises of everything this hotel has to offer.

We were picked up at the airport on time with ice cold refreshments. The driver was such a friendly soul. Explaining the history, pointing out buildings as we came through the dust and down into Cape.

The reception and porter staff were impecable. Fizz on arrival, a grand tour of the hotel, finishing at our room where our bags awaited.

Oh and what an amazing room... "so nice".......we were on the 2nd floor (room 23 something)of the main block with a small balcony.... if you can upgrade to the cottages ... then certainly do, we managed to sneak a look.

Nb: For the keep swimmers there is also a second and more secluded pool.

Breakfast and high noon tea were amazing with a very colonial feel. Dinner was not especially great but this is a very small point to give a balanced review.

By the time my stay here was over a part of me died.

A hotel could not have done more to make my stay this comfortable.... and thus ends my tale!!!!


Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank CuratingNate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xavier L, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2013

Thank you for your very nice comments. Happy to hear that you thouroughly enjoyed your stay and that the Mount Nelson Hotel is by no means " A Sleepping Beauty". Hope to see you again.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

My partner and I received a afternoon tea voucher as a Christmas gift,
Thete had been a delay in delivery of the voucher and we only had e mail confirmation, the staff sorted this without fuss, abd we had a thoroughly enjoyable afternoon, the food and staff where excellent, and thr surroundings amazing, we would thoroughly recommend afternoon rea,
One small critism the food table did not look as opulent as the advert, the food certainly was

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Roydw1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xavier L, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2013

Thank you for coming to the hotel's afternoon tea. Our gift vouchers do make very nice presents. Hope to see you again in the near future.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We stayed for 4 nights at the Mount Nelson. It is well situated at the top side of the Company Gardens, a pleasant walk into the town centre and only 10 minutes by taxi to the waterfront.
The hotel is lovely, the staff are very friendly and helpful without being "OTT". The food and service were excellent. Security as everywhere in Cape Town, seemed to be a priority but once the gate keepers knew you (say hello as you leave) you are greeted as a welcome friend when you return.
There is a courtesy car available during the day if you wish to travel to the waterfront and taxis are very cheap for your return.
Should you wish to eat out of the hotel there are plenty of restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doc061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xavier L, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Thank you for your kind review. Look forward to welcoming you back on a return visit to Cape Town.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

I would recommend this hotel to anyone having time in Cape Town.We had 4 nights at the end of November the service was great from walking through the door to leaving. Room excellent also breakfast on terrace such a great start to the day.. Swimming pool temp. just right and so clean.The staff were all very well trained and obliging.This being my first visit to South Africa I could not of had a better start.

Room Tip: We had room looking over looking swimming pool which was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Celia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xavier L, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Thank you for your kind review. Happy to hear that you enjoyed your first visit to South Africa which is truly one of the most beautiful countries in the world!
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

A colleague recommended that i give the Mt Nelson a try (given that i usually frequent the other 5 star establishments in Cape Town). My wife and i were very pleasantly surprised. We were blown away by our experience. The accommodation was superb, and the service from the hotel staff was excellent. What's more, my wife is convinced that i have the most impeccable taste when it comes to choosing hotels. Give the Mt Nelson a try. You won't regret it!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Shaheen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xavier L, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Thank you for choosing the Mount Nelson Hotel to celebrate your wedding anniversary. Happy we were able to give you a little boost to shine even brighter in front of your wife. All the best to both of you.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
1.6 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2,149 reviews
1.6 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,736 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,862 reviews
2.2 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
692 reviews
2.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel

Address: 76 Orange Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#2 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £327 - £624 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, in Cape Town’s buzzing heart. We invite you to relax in our iconic pink buildings, airy rooms and dreamy gardens. Enjoy imaginative local cuisine, nourishing spa treatments and eye-catching artworks. Captivating visitors since 1899, Cape Town’s iconic resort hotel is a tranquil hideaway just moments from the city’s buzzing heart. Our 198 individually designed rooms and suites and a host of fabulous facilities appeal equally to romantic couples, families or adventurous groups. Stroll through our expansive gardens, take a tree tour or browse the outdoor sculpture exhibition. Discover the hotel’s history, art and culture on self-guided tours. Enjoy imaginative cuisine in our restaurants and soothing bliss at the spa. Just beyond our gates lies the pulsating city, with stunning beaches and historic hotspots moments away. Forever watching over the hotel is Table Mountain, another wondrous Cape Town landmark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Nelson Cape Town
Hotel Mount Nelson
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing