We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Cape Heritage Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$138
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hilton Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$168
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hippo Boutique Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$90
US$65
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pepperclub Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$279
US$161
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Protea Hotel Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$160
US$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Victoria & Alfred Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$366
US$265
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cape Grace(Cape Town Central)
US$777
US$611
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Taj Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
US$197
US$155
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
One&Only Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
US$787
US$701
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$463
US$408
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,727)
Filter reviews
1,727 results
Traveller rating
1,423
222
59
17
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,423
222
59
17
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplanet restauranthigh teaoasis restaurantpink ladyfamous afternoon teachef's tabletennis courtscolonial hotelgrand damegrand old ladytable mountainmain buildingjunior suitecompany gardensoystersconcierge deskwonderful hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
979 - 984 of 1,727 reviews
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Before arriving - many of my friends who have travelled to S.A had raved about the Mount Nelson. Most of them only visited for the High Tea. However my wife and I stayed for 6 nights in 2011. The place was very welcoming and the staff fantastic. Food was first class. As the hotel is situated right under Table Mountain - the walk into Cape Town Central was through the gardens. This is ok until the day we decided to go it rained!!! Fortunately the Science Museum was open so spent a few hours wandering through this establishment.
Back to the hotel, rooms were very well furnished and great layout. Views from the romm was over Cape Town looking down to V+A. The girls who served breakfast were full of fun. One of the girls we named Grandma - as she was slightly older than the others and someone who you would like to have as your nan!
A most definite return is on the cards if you can get booked in!!

fantastic Hotel

Room Tip: No preference as the rooms are all fantastic - depends on your spend, our room was a deluxe room and we felt very comfortable here.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DMSSA2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xavier L, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2013

Thank you for posting this positive review. We are fortunate to have some wonderful museums in Company Gardens. The Iziko South African National Gallery and the Iziko Slave Lodge are both very interesting. Hope to have the pleasure of welcolming you back in the very near future.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

There is simply not enough time or space to sing the praises of everything this hotel has to offer.

We were picked up at the airport on time with ice cold refreshments. The driver was such a friendly soul. Explaining the history, pointing out buildings as we came through the dust and down into Cape.

The reception and porter staff were impecable. Fizz on arrival, a grand tour of the hotel, finishing at our room where our bags awaited.

Oh and what an amazing room... "so nice".......we were on the 2nd floor (room 23 something)of the main block with a small balcony.... if you can upgrade to the cottages ... then certainly do, we managed to sneak a look.

Nb: For the keep swimmers there is also a second and more secluded pool.

Breakfast and high noon tea were amazing with a very colonial feel. Dinner was not especially great but this is a very small point to give a balanced review.

By the time my stay here was over a part of me died.

A hotel could not have done more to make my stay this comfortable.... and thus ends my tale!!!!


Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank CuratingNate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xavier L, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2013

Thank you for your very nice comments. Happy to hear that you thouroughly enjoyed your stay and that the Mount Nelson Hotel is by no means " A Sleepping Beauty". Hope to see you again.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

My partner and I received a afternoon tea voucher as a Christmas gift,
Thete had been a delay in delivery of the voucher and we only had e mail confirmation, the staff sorted this without fuss, abd we had a thoroughly enjoyable afternoon, the food and staff where excellent, and thr surroundings amazing, we would thoroughly recommend afternoon rea,
One small critism the food table did not look as opulent as the advert, the food certainly was

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Roydw1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xavier L, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2013

Thank you for coming to the hotel's afternoon tea. Our gift vouchers do make very nice presents. Hope to see you again in the near future.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We stayed for 4 nights at the Mount Nelson. It is well situated at the top side of the Company Gardens, a pleasant walk into the town centre and only 10 minutes by taxi to the waterfront.
The hotel is lovely, the staff are very friendly and helpful without being "OTT". The food and service were excellent. Security as everywhere in Cape Town, seemed to be a priority but once the gate keepers knew you (say hello as you leave) you are greeted as a welcome friend when you return.
There is a courtesy car available during the day if you wish to travel to the waterfront and taxis are very cheap for your return.
Should you wish to eat out of the hotel there are plenty of restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doc061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xavier L, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Thank you for your kind review. Look forward to welcoming you back on a return visit to Cape Town.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

I would recommend this hotel to anyone having time in Cape Town.We had 4 nights at the end of November the service was great from walking through the door to leaving. Room excellent also breakfast on terrace such a great start to the day.. Swimming pool temp. just right and so clean.The staff were all very well trained and obliging.This being my first visit to South Africa I could not of had a better start.

Room Tip: We had room looking over looking swimming pool which was excellent.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Celia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xavier L, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Thank you for your kind review. Happy to hear that you enjoyed your first visit to South Africa which is truly one of the most beautiful countries in the world!
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews