We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old School Luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Ranked #9 of 111 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Fantastic stay at the Mount Nelson hotel where we we're put into a new deluxe room. The food was fantastic. My only issues were the teething problems they seemed to have with the room which we were compensated for and check in/handing over the keys was a little fraught and protracted after a 12 hour flight

Beautiful grounds

The best bed and linen I think I have stayed in !!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Peace&Harmony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xavier L, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Thanks for visiting the Mount Nelson Hotel. Sorry about the longer than expected registration but glad to hear that you had a fantastic time. Thank you for sharing this.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,554)
There are newer reviews for Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

822 - 828 of 1,554 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2014

I am spending my Christmas holidays in Capetown . It's the first time in my life that I visit South Africa. What a country !! The Mount Nelson hotel it's a pure pearl of traditions and class in a fast changing world. The staff, the food, the rooms , the guests are simply magnificent . One of the best hotels I have been in my life.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Paolorisso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xavier L, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Thank you for posting your review. Let's hope your first visit to South Africa will not be your last! Looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Cape Town.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

If we'd had the weather we'd hoped for - it would have been a perfect place to stay on our last night in South Africa. The grounds looked beautiful (we couldn't explore because it was pouring with rain our entire stay) and the pool looked to be a of a good size. The room was large, comfortable and well appointed, even if the bathroom was a little 'tired' looking. And the balcony was also a nice size.

On the plus side - the staff are courteous, efficient and professional. We were given a complete tour of the hotel and room by the front desk clerk (although this didn't stop us getting lost, because of the quirky layout). The spa is a real sanctuary - and the therapists of a high calibre (I would definitely recommend making a booking for one of the treatments). And when I did not enjoy my dinner in the dining room, this was dealt with in a way you would hope and expect of such a high class establishment.

The afternoon tea - while not of the standard you'd experience in an English hotel (it was self service; the tea was made not using boiling water and none of the food was labelled so it was 'pot luck') - was a nice way to spend time in the hotel.

On the negative side - and this was not helped by the torrential rain on the day of our stay - if you are not taking afternoon tea, it is difficult find somewhere to sit. Service at breakfast was not of the same standard as in the dining room - we waited to be seated, and while a table was being cleared for us, another diner was seated there with no apology - and we had to go and find someone to serve tea and coffee, following which no one came to take our order for a cooked breakfast. The shops in the hotel were also not of a particularly high standard either.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veggiemel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xavier L, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Thank you for visiting the Mount Nelson Hotel this November. Unfortunately, this November was little more wet than usual.
Sorry to hear about a few service issues that you encountered during breakfast. Seating is perhaps a little more tricky when it rains as we cannot use our terrace.
Thank you for visiting and I hope that if you do return to Cape Town, you will have better weather.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed here at the end of November and it was awesome. This is a beautiful, classy hotel that really welcomes you and takes good care of its guests. I had just finished a very busy spell at work and was feeling worn out. When I checked into the Mount Nelson I felt like I'd arrived in a haven of peace and tranquility - it's like a stress rehab clinic! I felt so relaxed and special staying in this elegant hotel.

We were given champagne on arrival and taken for a walk round the grounds by a kind and friendly member of staff. Our room was gorgeous with an amazing view of table top mountain. I had to pinch myself when the curtains were drawn in the morning - the view was worth flying eleven hours to see.

Afternoon tea is a must and the best that I have ever had. Little extras like the champagne on arrival, fresh roses in our room, a courtesy driver on hand to take us shopping and an ice bucket with our water at the pool all made it feel extra special.

I have travelled a lot and this is my favourite hotel in the world, it's just charming and timeless.

Thank you to all the staff at the Mount Nelson for looking after us so well, it was a real privilege to stay here and I hope I will have an opportunity to return in the future.

Stayed: November 2013
1  Thank GlasgowTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xavier L, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Thank you posting this positive review. If we can make life a little less stressful for our guests, then this is wonderful. It is true that the lovely gardens and our two swimming pools make the Mount Nelson Hotel a great place to relax. Hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again on a future visit to Cape Town.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

When grand ocean liners have sailed for 30 years or so they get sold for scrape and a new modern ship is built to replace them. It might offer modern amenities but will certainly lack the elegance, style and charm of the ship being replaced. Fortunately when Grand hotels grow old the owners prefer to refurnish instead of building new, thank goodness.

The Mount Nelson might be over a hundred years old but Orient-Express have for many years been skillfully refurbishing to ensure facilities are up to date but the hotel still retrains it's old world charm. Bedrooms have new drapes and furnishings with wonderful modern bathrooms, the lounge still in the style of a grand English country house, yet the planet bar and restaurant belong to the 21st century. Yet the old traditions and service of yesteryear are still in tact.

Like myself many guests return year after year looking forward to a style of hospitality few hotels can match. When the car drew up at the main entrance Winston was there with an enormous smile on his face to welcome us back. The warmth of the three staff at reception was genuine, not like staff of chain hotels who are taught how to smile and say 'welcome'. When it was time for afternoon tea in the lounge ( an absolute must do), Paul was there overseeing making sure all runs smoothly. How he remembers which tea is your favourite and later in the evening which wine you like to drink is a mystery, but he does. Next morning at the Oasis restaurant Margaret and Katie both rush to greet us and welcome us back 'home' . Another star of the hotel is Byron the concierge who always seems to be on hand to book a table at your favourite restaurant or organise a trip out.

Should you decide to spend a few days simply relaxing by the pool, you have two to choose from, now how many other city hotels can even offer one pool?

After staying at the Mount Nelson so many times l really don't think any other hotel can match its style. Well appointment bedrooms, very large garden, two swimming pools, combined with the courtesy, warmth and professional attitude to service of the staff. Words don't adequately convey the unique quality of the Nellie (only to be found in Cape Town), you need to stay yourself to find your perfect 'home from home'.

Room Tip: Prefer rooms in the main hotel.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pullmantravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xavier L, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Thank you for posting this very nice positive review. It is a true pleasure welcoming you back to the Mount Nelson each year. Thank you very much for your ongoing support and look forward to seeing you next year. Happy New Year!
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Spent 4 days/nights here in Dec and it was a very good experience. Very good staff who were most helpful. Very nice grand and elegant hotel. 2 pools in different locations and used the adult only one which was very nice. Good pool side service. Excellent breakfast every morning. I would highly recommend this for it's service and convenience. We walked out to Kloop Street and choose dinner a few nights just by walking by and looking at the many restaurants available.

Room Tip: Our room looked at the Table Mtn and the city in that direction. Very nice view.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ted p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xavier L, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Thank you for visiting the Mount Nelson Hotel. Happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit and the nice neighborhood restaurants near the hotel.
Hope to see you again on a return visit to Cape Town.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

The Mount Nelson Hotel run by Orient-Express is an older style hotel shaped in a very English style. The hotel itself is very busy, always packed with people in all areas. It has many types of accommodations from the Oasis Wing to the Cottages.

The service is pretty good in general but I found there to be a bombardedment of staff, just far too many. The concierge staff are extremely good although and are the top staff in the hotel. I found it to be quite irritating when staff kept coming in and out of the room, at least five or six pointless and different visits in an hour. Upon arrival to my Oasis room the bathtub panel fell out which was not fixed during my stay.

The hotel offers two pools; one for adults and one open to everyone. There is an available tennis court as well as grass field with soccer nets. The hotel grounds are kept in immaculate condition and are the highlight of the hotel. I ordered room service one night of my two night stay and not only did the food arrive 30 odd minutes late but also it arrived cold. The only thing that redeemed this is that the management team refunded the money for it as I complained.

I recommend this hotel for anyone who likes a classic English style hotel. The hotel is overpriced for its limited amenities.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maxamoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xavier L, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Thank you for visiting the Mount Nelson and for posting your review on Tripadvisor. I found your comments very interesting and could not agree with you more that 6 persons entering into your room within an hour is ridiculous. This is something that we need to improve....becoming more efficient.
Your in-room dining order not arriving warm is unacceptable and the least we could do is not charge you for this.
Thank you for complimenting our concierges staff as well as our gardners. Byron Page, our head concierges, and his team are doing a tremendous job. Paul Rice, our head gardner who has been here 30 years, is truly passionate about his work.
Finally, thank you you for sharing the nice pictures.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
1.7 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 111 in Cape Town Central
2,055 reviews
1.6 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,633 reviews
0.7 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#16 of 111 in Cape Town Central
2,248 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,513 reviews
2.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#29 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel

Address: 76 Orange Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £252 - £715 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel is a timeless and authentic resort hotel located in the heart of Cape Town. With a unique legacy of service excellence based on authentic Cape hospitality, the hotel remains a destination of choice. The hotel's convenient location makes it easy for guests to explore the city centre and its surrounds, and some of South Africa's best beaches. The garden estate setting is an urban sanctuary, complete with two heated swimming pools, rolling lawns, a palm lined avenue and secluded Rose gardens which lend themselves to romance. The abundance of secure wide open space makes families feel at home and encourages children to run free and explore. Several distinctive accommodation wings offer a variety of 198 individually decorated, elegantly appointed rooms and suites. No two rooms are exactly the same, and each annexe offers unique views, mood and style. Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel has played host to countless weddings and milestone celebrations. The glamorous and contemporary Planet Bar and Restaurant offers guests a true South African gastronomic dinner experience, and the newly refurbished Oasis Bistro offers guests a Mediterranean inspired al fresco breakfast and lunch menu overlooking the family pool and gardens. A daily Afternoon Tea served in the hotel lounge is a signature and not to be missed experience. Extending the emphasis on pleasure is Librisa Spa - a destination day spa boasting eight oversized treatment and shower rooms, separate manicure and pedicure rooms, and a sun-splashed conservatory. Treatments are based on the healing power of touch and incorporate products containing local ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Nelson Cape Town
Hotel Mount Nelson
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing