We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love it here.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Ranked #10 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love it here.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Just returned from a second stay at the Mount Nelson. The hotel isn't without fault. The food in the restaurants isn't great and there is a bizarre system of poolside chair reservation that seems very peculiar. but and it's a big but ... We love it here. The staff are friendly and really go out of their way to help, several individuals exceptional . Perhaps the fact that isn't slickest establishment is one of the reasons it feels so comfortable.... Not the most well oiled machine ,but i dont want to stay in somewhere impersonal and slick. It is a welcoming and relaxing and spoiling environment that wraps you up in a fabulous relaxing holiday, and we've booked to return a third time in 2015.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xavier L, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thank you for posting your review and delighted to see that you will be returning next year. We know that we still have room for growth and hope that you will see some improvements next year.
Thanks for your support.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,237
    182
    48
    15
    6
See reviews for
256
708
49
236
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

I am a bit late with my reviews, following our Honeymoon in South Africa in November last year, but better late than never!

Mount Nelson was our final night before flying home, and what a way to finish the holiday. From the moment we walked through the door, to be greeted with a glass of bubbly at reception, the place screamed quality. Our room was upgraded, we had Champagne, Chocolates and Roses in the room, which even without that was a delight. Everyone was so polite and helpful, and as we had a late flight they also gave us a complimentary late check out at 6pm in the evening.

The breakfast buffet was something to behold and although we didn't have Afternoon Tea, we were told it is something special, and it certainly looked it as we walked through the Hotel.

A perfect end to a fantastic holiday

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted_Ha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xavier L, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thank you for having stayed at the Mount Nelson Hotel during your honeymoon. Maybe we'll get a chance to see you again on your newmoon. Good luck to both of you.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Having stayed at the Mount Nelson for 3 Nights last week for the first time , we found the experience very clicky and pompous .
The Hotel was very old and kept its charm from a bygone era, reminded me of the old colonial british empire . The service was erratic ,the main desk and concierge were first class and very knowledgable and helpful.
What lets the hotel down in my and my girlfriends opinion was the breakfast . The staff were consistent in there inconsistency . Firstly we were completely ignored when we first went in on our first morning, we were told that we could not have a table outside as they were all reserved , seemingly with nobody using the tables.
The tables were not set up properly , there were tea spoons and side plates missing, there was no cruet set, the plates were cold at the buffet ,which were placed in a plate warmer which I noticed hadn't been turned on for the time we were there !
The food was generally Luke warm at best . For a busy hotel they only had one chef making the eggs and omelettes .
The Staff seemed to lack enthusiasm and organisation and seemingly tended to look after what appeared to be the regulars.
You pay good money for 5 star services across the board , unfortunately this area fell well below par. Having stayed at 5 other hotels on our trip to South Africa this was by far the worst by a good way.
The Mount Nelson is a lovely Hotel with a loyal tradition British contingent .
I would be reluctant to recommend to friends or family , maybe my 74 year old mother who would love the afternoon tea !

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xavier L, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on the Mount Nelson Hotel.
Sorry to hear that you were disappointed with some of the services issues; especially at breakfast. Something that we will need to monitor more closely.
I also have a mother who is also 74 years.... young....I'm disappointed that you feel our property is not fit for the younger crowds. We have a number of families (we also have a kids club) and a number of young couples that do very much enjoy our property. We have just started offering electric bicycles to our guests which is a fabulous way to discover Cape Town.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Being a regular visitor to Cape Town, my husband and I was looking forward to spending the night at the Mount Nelson on our recent trip to South Africa. The "Nellie" as it is affectionately known is a symbolic hotel in Cape Town, associated with grandeur of times past. Check in was fine. The room was a different story. Upon entering the room my husband noticed the ceiling panel dangling dangerously from the ceiling. We moved further into the room to discover fine sand on the chair next to the bed. The carpet in the room was covered in stains and everything appeared very dated. I anticipated a certain kind of style and never thought it would be modern as such but this was neither charming nor luxurious.

Unhappy, we decided to report the state of the room to reception. I went to wash my hands before leaving the room, to find another celining panel in the bathroom missing. NOT what you expect to see in any hotel, let alone a 5 star, orient express. Reception called the duty manager who handled our complaint very professionally. She apologised, offered us a drink in the bar whilst we waited for another room. The second room was an upgrade and very nice which we appreciated.

Decided on a drink outside on the terrace- heavy iron gardening furniture which was dirty and not very inviting to sit on. No cushions were provided. This lack of attention to detail is surprising considering the level of hotel. The highlight of our stay was the concierge- they managed to sort out tickets to a popular show at a few hours notice. Well done to them. When we returned from our night out (around 11:30pm on a Saturday) the lobby was absolutely desserted. No reception, no valet, no concierge. Not a soul in sight. Thought that was strange. The bar lacked any atmosphere with only 2 other people in it- we returned to our room.

Apart from all the obvious things stated, i guess my main gripe with this hotel is how distinctly average it all seems. When I pay 5 star prices I expect a certain level of service and to be made to feel somewhat special. Having stayed at the Table Bay and the 12 Apostles they always achieve this. The Mount Nelson i'm afraid, does not.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank champagnetravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xavier L, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on you stay at the Mount Nelson Hotel. Please accept our sincere apologies about the first room that was assigned to you that was not up to standards. Regarding the cushions missing on the iron garden furniture in the park I am not really sure what happened as these are installed early in the morning and removed at sunset.
On the other hand, very happy to hear that you found our concierges staff excellent.
At the Mount Nelson, we try our best to make out guests feel special and pampered. It seems that from your comments, we were not able to meet your expectations. I truly hope that you will be willing to give us another opportunity in the future. I will try to contact you.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

If you after shiny and new or shopping go stay at the water front. If you after charm and elegance then this is right up your alley. The gardens are beautiful. I usually stay in the winter and they very happy to have me. This time I was here during the busy summer time. This meant service did drop from immaculate to excellent. I had a few issues but if you speak to the more experienced hands it gets sorted, the issue in the summer is the hiring of new staff for the busy periods. Aside from that I usually stay in green park a side building away from the main hotel. This means you get a room with great views from the balcony. Afternoon tea is a must and breakfast outside by the pool is relaxing, but remember when at the egg station, keep an eye on what they doing English is not a first language. It was a nightmare when the egg station was n the kitchen so although not faultless it's a vast improvement. Overall I can't wait to go back.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Manydaysaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xavier L, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you for your continuous support to the Mount Nelson Hotel. Hope you enjoyed the new refurbished rooms in the Grenpark building. Look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr Scotland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

We had a nostalgic visit to the Mount Nelson having stayed a week there in 1997. It still is a wonderful experience driving through the central archway up to the pink and white colonial buildings surrounded by beautiful gardens. We only wen t to indulge in the famous afternoon tea whilst we did not think it was as ostentatious as in the past it never the less was a great experience plus the walk around inside and outside the Hotel. When visiting Cape Town this should be on everyone's list.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zanique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xavier L, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you for having had afternoon tea at the Mount Nelson Hotel and happy to hear that you had a lovely afternoon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JHB, South Africa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

We were looking forward to a Valentines weekend away and booked a flight to Cape Town and reserved a room at the Mount Nelson and a table at the Planet Restaurant for Valentines night. What was meant to be a romantic getaway turned into a bit of a disappointing experience. The arrival reception at the hotel was courteous but not over friendly, but the big disappointment was at the restaurant. The service levels at the Planet Restaurant were so bad that we felt like leaving at one stage without having eaten. For example our drinks order was only taken after about 20min and we had to request someone to take it. We sat down at the table at 20:05 and our drinks order only arrived at 21:15, just before main course was served. Apart from that the waiter was extremely rude and unfriendly. We requested to see a manager only to be ignored and no manager ever came to see us.
The hotel itself is old and needs some upgrading, but is clean and neat. It is well situated and the gardens are beautiful. The linen and bedding in the bedroom is of 5 star quality. The breakfast is very good with a wide variety of food and compares well with other 5 star hotels. But unfortunately the service levels do let them down. We enjoyed the high tea and can recommend it.

Can we recommend the Mount Nelson Hotel? .... If service levels are not important to you - YES, but if they are important (which for us they are), then definitely not.

Room Tip: We had a Mountain facing room, but don't ask for the top floor as it can be very hot depending o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank L0veCr0atia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xavier L, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
To answer your question, I'd like to say yes. However, reading your review, I can only understand your disappointment. I will contact you directly shortly as I would like to discuss your stay at the Mount Nelson Hotel. Please accept our apologies and I look forward to speaking to you soon.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
1.7 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,946 reviews
1.6 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#15 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,503 reviews
0.7 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#17 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#20 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,068 reviews
2.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#32 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,654 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cape Heritage Hotel
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel

Property: Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Address: 76 Orange Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel is a timeless and authentic resort hotel located in the heart of Cape Town. With a unique legacy of service excellence based on authentic Cape hospitality, the hotel remains a destination of choice. The hotel's convenient location makes it easy for guests to explore the city centre and its surrounds, and some of South Africa's best beaches. The garden estate setting is an urban sanctuary, complete with two heated swimming pools, rolling lawns, a palm lined avenue and secluded Rose gardens which lend themselves to romance. The abundance of secure wide open space makes families feel at home and encourages children to run free and explore. Several distinctive accommodation wings offer a variety of 198 individually decorated, elegantly appointed rooms and suites. No two rooms are exactly the same, and each annexe offers unique views, mood and style. Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel has played host to countless weddings and milestone celebrations. The glamorous and contemporary Planet Bar and Restaurant offers guests a true South African gastronomic dinner experience, and the newly refurbished Oasis Bistro offers guests a Mediterranean inspired al fresco breakfast and lunch menu overlooking the family pool and gardens. A daily Afternoon Tea served in the hotel lounge is a signature and not to be missed experience. Extending the emphasis on pleasure is Librisa Spa - a destination day spa boasting eight oversized treatment and shower rooms, separate manicure and pedicure rooms, and a sun-splashed conservatory. Treatments are based on the healing power of touch and incorporate products containing local ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Belmond, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Nelson Cape Town
Hotel Mount Nelson
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing