We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Ranked #11 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We returned to hotel and stayed for one night with my wife to enjoy the wine and dine evening, from check in to leaving its a delight to be looked after by staff who enjoy their job, we stayed in a refurbished deluxe room on the 4th floor overlooking the front terrace, the refurbishment has not spoiled the old world charm, needless to say everything in the room is immaculate and tasteful . Dinner in the Planetarium was top class, beautifully presented and the setting is special! Now the shock,5 star hotel, great room with an impressive breakfast and a wonderful dinner with Champagne cost R3,365 or £185, what a bargain!!
Must be the best hotel in Africa, certainly better than Meikles.

Room Tip: Just ask, if they have a better alternative room you can be assured they will offer it to you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xavier L, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Thank you for having stayed at the Mount Nelson Hotel this weekend and happy to hear that you enjoyed our "Wine and Dine" dinner at the Planet Restaurant. Our "Wine and Dine" events are held on the last Friday of each month.
Hope to see you again in the near future to attend one of these evenings once more.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,575)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

809 - 815 of 1,575 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Mount Nelson for five nights last November. And we had a lovely experience. The monumental entrance, colonial-era buildings, lavish interiors, lush gardens and privileged views of Table Mountain cannot be trivialized. Staff were always friendly especially the ones in the concierge department, who made a big effort to arrange bookings so that we did not miss the great attractions and nice restaurants Cape Town and surroundings have to offer.
We received and upgrade upon check-in. Our room was beautiful, very comfortable and spacious. Breakfast is excellent and is served in a very pleasant place.
We truly enjoyed our stay. Still I feel the need to make two remarks. While there we noticed that some walls needed to be painted, some cracks needed to be fixed and some premises needed refurbishment. We were glad to see that there was ongoing maintenance work at the time. The hotel definitely needs it to keep its grandeur. The other remark refers to the famous Afternoon Tea. The room where it is served is sumptuous and you feel like you are back in British colonial times. Nonetheless, the food is not good. Everything is extremely greasy and buttery. Also, food is not kept in the right temperature and what is supposed to be served warm gets cold and vice-versa. In our opinion, it is overrated. They should try to improve it.
The “Pink Lady” is still a very charming hotel and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank f_biesdorf_bergman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xavier L, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Thank you for your review. You have made an interesting point about our afternoon tea and we are thinking about implementing a few changes in the next few weeks. Currently, our tea is a full buffet. We will be serving savories in the future on tiered stands and the sweets will remain on the buffet.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Returned to Mount Nelson in Oct which was a month earlier than we had stayed before. Bit disappointed that the main pool wasn't open every day but accepted some of this was weather dependent. Would definitely stay there again and choose a refurbished Oasis wing room.The choice at breakfast was impressive, and the levels of service good, we found the staff always polite and helpful.

Room Tip: We had a refurbished oasis wing room with balcony, it was bright and spacious with a 6ft very comfor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SH1706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xavier L, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Thank you for your continuous support and happy to read that you enjoyed the renovated Oasis wing rooms.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We stayed at the hotel for just one night, after disembarking from the QM2 and before flying back to the UK. We arrived at reception at 10 am and as we had expected, the hotel was full and we couldn't be shown to our room until 2pm. However, we were delighted when Wendy, the very pleasant and efficient receptionist, offered us a complimentary day room for the following afternoon (before our late evening flight) and also told us about the complimentary car service (to and from the V&A waterfront, Camps Bay and the Cable Car). We took advantage of the car service up to the Cable Car and were lucky to find no queue at all and excellent weather on the top. We then took the 'Red route' tourist bus back to the V&A and, after a couple of drinks, the tourist bus back to the stop right outside the hotel. (The previous day, when we were still living on the ship, we had bought a two-day bus ticket and used the 'Blue route' to visit the unmissable Kirstenbosch botanical gardens. The 'hop-on, hop-off buses are great!) Back at the hotel we were shown to room 010, on the ground floor of the old part of the hotel. It is a 'superior' class room, and much bigger and better appointed than we had expected. I guess it is about 20 feet by 25 - with an excllent bathroom, very large towels, bath robes etc. The next afternoon we moved to a day room (106) with a great view of table mountain.

Some people have criticised the breakfast arrangements and some aspects of service. We were politely asked to wait (in the garden) and about 10 minutes later were shown to an excellent table on the verandah and enjoyed a good range of breakfast food and drink.

To sum-up: the hotel is one of the best we have stayed in - the setting and the grounds are delightful, and we found the staff unfailingly friendly and professional. Although I can't say whether it was 'good value for money' (because our favourite travel agent - Simon Cox, at Trailfinders, Kensington - included the cost in our cruise and flight package) we hope to return before too long!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobfromKensington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xavier L, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Mount Nelson on Tripadvisor. I will pass on your compliments to Wendy. She is doing a great job at the reception and we are very fortunate to have her.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Just returned from a second stay at the Mount Nelson. The hotel isn't without fault. The food in the restaurants isn't great and there is a bizarre system of poolside chair reservation that seems very peculiar. but and it's a big but ... We love it here. The staff are friendly and really go out of their way to help, several individuals exceptional . Perhaps the fact that isn't slickest establishment is one of the reasons it feels so comfortable.... Not the most well oiled machine ,but i dont want to stay in somewhere impersonal and slick. It is a welcoming and relaxing and spoiling environment that wraps you up in a fabulous relaxing holiday, and we've booked to return a third time in 2015.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xavier L, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Thank you for posting your review and delighted to see that you will be returning next year. We know that we still have room for growth and hope that you will see some improvements next year.
Thanks for your support.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I am a bit late with my reviews, following our Honeymoon in South Africa in November last year, but better late than never!

Mount Nelson was our final night before flying home, and what a way to finish the holiday. From the moment we walked through the door, to be greeted with a glass of bubbly at reception, the place screamed quality. Our room was upgraded, we had Champagne, Chocolates and Roses in the room, which even without that was a delight. Everyone was so polite and helpful, and as we had a late flight they also gave us a complimentary late check out at 6pm in the evening.

The breakfast buffet was something to behold and although we didn't have Afternoon Tea, we were told it is something special, and it certainly looked it as we walked through the Hotel.

A perfect end to a fantastic holiday

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ted_Ha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xavier L, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Thank you for having stayed at the Mount Nelson Hotel during your honeymoon. Maybe we'll get a chance to see you again on your newmoon. Good luck to both of you.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Having stayed at the Mount Nelson for 3 Nights last week for the first time , we found the experience very clicky and pompous .
The Hotel was very old and kept its charm from a bygone era, reminded me of the old colonial british empire . The service was erratic ,the main desk and concierge were first class and very knowledgable and helpful.
What lets the hotel down in my and my girlfriends opinion was the breakfast . The staff were consistent in there inconsistency . Firstly we were completely ignored when we first went in on our first morning, we were told that we could not have a table outside as they were all reserved , seemingly with nobody using the tables.
The tables were not set up properly , there were tea spoons and side plates missing, there was no cruet set, the plates were cold at the buffet ,which were placed in a plate warmer which I noticed hadn't been turned on for the time we were there !
The food was generally Luke warm at best . For a busy hotel they only had one chef making the eggs and omelettes .
The Staff seemed to lack enthusiasm and organisation and seemingly tended to look after what appeared to be the regulars.
You pay good money for 5 star services across the board , unfortunately this area fell well below par. Having stayed at 5 other hotels on our trip to South Africa this was by far the worst by a good way.
The Mount Nelson is a lovely Hotel with a loyal tradition British contingent .
I would be reluctant to recommend to friends or family , maybe my 74 year old mother who would love the afternoon tea !

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xavier L, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on the Mount Nelson Hotel.
Sorry to hear that you were disappointed with some of the services issues; especially at breakfast. Something that we will need to monitor more closely.
I also have a mother who is also 74 years.... young....I'm disappointed that you feel our property is not fit for the younger crowds. We have a number of families (we also have a kids club) and a number of young couples that do very much enjoy our property. We have just started offering electric bicycles to our guests which is a fabulous way to discover Cape Town.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
1.6 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,076 reviews
1.6 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#12 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,647 reviews
0.7 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#16 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,285 reviews
2.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,762 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel

Address: 76 Orange Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £296 - £606 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel is a timeless and authentic resort hotel located in the heart of Cape Town. With a unique legacy of service excellence based on authentic Cape hospitality, the hotel remains a destination of choice. The hotel's convenient location makes it easy for guests to explore the city centre and its surrounds, and some of South Africa's best beaches. The garden estate setting is an urban sanctuary, complete with two heated swimming pools, rolling lawns, a palm lined avenue and secluded Rose gardens which lend themselves to romance. The abundance of secure wide open space makes families feel at home and encourages children to run free and explore. Several distinctive accommodation wings offer a variety of 198 individually decorated, elegantly appointed rooms and suites. No two rooms are exactly the same, and each annexe offers unique views, mood and style. Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel has played host to countless weddings and milestone celebrations. The glamorous and contemporary Planet Bar and Restaurant offers guests a true South African gastronomic dinner experience, and the newly refurbished Oasis Bistro offers guests a Mediterranean inspired al fresco breakfast and lunch menu overlooking the family pool and gardens. A daily Afternoon Tea served in the hotel lounge is a signature and not to be missed experience. Extending the emphasis on pleasure is Librisa Spa - a destination day spa boasting eight oversized treatment and shower rooms, separate manicure and pedicure rooms, and a sun-splashed conservatory. Treatments are based on the healing power of touch and incorporate products containing local ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Nelson Cape Town
Hotel Mount Nelson
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing