We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A birthday treat in a glorious suite where everything is colour co-ordinated” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Ranked #10 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Kendal
Level Contributor
163 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“A birthday treat in a glorious suite where everything is colour co-ordinated”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

I have never been to Cape town in winter before,while I obviously cannot sit under my tree as it is too cold!I had my usual discussion about the rate with Sarah,who drives a hard but fair bargain.
As with all these discussions it is fun and serious,but we always come to a good agreement.The trip was divided into 3 distinct parts this time.The first week was spent in my normal room which is on the 4th floor with a magnificent view of the mountain.Then because of an exclusive conference I moved to the Pepper Club a great hotel but my heart will always be at the Nellie!!
The rest of the time I was in a wonderful suite to celebrate a big birthday.If you read the comment by Xavier,at the bottom of my last trip advisor you will all know how old I am.I am pleased though that I will always be younger than him!!!Someone suggested it was my own fault for divulging the information!
I was here this time for 2 reasons although on here I am not allowed to promote.I will say the St George's Cathedral concert was magnificent.To be able to give the children of Baphumelele 106 pairs of new shoes and to have them listen to 2 wonderful singers in their arts room was very humbling.
We must have done something right as Joey Michael has invited me to join his linked in page(I have only known him for 15 years!!
Back to the when I returned from my sojourn away,I found my self in room 309.This is a delightful suite where the bins and the curtains are colour co-ordinated.The settee is so comfortable that when you lie down on it.You fall asleep!
Where this hotel wins the heart is the friendliness of the staff.Let me start with housekeeping they unpack for me and put everything in separate drawers,which makes life really easy for me to find everything.The laundry is impeccable,and comes back well before 5pm!
The bed linen is sparkling,and of course the beds are comfortable.
Away from the room,reception is always friendly,Stacey,Busi,Verholda,and the irrepressible Patrick are always good humoured and very efficient..
Breakfast is a wonderful spread and they will make anything for you,whether it is warming croissants or making eggs.Margaret,Katie and Lizel are on hand to ensure everything runs smoothly.
For obvious reasons I had to change my masseuse(see the bit about the concert above!).It is very pleasing that I have found two who will fit the bill very well Kelly is tiny but as a black belt in karate is very strong and has you sleeping very quickly.Dominique has a very different method but the results are the same.A good masseuse is tested how well you sleep after it.This test is passed time after time.
I spent a fair amount in the beautiful spa conservatory as a place to unwind as it was too cold to sit outside.
The bar led by the great Benny,make sure the champagne glass is chilled and it is always a good place to start the evening.
I had a couple of meals in the restaurant.Pearl is full of fun and kept bringing excellent wine which as a good sommelier she knows in abundance.
Paul the driver made sure I was delivered where I needed to be.
Finally I must thank the concierge team for their usual efficiency.Liz,Angela,Byron,and the irrepressible Althea.
Jo-Anne though this time deserves a special mention for writing me a very accurate and humourous limerick for my birthday.It will take pride of place in my office-I felt very honoured that she went to such length to make my day even more special.
This is still the benchmark for how a 5* hotel should be run
Go and enjoy!
Kendal mint

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KendalMint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouisePheiffer, Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Kendal Mint,

Always a pleasure seeing you at the Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel. Hopefully we will see you more often with your newly discovered passion.

We wish you the best of success in your challenge.

Best regards
Louise Pheiffer (on behalf of Xavier Lablaude)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,212
    180
    46
    15
    6
See reviews for
252
695
48
233
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
281 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

The Mount Nelson is Cape Towns iconic luxury hotel and deservedly so.
It has been in operation for approximately 120 years and has 220 rooms including junior and luxury sites
The hotel is part of the Belmont group of worldwide luxury hotels.
The food at the Planet restaurant in the hotel is superb and their buffet breakfast well worth the price. Booking is essential.
Their 5 course tasting menu is definitely worth it and is more than ample.
The hotels High Tea is famous throughout the country and is a must for anyone visiting Cape Town.
However please remember to book.
There is a wonderful Spa and hydro on the hotel grounds.
They have the usual pools as well as tennis courts.
Worth a stay if somewhat pricey.

Room Tip: A room in the pool area is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clive V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouisePheiffer, Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Clive,

Thank you for your review of the Grand Lady. We are in fact 115 years young, embracing our legacy but at the same time we staying young at heart!

We do hope you welcome you back to the hotel when you visit Cape Town again!

Best regards
Louise Pheiffer (on behalf of our General Manager, Xavier Lablaude)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sussex
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We spent 3 nights at the Mount Nelson at the start of our holiday to South Africa. The "Pink Lady" has a real charm, and the service was excellent. We booked our trip with Trailfinders, and received a room upgrade on arrival- the room was very spacious, with a really comfortable bed and an enormous bathroom and overlooked Table Mountain. We visited in mid-May, which was going into the quiet season, but there were enough guests for the hotel to feel busy, but not so many that it felt crowded. Because it wasn't peak season we were able to use the courtesy car service whenever we wanted, and the drivers were polite, smart and very professional, as were all the staff. Everyone at reception knew our name, even if they hadn't been there when we arrived. Breakfasts were fantastic and in the evenings, we ate in the bar, the lounge and the restaurant - in each location, the food was very good, and the wine great quality and value. I particularly liked that when I was ordering just one glass of wine in the bar, I was invited to taste it first, and alternatives were on offer if I didn't like it. I think what really stood out was the individual character of the hotel- you didn't feel like you were staying in an anonymous hotel which was part of a big chain. We would certainly return to this hotel if we are in Cape Town again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alfieSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouisePheiffer, Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear alfieSussex,

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful review with us.

We are looking forward to welcome you back to the hotel again soon!

Best regards,
Louise Pheiffer (on behalf of GM, Xavier Lablaude)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lagos
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Beautiful pink vintage hotel, The rooms were biggggggg!!!!!!!!!
I loved the breakfast spread and the tea room(even though they let me play the piano)
I like the complimentary shuttle and i think the recptionist Busiwe was marvelous, actually the staff were very friendly. it was clean and i would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zonalagos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouisePheiffer, Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review of the hotel and we are looking forward to welcome you back again soon to the 'old English Castle'!.

Warm regards,
Louise Pheiffer (on behalf of our General Manager, Xavier Lablaude)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Iconic, classy, storied and stately, this is your place for a peaceful haven in a lovely setting. Ask for a copy of the history to hear the walls talk. Great location with complimentary lux car shuttle to Table Mountain entrance and V&A Waterfront, plus a helpful walking tour map to Kloof and Long Street restaurants and boutiques right outside the security gate.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jetfuelblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouisePheiffer, Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review of the Grand Dame of Cape Town, we are looking forward to welcome you back again soon.

Warm regards,
Louise Pheiffer (on behalf of our General Manager, Xavier Lablaude)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

The Mount Nelson is on the outskirts of the city area but don't be put off by the location. It's within walking distance however the hotel offers free transfers to the waterfront, Table Mountain and the beach area (subject to availability of course, taxi's are very reasonable and reliable.
The rooms are spacious and well appointed and in our case overlooked the magnificent gardens of the hotel. The sculptures in the gardens are world class and well worth the time to explore.
Cannot fault any of the staff, very professional, friendly and always ready to help with any queries.
Made our first stay in the Cape area very happy and pleasant experience

Room Tip: A view of the gardens is well worth seeking
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kennyray09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouisePheiffer, Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for your review of the hotel, and for choosing to spend your first holiday in Cape Town with us.

Our location is indeed perfect to explore Cape Town, our best beaches and one of the Natural Wonders of the World, Table Mountain; and walking distance from the cultural hub of Cape Town.

We do hope you welcome you back again soon,

Best regards
Louise Pheiffer (on behalf of GM, Xavier Lablaude)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
111 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Have been here many, many times (unfortunately not for a few years though, so the date I have given is the earliest possible option I have) but am only just getting round to reviewing. It's very simple:

Lovely staff (everyone - receptionists, maids, waiters/waitresses, security etc)
Really nice afternoon tea
Amazing breakfast! One of the best places for breakfast buffets (and a la carte) I've been to
Really nice restaurants
Great pool
Nice area of Cape Town
Very comfortable and well-facilitated rooms

Recommend to anyone going to Cape Town!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank plummerh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouisePheiffer, Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review of the hotel, and we do hope to welcome you back again soon.

Best regards
Louise Pheiffer (on behalf of GM, Xavier Lablaude)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
1.7 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,920 reviews
1.6 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,477 reviews
0.7 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#16 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,039 reviews
2.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,643 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cape Heritage Hotel
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel

Property: Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Address: 76 Orange Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel is a timeless and authentic resort hotel located in the heart of Cape Town. With a unique legacy of service excellence based on authentic Cape hospitality, the hotel remains a destination of choice. The hotel's convenient location makes it easy for guests to explore the city centre and its surrounds, and some of South Africa's best beaches. The garden estate setting is an urban sanctuary, complete with two heated swimming pools, rolling lawns, a palm lined avenue and secluded Rose gardens which lend themselves to romance. The abundance of secure wide open space makes families feel at home and encourages children to run free and explore. Several distinctive accommodation wings offer a variety of 198 individually decorated, elegantly appointed rooms and suites. No two rooms are exactly the same, and each annexe offers unique views, mood and style. Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel has played host to countless weddings and milestone celebrations. The glamorous and contemporary Planet Bar and Restaurant offers guests a true South African gastronomic dinner experience, and the newly refurbished Oasis Bistro offers guests a Mediterranean inspired al fresco breakfast and lunch menu overlooking the family pool and gardens. A daily Afternoon Tea served in the hotel lounge is a signature and not to be missed experience. Extending the emphasis on pleasure is Librisa Spa - a destination day spa boasting eight oversized treatment and shower rooms, separate manicure and pedicure rooms, and a sun-splashed conservatory. Treatments are based on the healing power of touch and incorporate products containing local ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Belmond, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Nelson Cape Town
Hotel Mount Nelson
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing