We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Ranked #10 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Each time I go there I'm treated like a princess! The view is always stunning, staff are excellent and helpful. One of the reasons we go there is because they're the only good hotel with a tennis court. The coach is great just the courts needs an upgrade.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erica A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Princess, We love the fact that you are using our tennis courts and our fabulous coach ... and the fact that you could enjoy a lovely game of tennis in the middle of our winter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,266
    185
    49
    15
    6
See reviews for
263
721
51
243
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We spend our mini-moon at this hotel after getting married in South Africa. Champagne on arrival and staff that were über attentive was just a tip off the iceberg at this hotel. Once they found out that we'd just got married, we were upgraded (at no extra cost!) to a honeymoon suite (the honeymoon suites even have their own elevator!) We had the Royal Suite and it was nothing short of "royalty." No amount of words could justify the opulence, grandeur and elegance of this suite. Mirrored cupboards, huge bathroom, second toilet, separate living area and a view of Table Mountain to die for! The Spa facilities were average (compared to those in Europe) but we were not there for the Spa - we wanted to explore Cape Town. Centrally located with a complimentary taxi service to the V&A waterfront - it was everything we could've ever hoped for and more. Even though it is centrally located, the gardens around it absorb the sound of traffic - it literally is an oasis in the middle of the City! The front desk staff were amongst the most professional I had come across advising us on everything from the best wine routes to take (in Stellenbosch) depending on the type of grape we enjoyed to the best local restaurants. It was one of my most memorable trips to Cape Town and when I return (because I know that I will return many more times!), this will ALWAYS be my preferred hotel to stay at. Once you've experience the hospitality and royal treatment at this hotel, trust me - you'd never want to stay anywhere else in Cape Town!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of Table Mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Intrepid T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for your fabulous review and we are very happy to have helped your marriage get off to a good start! Yes we do agree with you that it is the best of both worlds to be so centrally located and yet surrounded by the expansive gardens which give the impression of being in an "oasis in the middle of the city". Looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights during a trip to South Africa in February. We were located in a wing which appeared to have been recently refurbished and was very pleasant and comfortable. The buffet breakfasts by the pool were a highlight although for swimming we preferred the pool tucked away by the cottages. There is a pleasant old world charm about this hotel which appeared to be a popular meeting place for locals. A nice start to our first holiday to South Africa.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. Yes, the Green Park wing has been recently refurbished and we love the fresh new look too. It is indeed a pleasure to have two pools on the property - one that is bigger and busier next to the Oasis Bistro and the other pool tucked away, more secluded and discreet. We also love the fact that locals enjoy frequenting The Nellie as it adds a welcome authentic touch to the property. We do hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Fantastic staff on the entire property. We stayed for 3 nights during the World Cup and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Everything about the experience was 5 star. We only ate breakfast there but it was wonderful. Not on the beach but just a quick cab ride to lots of fun.

Definitely recommend you treat yourself if you ever get the opportunity - perfect way to celebrate a special occasion.

Room Tip: try and face the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjmToronto_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We spent 3 nights at the Mount Nelson in July.
This is without doubt one of the best hotels we have ever stayed at. The attention to detail and the care for guests is exceptional.
Food in the Planet is of a very high quality and served sublimely.

The afternoon tea is unforgettable and every bit as god as the world wide reputation it enjoys.

When we are back in Cape Twon next year we will be returning to the Mount Nelson.

Thanks to all of the staff for a relaxing and enjoyable stay.

The Mount Nelson sets a standard that other hotels could learn a lot from.

Room Tip: Although the hotel is not near the waterfront the courtesy car service is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colinjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
We were delighted to read your excellent review of our hotel, Planet Restaurant and our Afternoon Tea - thank you very much indeed. And yes, even though we do offer a shuttle to the Waterfront, we do believe that there is a plethora of exciting cultural, gourmet, natural and historical things to do and see right on our doorstep.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I stayed here on business in November 2013 and it was great experience.
The team on reception were so helpful - even arranging for me to be able to stay in my room for an extra night after my flight was cancelled!
The rooms and decor are more traditional, but it is a historical building so expected this, and appreciated the authenticity of the building and it's history!
The afternoon tea was sensational, as was the spa and the pool
Unfortunatley we didn't get breakfast everday as we were working but when we did get it it offered plenty of choice and variety.
It is very peacefully located and really feels away from the hustle and bustle of Capetown. That was nice for us as we wanted to relax on our days off, however if you were a tourist you would have to get in a cab to get to some of the sights and there wasn't many restaurants in walking distance.
Would highly recomend though and lovely stay

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jandg2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for your lovely post and we are delighted that you found our staff to be so helpful and friendly and that you enjoyed the spa, the swimming pool and the peace and quiet that the hotel grounds offer.

We might beg to differ about the need for a cab - the hotel is very close to an astounding variety of places to eat and drink, and the historic and cultural precinct of the Company's Gardens is just across the road. The city centre is also a mere ten minutes walk away. Saying that, we also hire out electric bicycles for those who would like to see a lot in just one day.

Kind regards
Gabrielle Palmer Bolton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

My wife and I recently celebrated her 50th birthday at the Mount Nelson. After a nine hour flight from Dubai, we arrived to be welcomed with a glass of sparkling wine on check in and the news we had been upgraded to a Junior Suite - a great start. Our room was HUGE and very comfortable, however, with peeling paint and stained lounge seats it looked a little tired. Housekeeping needs a little attention: a faulty hair dryer and overlooking to service the bathroom on turndown was not a drama but not what you expect from a 5* establishment. However, complimentary wine and flowers were a nice touch.

Breakfast room lacked atmosphere and could do with upgrading; the cold choice was superb however the hot choice was poor.

Swimming pool was clean and warm but there was no pool service.

Staff were friendly and professional (special thanks to Wendy on reception).

In general, there are better 5* hotels and with so much competition in Cape Town, I feel the Mount Nelson lacked atmosphere and is somewhat living on past reputation.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHSAlnwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We really do appreciate receiving feedback from our guests.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed your complimentary upgrade to a suite and that you found our staff to be friendly and professional. On the other hand we are sorry to hear that you thought your room was tired - we have requested our Housekeeping department to check all our Junior Suites thoroughly. Over the past couple of years we have renovated over 75% of our rooms and next year we will be completing the final phase, so we do hope to see you again and we are confident that you would be extremely happy with any one of our rooms.

Your sincerely
Gabrielle Palmer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,998 reviews
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,554 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#16 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Table Bay Hotel
#18 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,159 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,393 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel

Property: Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Address: 76 Orange Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel is a timeless and authentic resort hotel located in the heart of Cape Town. With a unique legacy of service excellence based on authentic Cape hospitality, the hotel remains a destination of choice. The hotel's convenient location makes it easy for guests to explore the city centre and its surrounds, and some of South Africa's best beaches. The garden estate setting is an urban sanctuary, complete with two heated swimming pools, rolling lawns, a palm lined avenue and secluded Rose gardens which lend themselves to romance. The abundance of secure wide open space makes families feel at home and encourages children to run free and explore. Several distinctive accommodation wings offer a variety of 198 individually decorated, elegantly appointed rooms and suites. No two rooms are exactly the same, and each annexe offers unique views, mood and style. Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel has played host to countless weddings and milestone celebrations. The glamorous and contemporary Planet Bar and Restaurant offers guests a true South African gastronomic dinner experience, and the newly refurbished Oasis Bistro offers guests a Mediterranean inspired al fresco breakfast and lunch menu overlooking the family pool and gardens. A daily Afternoon Tea served in the hotel lounge is a signature and not to be missed experience. Extending the emphasis on pleasure is Librisa Spa - a destination day spa boasting eight oversized treatment and shower rooms, separate manicure and pedicure rooms, and a sun-splashed conservatory. Treatments are based on the healing power of touch and incorporate products containing local ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Belmond, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Nelson Cape Town
Hotel Mount Nelson
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing