We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definition of Classic Luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Ranked #10 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia, USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Definition of Classic Luxury”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2009

We just returned from a fabulous honeymoon at the Mount Nelson. We had booked a junior suite, which was incredible, but were upgraded to a suite which pretty much defined the word luxury, being simultaneously spacious and elegant. Its views of Table Mountain were unforgettable.

The hotel's staff , led by the Willem van der Merwe, were uniformly non intrusive yet always there. All requests were handled quickly and professionally. Transportation provided by the hotel's limousines was a great convenience and the hotel's pool and garden are a true oasis in the city, they need to be experienced to be fully appreciated. Breakfast was first rate and served overlooking the garden. We enjoyed dinner in the Cape Colony restaurant which is elegant, without being stuffy, and the food and service of the highest quality and relatively inexpensive by American standards. As for afternoon tea, simply stated it is a wonderful experience, far exceeding any I had been to and that includes the Ritz in London.

In conclusion, the Mount Nelson is one of those few institutions that served to define what a luxury hotel was at the beginning of the last century and they are continuing to do so today. I cannot conceive of a finer place to stay in Capetown or elsewhere.

  • Liked — An atmosphere that defines luxury and elegance
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DCviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,487 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,236
    182
    48
    15
    6
See reviews for
256
707
49
236
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
203 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2008

We recently stayed at the MNH and it is an amazing old colonial hotel, quirky and quaint. But conpared to Raffles or a modern 5 star hotel it doesn't compare well; broken lights outside, peeling paintwork, bits and bobs just need some care and attention. the service was excellent throughout, but i cant help feeling i could have stayed at a cheaper nearby hotel and just popped in for a cocktail...

  • Liked — quirky quanit charm
  • Disliked — many fixtures, fittings etc need repair or replaced or tidied up!
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank schemie2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2008

We just checked out yesterday (its now early Dec 2008) and I recommend the Mount Nelson 110% - our stay was more perfect than I could have hoped and I enjoyed our stay more than any other hotel I have stayed at (sorry to sound gushing ;-) I booked direct with the hotel (by phone) and explained I was my honeymoon.

We arrived on the 9 am flight into Cape Town, we were met by a very efficient driver, whisked to the hotel, to be told at reception we had been upgraded to a suite. A very professional and kind lady on reception called Rene showed us our room with the minimum of fuss andd a waiting bottle of complimentary champagne, and then we went to their spa for a fabulous massage, and a wonderful lunch by the pool. Dinner was lovely - again maximum quality and minimum fuss and posturing (which I find so annoying at top end restaurants). Returning to our room we found our bed strewn with rose petals, and candles and petals floating in the bath.

Bottom line is this is the kind of hotel I like, We were made to feel genuinely welcome, all of the staff, everyone, were faultless in their attention without fussing or gushing and all were genuine. I would find it hard to believe you could have anything but a totally happy and satisfying stay at the Nelson. Thank you again to Rene if you ever read this!! Tim

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank timreeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2008

Certainly the most magical hotel in Cape Town and probably my favourite hotel in the world. Set in fantastic gardens a true oasis in city. The staff were fantastic. The food superb. I have never felt so pampered.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rls79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendale, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2008

Our stay at the Mount Nelson was a great experience. I had booked two deluxe rooms through Expedia that were very reasonably priced compared with other 5-star hotels in the area. When we arrived, we were told our rooms were not available and we were upgraded to junior suites. Although I would have preferred being in the main building, it was difficult not to like the suite. There was a king bed, sitting area, fireplace, walk-in closet and a huge bathroom. See attached photos.

The hotel is really charming and centrally located to most of the area attractions. And for those places a bit far away, like the V&A waterfont, the hotel provided a courtesy shuttle. We spent one afternoon walking from the hotel through the park, up to the Castle of Good Hope, and along the streets in the city bowl. Cape Town is a beautiful city.

The Mount Nelson is set in a beautifully landscaped gardens. It's hard to believe the hotel is located in the middle of the city. Although it was cool during our stay, the pool looked very relaxing. There is also a new spa that was just added to the hotel. Although I didn't try any of the services, the facilities looked top notch.

As for restaurants, we tried the upscale Cape Colony restaurant for dinner and had a wonderful experience. I would definitely recommend it. We also had breakfast included in our rate which was served in the Oasis restaurant. Although the dining room decor was pretty basic compared with the rest of the hotel, the breakfast buffet was really good. For an afternoon treat, don't miss traditional high tea in the lobby lounge. We opted for tea with a side order of scones instead of the eleborate food spread. This was the perfect way to experience high tea without over eating.

For a great restaurant outside of the hotel, don't miss the Africa Cafe in the city center. It has great african food and service.

To see the local area attractions, we hired a private guide/driver through a company called Hylton Ross. We had three people in our group and a private tour wasn't much more than a group tour but with the flexibility see what we wanted and spend as little or as much time as we desired. We spent one day visiting nearby townships in the morning and then traveled to the Winelands for lunch and an afternoon tour. The township visit was facinating and gave us a glimpse into South African culture. The wineland vist was also a perfect sidetrip. The surrounding towns of Stellenbosch and Franschhoek are beautiful and the mountainous wine country is stunning.

On another day we took a tour to the Cape of Good Hope and Cape point stopping at Boulder's beach to see the penguins and also visited Hout's Bay where we boarded a boat for a short trip to seal island. We finished the day with a trip to Kirstenbosch Botanical Gardens. It was a great day trip. I would recommend everything.

For trips on our own, we also visited Table Mountain (a must see), Victoria and Alfred Waterfront ( a pleasant place to eat and shop), and Robben Island (make sure to book in advance as this is very popular).

The Mount Nelson is a great deal for those looking for a 5-star experience. When compared with the higher priced Cape Grace and Table Bay hotel at the waterfront, I think we made the perfect choice with the Mount Nelson. While the location at the waterfront is desirable, we discovered that there was much more to see beyond the waterfront complex and we felt the Mount Nelson had much more to offer.

  • Liked — great location and historic charming building
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JDMTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2008

I have been coming to the Mt. Nelson for years, and it is still my oasis in Cape Town. While standards may have gone down a bit, there is one thing for sure: the Nelson can provide you with something that few, if any, hotels in Cape Town can -- an environment.

The grounds are an oasis of relaxation and serenity that are perfect for a weary traveller (provided that you have the funds) who wishes to recuperate from a lengthy flight and jet lag. The breakfasts, though not as lavish in the past, are still very nice, with a range of fruits, meats, cereals, drinks and a hot kitchen there for your ready made egg dishes.

The Nelson has upgraded their spa, now called Librisa, into a full service establishment, compared to the little two room cottage that they worked with for years. Asiya is a fabulous masseuse, if you can have your pick. Don't be fooled by her appearance. She may be slight, but she is strong, unlike the many noodle armed ladies I have had there in the past.

I have stayed at the Commodore (mediocre), Cape Grace (decent if you like the harbor scene, and very good food), La Vendome (not recommended) and others... none can hold a candle to the elegance and grace of the Nelson.

Too bad that they do not use the progressive employment practices that should be in place in a new, democratic South Africa. The two outstanding servers in the restaurant (Katie and Margaret), both of whom have been there for more than twenty years, should be in management positions, not still waiting tables. They honorably and humbly continue to go about their duties with excellence and without complaint, but this is not right. Please write a letter to this effect if you stay there. As consumers, we can all advocate for the kind of staff advancement that befits The Rainbow Nation.

  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank terencepurdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
100 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2008

We stayed at the Mount Nelson for six nights at the end of October and just loved every minute of our stay. The Hotel is wonderful with a magnificent swimming pool with indoor outdoor restaurant along side and a large attractive garden for lying in the sun around the pool.. The buffet lunches were excellent there. They have tennis courts also available to guests.
We enjoyed working out in the gym with their outstandingly good trainer. They serve delicious afternoon tea from a buffet each day in the lounge which is well worth experiencing.. The hotel staff are all extremely pleasant and the rooms spacious and attractive. Everything about the hotel is top quality (except maybe their hairdresser which I recommend you avoid) and we look forward to our next opportunity to stay there.

  • Liked — the pool setup
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank judy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
1.7 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,945 reviews
1.6 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#14 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,501 reviews
0.7 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#17 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#21 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,065 reviews
2.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#32 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,654 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cape Heritage Hotel
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel

Property: Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Address: 76 Orange Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel is a timeless and authentic resort hotel located in the heart of Cape Town. With a unique legacy of service excellence based on authentic Cape hospitality, the hotel remains a destination of choice. The hotel's convenient location makes it easy for guests to explore the city centre and its surrounds, and some of South Africa's best beaches. The garden estate setting is an urban sanctuary, complete with two heated swimming pools, rolling lawns, a palm lined avenue and secluded Rose gardens which lend themselves to romance. The abundance of secure wide open space makes families feel at home and encourages children to run free and explore. Several distinctive accommodation wings offer a variety of 198 individually decorated, elegantly appointed rooms and suites. No two rooms are exactly the same, and each annexe offers unique views, mood and style. Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel has played host to countless weddings and milestone celebrations. The glamorous and contemporary Planet Bar and Restaurant offers guests a true South African gastronomic dinner experience, and the newly refurbished Oasis Bistro offers guests a Mediterranean inspired al fresco breakfast and lunch menu overlooking the family pool and gardens. A daily Afternoon Tea served in the hotel lounge is a signature and not to be missed experience. Extending the emphasis on pleasure is Librisa Spa - a destination day spa boasting eight oversized treatment and shower rooms, separate manicure and pedicure rooms, and a sun-splashed conservatory. Treatments are based on the healing power of touch and incorporate products containing local ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Belmond, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotelopia, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Nelson Cape Town
Hotel Mount Nelson
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing