We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb standard and service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Ranked #11 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 November 2009

This continues to be the best in Cape Town. This time we only ate there - lunch (twice) at the Oasis restaurant. Huge excellent buffet; excellent service; very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonathanSymonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,572)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,262 - 1,268 of 1,572 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2009

We stayed at the Mount Nelson after our long trip from Los Angeles and could not think of a more peaceful oasis with perfect service to rest up and prepare for our vacation in Africa. We walked to several of the closeby museums and the eclectic scene on Long Street with its funky stores and eating establishments. Loved the pool and gardens !

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WLSCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2009

I just stayed 12 nights at the Mount Nelson with my wife and a few of my family and friends.

The Mount Nelson is a very well run hotel and we really enjoyed ourselves. It's a lovely place to relax. The staff are friendly and efficient, they somehow manage to remember the name of every guest. Don't expect the "wow" factor, it doesn't have the grandeur of an equivalent five star european hotel, but it definitely has an understated elegance. To enjoy the hotel you need to be the kind of person who likes "old world", colonial type hotels, there is nothing modern or trendy about it!

If I were being picky I would say the first room we stayed in was acceptable but not special, and generally some parts of the hotel are just on the right side of the border between "old charm" and "tired". However the 2nd room we stayed in was spectacular. I saw five or six rooms between our group and every one is completely different as the hotel has grown into different wings and buildings over the years. Also I would say the lunch and dinner food is acceptable but not special. High tea however is excellent and very reasonable at R150 per person. Note it is a buffet so more casual than tea in a London hotel.

The pool areas are also very nice and the staff are friendly and attentive.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RafBenN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2009

This hotel is truely exeptional in both its service and hospitality. I have travelled the world extensively however each time I visit the Mount Nelson, I am made to feel at home. The level of service is always consistent - 5 star all the way! The staff always go the extra mile, even at short notice and at any hour of the day or night. There are some hotels at this level that are stuffy and snobby - I am pleased to say the Mount Nelson is not one of them. We have taken our children on holiday there, gone with work colleagues for business reasons and visited for romantic holidays just the two of us. They have never let us down and we have always come away planning our next visit!
Anyone who has the opportunity to stay at this hotel will have a wonderful time. p.s. The cocktails in the Planet Bar are also fabulous!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pinkfiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2009

We read with interest today the recent poor review of the Cape Colony Restaurant at the Mount Nelson and the Management response. Our first visit to Cape Town and South Africa, we were looking forward very much to staying at this Hotel for 5 nights from 27th October and had pre-booked dinner in the Restaurant for the first night of our stay. We were not disappointed; the service was excellent and the food outstanding. One of the reasons that we had chosen to stay at the Mount Nelson was because of its historical interest and colonial architecture and we thought the Restaurant was stunning! We loved both the architecture and the background music and commented at the time that the ambience most certainly befitted an International Hotel. We had no hesitation in booking again for our final dinner in Cape Town and once again we experienced superb food. I would say to Nick Seewer Managing Director, please don't change the Restaurant too much - it is unique! I would also say to you that there was a minor incident of poor service on our second visit to the Cape Colony but as soon as we pointed it out it was immediately rectified. It certainly didn't spoil our evening. To the author of "Shocking", can I suggest on your next visit to the Mount Nelson that instead of just taking Dinner at the Restaurant you treat yourself to the whole experience of staying at the Mount Nelson Hotel because you will definitely not be disappointed. The building is stunning and very reminiscent of the Victoria Falls Hotel in Zimbabwe. Very old colonial and it was a pleasure to stay there. Check in was very sympathetic to the fact that we had been travelling for hours and the choice of water, sherry or port at Reception was a nice touch! In fact, we had pre-booked an African Well Being Massage at the Librisa Spa and this was fantastic and very welcome following our 17 flying hours. Our spacious room overlooked the beautiful gardens and was well appointed and very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent and all the staff were very friendly but particularly we loved Margaret. We did take Afternoon Tea and can understand why it is so popular with visitors and locals alike! It was also lovely to see that the Hotel is used by locals for Weddings and functions and it said a lot that the place was buzzing while we were there. The furnishings and the potted flowers in the Conservatory were absolutely stunning and we couldn't stop taking photographs!! The Concierge facility was superbly efficient; we dealt with four different people and they were all very good. If we had to mention one it would be Grant who was so determined to help us over one particular issue that we were trying to resolve. We used the complimentary car service in the evenings and again the drivers and the guys looking after guests on the forecourt were very efficient and friendly. During the day we used the open top bus to look around Cape Town and what a bonus that one of the stops is "the Nellie"! If you are reading this because you wonder whether to visit the Mount Nelson Hotel and/or the Cape Colony Restaurant, please don't even give it a second thought - book!! We very much hope to visit Cape Town again and wouldn't hesitate to book at the Mount Nelson.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2009

We stayed at the Mont Nelson for 6 nights. We received a room upgrade thanks to having booked through American Express travel and our room rate included breakfast which was excellent. The room was spacious and comfortable. The concierge was extremely helpful and guided us to a number of delicious restaurants. We hired a private tour through the concierge and our guide was very accommodating and knowledgeable.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Return2africa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2009

This is an absolutely superb hotel. We stayed for 9 nights in October and had a fantastic time. The staff are first class, very friendly, helpful and attentive. Our room was well presented and clean, with a very comfortable bed. We enjoyed breakfast and dipped into afternoon tea on more than one occasion, resistance to that gorgeous buffet is futile. The decor is very much in keeping with the age of the hotel and the gardens are a beautiful oasis in the centre of Cape Town. I wish we were still there...

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veranda77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
1.6 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,074 reviews
1.6 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#12 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,647 reviews
0.7 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#16 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#18 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,280 reviews
2.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,760 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#35 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel

Address: 76 Orange Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £293 - £627 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel is a timeless and authentic resort hotel located in the heart of Cape Town. With a unique legacy of service excellence based on authentic Cape hospitality, the hotel remains a destination of choice. The hotel's convenient location makes it easy for guests to explore the city centre and its surrounds, and some of South Africa's best beaches. The garden estate setting is an urban sanctuary, complete with two heated swimming pools, rolling lawns, a palm lined avenue and secluded Rose gardens which lend themselves to romance. The abundance of secure wide open space makes families feel at home and encourages children to run free and explore. Several distinctive accommodation wings offer a variety of 198 individually decorated, elegantly appointed rooms and suites. No two rooms are exactly the same, and each annexe offers unique views, mood and style. Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel has played host to countless weddings and milestone celebrations. The glamorous and contemporary Planet Bar and Restaurant offers guests a true South African gastronomic dinner experience, and the newly refurbished Oasis Bistro offers guests a Mediterranean inspired al fresco breakfast and lunch menu overlooking the family pool and gardens. A daily Afternoon Tea served in the hotel lounge is a signature and not to be missed experience. Extending the emphasis on pleasure is Librisa Spa - a destination day spa boasting eight oversized treatment and shower rooms, separate manicure and pedicure rooms, and a sun-splashed conservatory. Treatments are based on the healing power of touch and incorporate products containing local ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Nelson Cape Town
Hotel Mount Nelson
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing