We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Ranked #11 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 March 2010

We held our wedding at the Mount Neslon and stayed at the hotel the night before and the night of our wedding as well.
The staff at the hotel were increible and no request ( there were a lot!) was too much trouble for them.
We have had so many compliments on the service of the waitering staff and the food served throughout the day.
Our room suites were gorgeous and we felt completely pampered during our stay.
Thanks to all for at the hotel for a great stay and day. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globetrotter087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,572)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,251 - 1,257 of 1,572 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2010

This is a beautiful hotel with all the graciousness of days gone by. The whole place feels like you've time travelled back to the days of the Cunards and Castle Lines. Very comfortable rooms, smiling prompt service and a welcoming demeanour everywhere. I enjoyed this experience very much as the serenity slowed me down, in a good way. Clientele tend to be middle aged and older, well to do. The Grand old lady of Cape Town hotels.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zaltman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2010

My wife and daughter (now aged 6) came fro our 5th or 6th holidaty at the Mount Nelson in February. It is the only holiday destination we have ever revisited. Cape Town in February is a perfect contrast to the cold, damp misery of England in Feb and with an vernight flight and no jet lag it seems the obviousl detination. Feb is the best month to visit cape town and we have had only blue skies and warm weather with a breeze blowing to keep one cool in the sun.
The mount Nelson is a wonderful place to stay. It gets the balance of luxury and grandeur with friendliness absolutely spot on. I have always felt extremely comfortable and welcome there, unlike some of the equivalent hotels in Europe. We have been coming with my daughter since she was 2 years old. On coming through the gates from the airport this time she said "Ah, this feels like home!", a real testament to how welcome the hotel makes small children feel.
For adults and children there is a lovely pool with atttentive but not intrusive pool staff and a country club kind of atmosphere of a time gone by. There is also a new games room for the kids if you want to get them out of the sun or if it is raining. Everything feels very safe, there is easy access to the Waterfront, beaches (Llandudno a favourite and the best beach I've beeen on), restaurants, bars (the Planet bar in the hotel is good fo rdinks on the way out or on return) and as a base fro exploring the winelands.
If there is a better hotel in the world I want to hear about it. We look to be joining the families who have been coming here for 30+ years!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drjon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2010

My experience commenced even before I set foot in the hotel. A palm tree lined drive leads to the hotel, set in immaculate gardens. I was met at the entrance of the hotel by a friendly concierge, who took my luggage and guided me to the check-in desk. After formalities had been concluded, I was taken to my room. I was instantly impressed by the standard of the furniture and the en-suite bathroom. After a refreshing shower, I took a tour of the hotel. It offers 2 Restaurants and the menus looked very inviting. The lounge reminded me of a posh Gentelemen's Club, and it leads into the superb gardens. The service in the various bars and Restaurants cannot be faulted. All in all, I enjoyed a memorable stay in one of the worlds' great hotels. Compliments to the Management and staff!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dannu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2010

We began our honeymoon in Cape Town and stayed in the Mount Nelson for four nights. We were most impressed with this hotel. The staff are polite and more than helpful. Our room was absolutely beautiful with luxurious furniture and a balcony with views of Table Mountain. There were also little extras-rose petals and flowers on the huge bed; robes and slippers laid out; complimentary bottle of wine and fruit; and lit candles and rose petals in the bath. We ordered room service and the food was of a high standard. Breakfast was lovely with a huge selection of foods and drink available. We had breakfast each morning with Morgan Freeman (well, he dined at a nearby table!). We hired a car and visited Camps Bay, Cape of Good Hope, Boulders Beach, Robben Island and Table Mountain. There are numerous good restaurants in Cape Town and Camps Bay. We would definitely stay in the Mount Nelson again!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison-Michael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2010

This was our second stay, so obviously we knew what to expect. Again where not disappointed. Staff are beding over backwards to help without being in your face.Sign of excellent service.
We will be back

Rex and Yvonne Knapper

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank knapperEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2010

This hotel does everything so easily. The service, the food, the staff, the rooms are all effortlessly first class. We stayed for 5 nights in February 2010 and the hotel oozes character. Yes, the odd fixture and fitting looks a bit tired (Cape Colony restaurant for example), but the overwhelming feeling is one of five star quality, atmosphere, and great service.

Best parts? First, the room, because we were upgraded to a small suite overlooking Table Mountain. Second, the concierge desk hich was able to answer everything we threw at them - however tricky. Third, the totally calm, relaxing nature. Worst parts? Cape Colony restaurant is too old fashioned and the food a bit heavy and over-rich. Second, there's a lot of business people in the hotel as you walk in your costume down to the pool. Third, there's probably too many retyired-types for a middle aged couple like us!

Strongly recommend staying here. An amazing experience.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephHampshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
1.6 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,073 reviews
1.6 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#12 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,647 reviews
0.7 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#18 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,277 reviews
2.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,758 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#34 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel

Address: 76 Orange Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £292 - £634 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel is a timeless and authentic resort hotel located in the heart of Cape Town. With a unique legacy of service excellence based on authentic Cape hospitality, the hotel remains a destination of choice. The hotel's convenient location makes it easy for guests to explore the city centre and its surrounds, and some of South Africa's best beaches. The garden estate setting is an urban sanctuary, complete with two heated swimming pools, rolling lawns, a palm lined avenue and secluded Rose gardens which lend themselves to romance. The abundance of secure wide open space makes families feel at home and encourages children to run free and explore. Several distinctive accommodation wings offer a variety of 198 individually decorated, elegantly appointed rooms and suites. No two rooms are exactly the same, and each annexe offers unique views, mood and style. Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel has played host to countless weddings and milestone celebrations. The glamorous and contemporary Planet Bar and Restaurant offers guests a true South African gastronomic dinner experience, and the newly refurbished Oasis Bistro offers guests a Mediterranean inspired al fresco breakfast and lunch menu overlooking the family pool and gardens. A daily Afternoon Tea served in the hotel lounge is a signature and not to be missed experience. Extending the emphasis on pleasure is Librisa Spa - a destination day spa boasting eight oversized treatment and shower rooms, separate manicure and pedicure rooms, and a sun-splashed conservatory. Treatments are based on the healing power of touch and incorporate products containing local ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Nelson Cape Town
Hotel Mount Nelson
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing