We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure Excellence!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Table Bay Hotel
Ranked #20 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Pure Excellence!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

If you have ever wanted to be royalty, or at least pretend, you must spend a night or two at the Table Bay Hotel in South Africa. The service is personal without being intrusive. The views, rooms, lobby and dinning experience are almost worth the 18 hour flight from NYC....almost!
And if you are not impressed by your room, just go and have breakfast. Without a doubt, this is an over the top dinning experience. Not just bacon and eggs (which you can get from a wonderful wait staff) but serving stations, carving stations, seafood selections, yogurt of a dozen flavors and styles, and a bakery full of breads and pastries.....Yes, I enjoyed the Table Bay Hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms have great features.The staff will make your stay special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mpb46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,071 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,499
    399
    114
    32
    27
See reviews for
387
908
55
302
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (543)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

I had an excellent stay and the service was fantastic. It was only for two days but it was two days I will remember!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morgan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

Best position in Cpt. Great view of Table mountain. Great place to stay. Breakfast on the stoep is on of the great experiences of Cpt

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IPMatthews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

We stayed in the Table Bay for a week in January 2011. We had a comfortable room with a view; on the Table Bay. The easy access to the mall and the waterfront is the number one
reason for us to stay there again. Choose this hotel for this reason, not for staying in a cosy
boutique hôtel. Breakfast is fantastic. You can enjoy it outside as well. Having a drink in the lobby in the evening is nice. Friendly service everywhere. Sequirity will check everybody using the elevators. Weather report for the next day, chocolates on our pillows every day.
When we were in our rooms during the day we always had calls from the desk below with
questions and special offers. To much.

Room Tip: The head entrance rooms have a sea view. I prefer the rooms at the back with harbor/Table Bay view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sidney056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.4 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,947 reviews
0.5 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#14 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,505 reviews
0.3 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#28 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#32 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,654 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Commodore
The Commodore
#41 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Table Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Table Bay Hotel

Property: The Table Bay Hotel
Address: Table Bay Hotel | Table Bay Breakwater Blvd, Quay 6, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#8 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#10 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#20 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Table Bay Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 329
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Table Bay offers the ultimate in 5-star luxury hotel accommodation in Cape Town. One of the Leading Hotels of the World, this sophisticated Sun International property was opened in May 1997 by iconic former South African president, Nelson Mandela. As part of the Sunlux Collection, The Table Bay continues to set its own standards in international service, cuisine and luxury. Situated on the historic Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, The Table Bay hotel is perfectly positioned against the stunning backdrop of Table Mountain and the Atlantic Ocean and provides easy access to the top places to visit in Cape Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Holiday Gems, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Table Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Table Bay Cape Town
Table Bay Hotel Cape Town
Hotel Table Bay
The Table Bay Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing