We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Table Bay Hotel
Ranked #17 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviewed 8 September 2012

My husband and I stayed at table bay Hotel from August 21-August 25 and the experience was wonderful. The hotel is elegant with marble, pale victorian colors, huge, high lobby, High Tea and sitting area with stunning views of Table Mountain. The front desk checked us in with no wait time, the room was a corner room overlooking the waterfront on all sides! The room was huge with a sitting area and huge bathroom. Everything was sparkling! All the help was very polite and took time to talk to you.

One of the most amazing parts was the breakfast buffet! Tables and tables of food for all palettes and cultures..including a carving station!

This was the nicest hotel that we ever stayed at. It is safe, convenient to everything. A supberb hotel!

Room Tip: 641 is a corner room with tall windows and amazing view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelers4ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,353)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,656 - 1,662 of 2,353 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2012

We stayed at the Table Bay Hotel between 26th and 31st August and the experience was wonderful. Most ideal location on the waterfront. Ask for the family rooms...they come with a balcony. Its just fantastic. The hotel is attached to the mall which makes its location ideal. Few things one must definitely do....1 High Tea 2. Spa 3. The awesome breakfast. Great place for families,. Cheers Zubair

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank zubyzubyzuby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

What a fantastic hotel - from the check in (where they give you a hot towel and soft drink of your choice), to the check out. The staff go out of their way to make you stay as comfortable as possible. The rooms are very clean and the bed is super comfortable. The location of the hotel is fantastic - right on the waterfront, and linked to the V and A mall (which is huge!). The breakfast buffet is out of this world ... I could go on forever about how fantastic this hotel is. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeffner100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

The best hotel of Cape Town located with view of Table Mountain & V A Waterfront.
The lobby is very welcoming with smiling faces of Hotel Staff & lovely wishes.
Rooms ambiance are simply fantastic with huge bathrooms & amazing sleep quality.
Spa, Jacuzzi, Swimming Pool, Sauna Room, Gym are one of the finest.
Room service, Housekeeping are very responsive.
MUST STAY IF YOU ARE IN CAPE TOWN...!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YoloPrashant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

14 days of pure luxury! Every request I made was met and the staff were attentive and genuinely helpful! Perfect in every way and I would recommend this fabulous hotel to anybody visiting Cape Town. I was given a car and driver for two days to show me the sights of this beautiful part of Africa. The level of service was un-matched, the menu was extensive and the views from my roof terrace were breat-taking, Wow, what a hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chris h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012 via mobile

My husband and I had a wonderful trip to Cape Town with my parents and the Table Bay did not disappoint!

The hotel was wonderful. Friendly staff, nicely appointed room and a great location. I also can't reccomend the hotel's breakfast buffet enough. It is a huge spread and you can choose anything and everything to eat.

Our room was very comfortable and had a great view. The hotel is located on the wharf and connected to a mall. It was very easy to walk to restaurants, shops and the double decker pick up point.

My only complaint is that the concierge staff was not very knowledgeable. They pretty much discouraged us from going out at night at all! I found this advice unnecessary in Cape Town. The concierge could provide us with tourist brochures but not much local knowledge. For example we asked for jazz club reccomendation but no one at the concierge desk knew of any. This seemed odd for a city known for their jazz so we did our own research and found a great small jazz club. We learned more from cab drivers and our own research but not much from concierge. This was surprising to us for a hotel of this caliber.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank burningrivergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We are fairly well travelled, but I must say that You feel special when you stay at this hotel! Excellent breakfast! Wonderful spread and hospitable, cheerful service. Access straight on to Waterfront and into the Victoria Wharf shopping Centre from the foyer. Lovely weekend!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,799 reviews
0.3 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,590 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,683 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#45 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,543 reviews
1.5 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Table Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Table Bay Hotel

Address: Table Bay Hotel | Table Bay Breakwater Blvd, Quay 6, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#8 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £223 - £549 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Table Bay Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 329
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Table Bay offers the ultimate in 5-star luxury hotel accommodation in Cape Town. One of the Leading Hotels of the World, this sophisticated Sun International property was opened in May 1997 by iconic former South African president, Nelson Mandela. As part of the Sunlux Collection, The Table Bay continues to set its own standards in international service, cuisine and luxury. Situated on the historic Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, The Table Bay hotel is perfectly positioned against the stunning backdrop of Table Mountain and the Atlantic Ocean and provides easy access to the top places to visit in Cape Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelbag, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Table Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Table Bay Cape Town
Table Bay Hotel Cape Town
Hotel Table Bay
The Table Bay Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing