We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Table Bay Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Victoria & Alfred Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dock House Boutique Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The PortsWood(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Commodore(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Silo Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Cape Grace(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mountain Marina(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Waterfront Village(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (2,500)
Filter reviews
2,500 results
Traveller rating
1,814
487
128
37
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,814
487
128
37
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstable mountaindirect accesshigh teabreakfast buffetoystersbeautiful hotelrose petalsnougatvictoria wharfstar hotelrobben islandturn down serviceduty managerlarge hotelwaterfront areaconcierge deskwater front
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,759 - 1,764 of 2,500 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2012

I stayed for 2 nights in a family suite with my daughter and son. It was our second visit, first time 10 years ago.
The suite was nice, spacious, clean, with nice view, and with a living room were a sofa was converted into bed in the evenings. Nice touch on leaving games for the kids to enjoy and a present they could bring home.
The location is unbeatable if you want to be near the V&A Waterfront. The hotel has a complementary shuttle that goes to Table Mountain but we couldn’t use it because it rained the 2 days we were there.
We ordered room service both nights and concluded that is good for simple dishes as pasta or chicken fingers..don’t go elaborated in this. Waiting time and service were good.
Wi-fi is free up to 200 MB per day and many devices can be conected.
The only thing we didn’t like was the service at breakfast: waiters kept passing by and ignoring us, we didn’t get to drink a hot cup of coffee or have the cutlery to eat hot what we brought from the buffet. At 10:30, with 11:00 for closing time, they were more busy cleaning tables than attending the guests. Our impresion about the service was much better the first time we stayed at the Table Bay.
At check out I noticed that had been charged double for mini bar consumptions and had to fix the bill.
Extra Tip: The American Express change bureau just by the entrance of the hotel through the mall has the best rates I found in my 8 day trip to SA.!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pam70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

we recently visited Cape Town and decided to choose The table Bay hotel due to all the positive revues we had read, we were not dissapointed.
The hotel is immaculate with breathtaking views and we felt like royalty from the minute we arrived.

The staff are friendly and very helpful and the attention to detail was spot on.
I can not fault them on anything.
On arrival our room was filled with toys for my kids to use during their stay, complete with rubber ducks and princess carpets in the bathrooms just for them and goody bags filled with treats. They loved this.
Our room had breathtaking views of the harbour and mountain, AMAZING to wake up to.
The 24 hour room service is wonderful, we ordered from them a few times and the food is delicious and the service excellent.
The turn down service is by far my favorite, rose petals are scattered around and your slippers are placed beside the bed and gown placed on your bed with the remote and T.V guide. Complimentory chilled water and a delicious cranberry and almond nougat is placed at your bedside, you cant help but feel like royalty when you arrive back from a busy day to this.
The breakfast is amazing, everything you could ever dream of...........and more.
From gammon and duck to panckackes and waffels made to order, egges benidict, salmon,haddok every kind of fruit and every kind of nut and yoghurts and breads even sushi and oysters if thats what you like, They have the works! The walk through the buffet alone takes about 10 minutes.
(THERE IS A MENU THAT YOU CAN ORDER FROM INCLUDED AS PART BUFFET THAT THEY DONT SHOW YOU OFF HAND ONLY IF YOU ASK THIS INCLUDES THE EGGS BENEDICT, HOT PORRIDGES AND OTHER SPECIAL FOODS MADE TO ORDER ECT) ask for the menu also and enjoy both options from the buffet and menu.
Overall this hotel has it all, location, hospitality, breathtaking views, amazing food and excellent service do not hesitate to choose this hotel for your next trip to Cape town.
The high tea is fabulous and a absolute must do......BOOK IN ADVANCE FOR THIS you wont be dissapointed.

I will with out a doubt return to the Table Bay Hotel on my next trip to Cape Town, it was definately worth every cent.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a balcony, corner rooms have amazing views
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa5397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

This was our second visit to Cape Town and was taken as an extension to our holiday near The Kruger. We were delighted with the hotel. The staff were friendly, our room was spacious with a lovely view of Table Mountain and the working harbour. Its situation is good with direct access to the Waterfront Shopping Centre. We love wandering around in the evening watching the activity, the street musicians and then dining in the open air. No chance of getting cold with the outside heaters and blankets. Recommend the hotel's high tea which we sampled as soon as we arrived. Unbelievable choice on view on the central table. I would also go as far as to say that the breakfast selection was the best i have ever seen. Go for it even if it takes two hours to work your way through it. Would definitely stay again - loved it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TishLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Stayed at the Table Bay hotel in Cape Town to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary, the hotel and staff made our stay very special. Our room was absolutely stunning (Superior Luxury) - corner suite with views of the Waterfront and Table Mountain. The location is excellent you can get to the V&A shopping centre without having to go outside and the hop on-hop off bus is within easy walking distance as are lots of restaurants etc. The staff are very helpful and friendly.

I would definitely recommend the Table Bay Hotel it's beautiful both inside and outside!

Room Tip: For beautiful views request a corner suite
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gibson1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

we were 3 couples staying here before heading up to Sabi Sabi for a Safari. All of us were delighted in the beauty of the facility, the very helpful and friendly staff. The breakfast buffet looked like something that a is reserved for Sunday morning brunch in the states.

Sadly the weather did not cooperate starting on our first full day there so we couldn't enjoy the area's attractions.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews