We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Table Bay Hotel
Ranked #17 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Table Bay Hotel is a beautiful hotel in a great location in Capetown. The rooms are beautifully appointed and the service is very good. The breakfast selection is seriously one of the best I have ever experienced, you can have anything from fruit to oysters to stirfry to waffles and everything inbetween!! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms on the harbour side have a great view of Table Mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 57Babs57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,400)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,677 - 1,683 of 2,400 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2012

We'd booked this hotel based on its location on the V&A waterfront and weren't disappointed. From the hot towels on arrival, through to the tea and concierge serve whilst waiting for our room to become available, meant that our holiday started off in the best possible way. Our room was a good size, with stunning views of Table Mountain and the harbour, and throughout our stay, the staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was extensive with fresh eggs and pancakes made to order, and frequent top ups of tea and coffee. The turndown service was wonderful ... though I always felt bad about throwing out the rose petals!
The location didn't disappoint either, with the proximity to the bars and restaurants on the waterfront, as well as the easy access to the shopping centre. This in addition to the stunning view, meant that we would have no hesitation recommending this hotel to anyone travelling to Cape Town.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbour view room to ensure you can wake up every morning to the wonderful view of table M...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alli D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

I stayed for 2 nights in a family suite with my daughter and son. It was our second visit, first time 10 years ago.
The suite was nice, spacious, clean, with nice view, and with a living room were a sofa was converted into bed in the evenings. Nice touch on leaving games for the kids to enjoy and a present they could bring home.
The location is unbeatable if you want to be near the V&A Waterfront. The hotel has a complementary shuttle that goes to Table Mountain but we couldn’t use it because it rained the 2 days we were there.
We ordered room service both nights and concluded that is good for simple dishes as pasta or chicken fingers..don’t go elaborated in this. Waiting time and service were good.
Wi-fi is free up to 200 MB per day and many devices can be conected.
The only thing we didn’t like was the service at breakfast: waiters kept passing by and ignoring us, we didn’t get to drink a hot cup of coffee or have the cutlery to eat hot what we brought from the buffet. At 10:30, with 11:00 for closing time, they were more busy cleaning tables than attending the guests. Our impresion about the service was much better the first time we stayed at the Table Bay.
At check out I noticed that had been charged double for mini bar consumptions and had to fix the bill.
Extra Tip: The American Express change bureau just by the entrance of the hotel through the mall has the best rates I found in my 8 day trip to SA.!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pam70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

we recently visited Cape Town and decided to choose The table Bay hotel due to all the positive revues we had read, we were not dissapointed.
The hotel is immaculate with breathtaking views and we felt like royalty from the minute we arrived.

The staff are friendly and very helpful and the attention to detail was spot on.
I can not fault them on anything.
On arrival our room was filled with toys for my kids to use during their stay, complete with rubber ducks and princess carpets in the bathrooms just for them and goody bags filled with treats. They loved this.
Our room had breathtaking views of the harbour and mountain, AMAZING to wake up to.
The 24 hour room service is wonderful, we ordered from them a few times and the food is delicious and the service excellent.
The turn down service is by far my favorite, rose petals are scattered around and your slippers are placed beside the bed and gown placed on your bed with the remote and T.V guide. Complimentory chilled water and a delicious cranberry and almond nougat is placed at your bedside, you cant help but feel like royalty when you arrive back from a busy day to this.
The breakfast is amazing, everything you could ever dream of...........and more.
From gammon and duck to panckackes and waffels made to order, egges benidict, salmon,haddok every kind of fruit and every kind of nut and yoghurts and breads even sushi and oysters if thats what you like, They have the works! The walk through the buffet alone takes about 10 minutes.
(THERE IS A MENU THAT YOU CAN ORDER FROM INCLUDED AS PART BUFFET THAT THEY DONT SHOW YOU OFF HAND ONLY IF YOU ASK THIS INCLUDES THE EGGS BENEDICT, HOT PORRIDGES AND OTHER SPECIAL FOODS MADE TO ORDER ECT) ask for the menu also and enjoy both options from the buffet and menu.
Overall this hotel has it all, location, hospitality, breathtaking views, amazing food and excellent service do not hesitate to choose this hotel for your next trip to Cape town.
The high tea is fabulous and a absolute must do......BOOK IN ADVANCE FOR THIS you wont be dissapointed.

I will with out a doubt return to the Table Bay Hotel on my next trip to Cape Town, it was definately worth every cent.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a balcony, corner rooms have amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa5397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

This was our second visit to Cape Town and was taken as an extension to our holiday near The Kruger. We were delighted with the hotel. The staff were friendly, our room was spacious with a lovely view of Table Mountain and the working harbour. Its situation is good with direct access to the Waterfront Shopping Centre. We love wandering around in the evening watching the activity, the street musicians and then dining in the open air. No chance of getting cold with the outside heaters and blankets. Recommend the hotel's high tea which we sampled as soon as we arrived. Unbelievable choice on view on the central table. I would also go as far as to say that the breakfast selection was the best i have ever seen. Go for it even if it takes two hours to work your way through it. Would definitely stay again - loved it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TishLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Stayed at the Table Bay hotel in Cape Town to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary, the hotel and staff made our stay very special. Our room was absolutely stunning (Superior Luxury) - corner suite with views of the Waterfront and Table Mountain. The location is excellent you can get to the V&A shopping centre without having to go outside and the hop on-hop off bus is within easy walking distance as are lots of restaurants etc. The staff are very helpful and friendly.

I would definitely recommend the Table Bay Hotel it's beautiful both inside and outside!

Room Tip: For beautiful views request a corner suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gibson1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

we were 3 couples staying here before heading up to Sabi Sabi for a Safari. All of us were delighted in the beauty of the facility, the very helpful and friendly staff. The breakfast buffet looked like something that a is reserved for Sunday morning brunch in the states.

Sadly the weather did not cooperate starting on our first full day there so we couldn't enjoy the area's attractions.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,825 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#23 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,603 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
One&Only Cape Town
#14 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,709 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,843 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#11 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Table Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Table Bay Hotel

Address: | Quay 6, Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#8 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £242 - £494 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Table Bay Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 329
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Table Bay offers the ultimate in 5-star luxury hotel accommodation in Cape Town. One of the Leading Hotels of the World, this sophisticated Sun International property was opened in May 1997 by iconic former South African president, Nelson Mandela. As part of the Sunlux Collection, The Table Bay continues to set its own standards in international service, cuisine and luxury. Situated on the historic Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, The Table Bay hotel is perfectly positioned against the stunning backdrop of Table Mountain and the Atlantic Ocean and provides easy access to the top places to visit in Cape Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelbag, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Table Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Table Bay Cape Town
Table Bay Hotel Cape Town
Hotel Table Bay
The Table Bay Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing