We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Table Bay Hotel
Ranked #19 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Paris, France
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

I was in Capetown for 3 days. treated myself by staying at Table Bay 5 Star hotel.
A great service. A warm welcoming and very professional service all along. good facilities, good rooms (spacious and modern clean top notch). the concierge and Guest relaiton service are excellent. spa cheap (compare to Eu) and good services. nice pool etc.. All excellent.
General Manager very professional.

Room Tip: Room on the dokc view side nice and not exposed to sun. Can be little bit windy.. Be patient with W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Noki N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,077 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,505
    399
    114
    32
    27
See reviews for
387
912
55
302
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (544)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
surrey uk
Level Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2012 via mobile

Wow! Staying at this hotel was such a great way to end an exhausting 2 week tour of South Africa. Our room had a wonderful view of the harbour, waterfront area and Table Mountain. The turndown service every night was a real treat, rose petals scattered around! We could watch the seals playing in the water and some of them sleep on the large tyres at the edge of the wall! The breakfast buffet is amazing and we also enjoyed ordering from the menu. The swimming pool on the first floor was very peaceful and relaxing. The waitress kindly brought us two large dishes of mixed nuts to enjoy with our drinks. The hotel is very safe and there are a lot of security staff in the shopping mall that you reach by going directly up the escalator. The mall has upmarket shops, restaurants, a cinema complex and ATM machines.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cjwhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

We were upgraded to this hotel while on an escoted tour staying for 3 nights. Although registration seemed to take forever the experience was wonderful.Ihave travelled to many places while working and more during retirement and the breakfast at this hotel beats anything I experienced before. the view of table mountain from our room was spectacular want to go back please.

Room Tip: ask for view of table mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scrumhalfRedditch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
483 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

After Taj I moved to the Table Bay hotel. It is more impressive and luxurious, the staff is even more friendly and is trying their best to meet your expectation (at the concierge desk I got really got advices). The rooms are beautiful, clean and breakfast is fine also. But the fitness centre is very modest (one of the worst I have been so far). But location is great, right at the waterfront.

Room Tip: If you can take an angle room (so you have views of Table mountain and the harbor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ales11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, CT
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2012

The location of the hotel is excellent. It’s at the waterfront, connected with Victoria Wharf Mall through the hall way in front of the business center, and about 15 minutes walk to the convention center passing a small bridge. I like the entry and lobby. The view of the Table Mountain from the lobby is gorgeous. We had the bay view from our room and balcony. The breakfast has world-class selections with several stations. Everything I tried is delicious. We also ordered room service for dinner but were not impressed by the taste of dishes.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarknessT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury
Level Contributor
122 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2012

What's not too like? Except the price, but you get what you pay for.
This is by far and away the best hotel I have ever stayed in, treated like royalty from the second we pulled up in the car, nothing was too much trouble. Room was spectacular and the view stunning.
Service was polite and attentive without intruding.
I could have eaten the breakfast all day, choice was exceptional.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

We stayed at the V&A waterfront with a large group of people. The hotel was fantastic. The location is great. The breakfast was amazing, there was just about everything you could ever want for breakfast. The staff were polite and could not do enough to help. The rooms were spacious, clean and the bed was super comfortable. Loved it.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.4 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,947 reviews
0.5 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#15 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,506 reviews
0.3 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#28 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#32 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,657 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Commodore
The Commodore
#41 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Table Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Table Bay Hotel

Property: The Table Bay Hotel
Address: Table Bay Hotel | Table Bay Breakwater Blvd, Quay 6, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#8 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#10 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#19 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Table Bay Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 329
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Table Bay offers the ultimate in 5-star luxury hotel accommodation in Cape Town. One of the Leading Hotels of the World, this sophisticated Sun International property was opened in May 1997 by iconic former South African president, Nelson Mandela. As part of the Sunlux Collection, The Table Bay continues to set its own standards in international service, cuisine and luxury. Situated on the historic Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, The Table Bay hotel is perfectly positioned against the stunning backdrop of Table Mountain and the Atlantic Ocean and provides easy access to the top places to visit in Cape Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Holiday Gems, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Table Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Table Bay Cape Town
Table Bay Hotel Cape Town
Hotel Table Bay
The Table Bay Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing