We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Table Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Table Bay Hotel
Ranked #17 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“lovely hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013

stayed here and it really is a lovely hotel overlooking the harbour and bay. The hotel has wonderful food, lovely seating areas where you can go and relax and all in all a really top quality hotel. I would recommend it to anyone, it's also easy to walk to the shopping mall which is next door to the hotel. Its situation on the harbour / bay is simply perfect. Would love to go back and stay one day

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Papoulin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,032 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,471
    393
    109
    32
    27
See reviews for
378
893
53
298
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (532)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013

this hotel definately has the best location in cape town. right on the waterfront, walking distance to bars and all the good spots. the hotel is OLD school luxury. the breakfast is amazing. i had thought i lost my laptop, and reported it. to find out later that evening while i was out at dinner the hotel security had gone through my room and bags and located it. (i mis packed it) a bit of an invasion of privacy but also glad they found it.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ritchie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013

I have been to Capetown twice and stayed at the Table Bay Hotel. The hotel is located right at the waterfront and is easily accessible to beautiful stores and restaurants around the V&A waterfront.
The view from the rooms are spectacular, with some of them facing the Port ,the Table Mountain or the stunning Atlantic ocean.

The service is excellent and the ambience is Warm ,Friendly & Welcoming.

The Table Mountain itself provide a dramatic backdrop to this beautiful and lovely hotel.

You can never go wrong with this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leenaam29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee Scotland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

Stayed at the Table Bay for a couple of nights at the end of our holiday. Smashing hotel in a great location with some lovely staff.
Beautiful room on the eighth floor facing Table Mountain.
Great choice at breakfast, and plenty staff to help.
Was here for my birthday and decided to eat in the hotel restaurant. It was very quiet but lacked atmosphere, but not the hotels fault.
My wife had salmon, she thought it was delicious, but was disappointed with my chicken curry, all bits of brown meat and a bit fatty.
Our pick- up from the hotel was at 18.00 so asked the girl at reception if we could check- out at 14.00 instead of 12.00. BIG SHOCK - no problem she said but it will be 5000 rand, then once a picked myself of the floor- she must have felt sorry for me - she said we could have it for 2500 rand. That works out at about £100 per hour.
Needless to say I refused her kind offer.
As I said it's a lovely hotel, but if you go to Cape Town on holiday choose one of the smaller hotels they are super, with great personal service.

Room Tip: High floor overlooking Table Bay are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CIDHMORE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona, USA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

I did not leave the hotel area the entire two days and I didn't need too. I am unfortunately not here for sightseeing, just for work. My collegues and I enjoyed the hotel immensly. The security is always present and in view. The food is not bad. The spa is GREAT! I had a great massage and body wrap. The business center is well kept and large. The workout facility and pool areas are clean and well taken care of. The attached MALL is great, the variety is wonderful. The restaurants in the warf (walking distance right outside the hotel) are great! It's a very popular area. I could stay here for a week or two and not cover all the places to eat. I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MimiLoves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manipal
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

I had just one day and a night in Cape Town and the choice of Table Bay Hotel was just right. Just off the waterfront, the atmosphere on Victoria & Alfred Wharf is decidedly delightful. Take a walk along the wharf to discover several eating places. The hotel rooms are spacious and neat. The staff are courteous and freindly.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Goldrusher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisse
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

This place is amazing! From the checkin to the breakfast that is included with your room every thing is great. They come in each night to turn down the bed and pace rose petal on the pillow, a bottle of water if you get thirsty during the night and a wondrful piece of nougat for a bedtime snack.
The hotel is right on the waterfront, not far from the Ferris wheel and countless restaurants from McDonalds to the finest seafood, to Greek and many more.

Room Tip: My husband had a room on his last trip that faced the Mountain, this trip we face the bay. Both are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.4 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,919 reviews
0.5 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,473 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#27 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
1.5 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#16 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Table Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Table Bay Hotel

Property: The Table Bay Hotel
Address: Table Bay Hotel | Table Bay Breakwater Blvd, Quay 6, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#10 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Table Bay Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 329
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Table Bay offers the ultimate in 5-star luxury hotel accommodation in Cape Town. One of the Leading Hotels of the World, this sophisticated Sun International property was opened in May 1997 by iconic former South African president, Nelson Mandela. As part of the Sunlux Collection, The Table Bay continues to set its own standards in international service, cuisine and luxury. Situated on the historic Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, The Table Bay hotel is perfectly positioned against the stunning backdrop of Table Mountain and the Atlantic Ocean and provides easy access to the top places to visit in Cape Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Table Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Table Bay Cape Town
Table Bay Hotel Cape Town
Hotel Table Bay
The Table Bay Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing