We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience at Table Bay - five star*****!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Table Bay Hotel
Ranked #17 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviewed 16 September 2013

The staff at the Table Bay Hotel is the best. My husband and I stayed for 4 nights, Sept. 2013 and had a wonderful experience. The service and staff exceeded our expectations. The Atlantic Grill was superb and the breakfast fabulous! We enjoyed high tea overlooking the wharf. The hotel is conveniently located close to shopping, entertainment and very accommodating for day trips - shark diving,Wine lands area, Boulders and more. The room was large, comfortable and had personal details and all the amenities one would want. Oh, and the spa was awesome too!
If you want a great experience with great staff, Table Bay Hotel is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BarbaraMcD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TableBayHotel, General Manager at The Table Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Thank you for your great feedback. We strive to offer memorable experiences for our guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,447)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,562 - 1,568 of 2,447 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2013

TBH is definitely not a 5 star hotel when it comes to service. We stayed here for 3 nights and every day we encountered some form of poor service.
Day 1: Had a crazy day of meetings and by the end of the day, we were shattered. At check-in, receptionist suggested their hotel restaurant called The Atlantic Grill. The room was large and sea facing and I have no complaints here. Toilet seat is made for the smaller person and I can see a slightly larger person struggling with this. Went down a couple of hrs later for dinner and the restaurant was freezing cold. There was no difference between the outside and inside temperature. Our meal was served cold which suggested to us that it came out of a fridge/freezer. The restaurant was also empty which was a sign that we should go elsewhere.
Day 2: breakfast was chaos, mainly due to a very large group of Singaporeans. It took 15 minutes for our coffee and tea to arrive. The menu was changed to cater for the Singaporeans and what would be a traditional buffet turned into a buffet of steamed rice, chicken, etc. Even the Baked beans was a ridiculous unappetising slob of 3 beans in a curry sauce. We ordered off the menu. I dropped the spoon at one of the buffet tables and it made a loud noise but the staff looked on and continued talking. I picked up the spoon and would've expected that one of the staff members would bring out a clean spoon. But no, there was no interest shown. We asked for white toast and received brown instead. TBH certainly lays out the food though and it feels like a cheap all you can eat joint.
Our room was serviced and our bathroom bin was removed and not replaced. The toiletries and tissues were not replaced ether. Toiletries are certainly rationed in this place. We called housekeeping and replacement toiletries were brought up but the next day, they were removed during servicing. Our bin was still not replaced.
Day 3: Doors banging from 06:30 and a lie-in is impossible. Arrived at breakfast at 10:45 and had 15mins before breakfast ended. The staff were already re-arranging half the dining room for lunch and struggled to find us a clean table closer to the buffet as no one had bothered to clean up yet. We found our own table and had to ask for cutlery and napkins. Tea/coffee arrived without teaspoons. I completed a comments card and handed this into the concierge desk. The manager has not made contact with us despite me discussing our poor experience at TBH.
We stay at many hotels and this does not live up to most of them. We would've been better off in a smaller boutique hotel and will certainly not be back to TBH. Over priced and over rated by other guests!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jasmine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TableBayHotel, General Manager at The Table Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your visit.

We do pride ourselves on the experiences and service we offer to our guests, and as you can see from the reviews on TripAdvisor this is not our standard world class offering.

I would ask you to contact me directly so we can invite you as our guests, to experience the best of The Table Bay hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

My family and I recently spent four nights at the Table Bay and we all agreed it was a really great hotel. The location is ideal-convenient to shopping and the waterfront. The breakfast in the morning is fabulous. We also enjoyed high tea one afternoon in the lovely lounge that looks out over the wharf. I would highly recommend that if you have time. Lots of restaurants are within walking distance. If you are into wine, I suggest Belthazar, a restaurant and wine bar on the V&A waterfront. They have the biggest wine-by-the-glass bar in the world. Finally, I must mention the staff. Without exception they were courteous, friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. In particular, Jamel, at the concierge desk, was great and really helped us organize our activities. In short, we loved it and if I am ever in Cape Town again, I will definitely stay at the Table Bay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barb47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TableBayHotel, General Manager at The Table Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Thank you for your feedback.

We are currently refurbishing one of our restaurants, due to open on 1 December. On your return, please do keep an eye open for the exciting new offering!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

The Table Bay hotel was all that I heard about and more. The perfect location and walk through into the V&A is perfect, more so as we arrived amidst unseasonal showers.
The most memorable sight was the never ending buffet, a treat and feast.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Waterfront have the perfect view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rasshp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We traveled to this hotel for our honeymoon; after flying through the night on a 12 hour flight, we arrived to our hotel early in the morning. Unfortunately, we were unable to check into our room this early so we were advised to visit the cinema inside the shopping centre next door; which we did and ended up falling asleep..When we did check in at 12:00, the room was clean and comfy although I feel the decor could have been a little more luxurious. Roll down service was a nice surprise in the evening. Staff were friendly especially helpful when it came to helping with bags etc..The restaurant was unique, top class food (see menu in pics), the bar atmosphere was friendly and had a smoking area if required. The hotel is in a great location looking at Table Bay Mountain and I could not fault the service..Hopefully we will get to visit again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShazMcK9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

It was my frends 50th and when she suggested Cape Town I wasalittle surprised but I am glad I went. I must admit that my impression of Cape Twn itself is that it has a very European feel to it. The hotel was superb and it had a very luxurious feel to it

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizjones_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Table Bay Hotel in Cape Town is set on the historic Victoria & Alfred Waterfront. Location is everything and the Table Bay Hotel is perfectly situated to take full advantage of Cape Town’s most incredible sights and settings. Conveniently positioned against the stunning backdrop of the working harbour, Table Mountain and the Atlantic Ocean, Connected to the Shopping Mall and absolutely safe to walk around waterfront the Table Bay Hotel provides an experience like no other.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VishalSSoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TableBayHotel, General Manager at The Table Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are opening our new brasserie, Camissa in December. Please take time to experience the fresh produce of the Cape at Camissa during your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,617 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,859 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,738 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,863 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#11 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Table Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Table Bay Hotel

Address: | Quay 6, Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#8 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £231 - £528 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Table Bay Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 329
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Table Bay offers the ultimate in 5-star luxury hotel accommodation in Cape Town. One of the Leading Hotels of the World, this sophisticated Sun International property was opened in May 1997 by iconic former South African president, Nelson Mandela. As part of the Sunlux Collection, The Table Bay continues to set its own standards in international service, cuisine and luxury. Situated on the historic Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, The Table Bay hotel is perfectly positioned against the stunning backdrop of Table Mountain and the Atlantic Ocean and provides easy access to the top places to visit in Cape Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Travelbag, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Table Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Table Bay Cape Town
Table Bay Hotel Cape Town
Hotel Table Bay
The Table Bay Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing