We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Table Bay Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Cape Heritage Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$360
US$256
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Protea Hotel Cape Town Victoria Junction(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Blackheath Lodge(Cape Town Central)
US$225
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$165
US$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Protea Hotel Cape Town Sea Point(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cape Grace(Cape Town Central)
US$709
US$670
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$76
US$64
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$285
US$266
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
One&Only Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
US$864
US$768
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$150
US$115
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,500)
Filter reviews
2,500 results
Traveller rating
1,814
487
128
37
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,814
487
128
37
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstable mountaindirect accesshigh teabreakfast buffetoystersbeautiful hotelrose petalsnougatvictoria wharfstar hotelrobben islandturn down serviceduty managerlarge hotelwaterfront areaconcierge deskwater front
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,553 - 1,558 of 2,500 reviews
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

Very posh setting, with emaculate service and classic setting infront of the V&A waterfront. The hotel leads into the mall which is very convenient. The location is excellent and most sights are within a 10 minute drive. You must have high-tea here even if your not staying at the hotel.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank MadamBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Table Bay was the ninth and final hotel of our South African tour. It is BIG and my wife took an instant dislike to it. The large foyer seemed to be filled with Security, flunkeys and management clones instructing everybody to "have a good day". During the usual 'welcome drinks' the tour group was addressed by one of the hotel managers. He gave us an outline of the geography of the hotel and placed emphasis on where we could find the Famous Breakfast Room. Next morning we, and others, came down in the lift and made to go towards that breakfast room. Instead, we were intercepted by junior management and, under protest, were marched in the opposite direction into a banqueting suite. We were told that the Breakfast Room was full; (a statement contradicted later by friends). This dimly-lit suite was furnished with eight large round tables seating eight to ten guests on bucket chairs and was somewhat remote from the kitchen. The large buffet was spread in an ante-room with hot food in open lidded tureens. This room was ventilated by an open door that drew a chill draught and allowed flies to come in. The polyglot assembly of guests had to wander backwards and forwards to the buffet and the seating arrangements proved. totally inappropriate. The domestic staff seemed to have been short-term agency recruits and soon used crockery piled up on the tables. Supplies of food on the buffet dwindled, as did items such as butter and conserves on the tables. Guests went on treasure hunts. The coffee well dried up too.
Why all this happened we don't know. Perhaps it was a Management initiation on how to deal with disgruntled guests. The lady in charge was left to defend the indefensible. We should have walked out but we had a tight time schedule.
The next two mornings we were in the proper room and senior management were working the tables trying to right a wrong. Too late.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank JohnJack1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TableBayHotel, General Manager at The Table Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to offer feedback on your stay with us. I am disappointed to hear of your experience, as this is not our normal standard. Whilst the hotel is large we place an emphasis on personal interaction between our staff and our guests, and value the beautiful views over the harbour and into Table Mountain from our lobby and Lounge which highlight the beautiful city of Cape Town.

I do hope your travels home went smoothly and wish you well over the festive season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

This hotel is right on the waterfront. You are connected to the shopping mall without even needing to leave the building and can walk to the Robben Island ferry terminal in just a few minutes. The hotel is full of charm and the staff are fantastic - very helpful concierge. It's a great place to be in Cape Town and the facilities within the hotel are great - could not recommend it more!

Room Tip: Ask to get a view of Table mountain from your room
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank markhillary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TableBayHotel, General Manager at The Table Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

We pride ourselves on great location and engaging staff. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Cape Town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

I was suprised to find a hotel of this quality and a member of the Leading Hotels in the World in the location. Old town setting with very high qauity fittings. Excellent faciities and part of the Victoria and Albert (V&A) waterfront, Easy access to shopping faciliites and water sport as well as water cruises. Many rooms have an excellent view of table moutain and Table bay. Well appointed and good value though pricy.

Room Tip: Rooms are excellent all round but ask for a room with a balcony.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

This hotel was in a superb location and our room overlooked Table Mountain - not that we saw much of for the three nights we spent there. The weather was awful - very wet with thunder and lightening, not that stopped us from visiting several sights and we even got to the top of Table Mountain on the last evening we were there. On the day we were leaving the Mountain showed itseld in all its glory. Clear Blue skies. Our bedroom was luxurious snd had a coffee machine, fridge and mini bar. We also had an open plan bathroom! There were loads of beautiful restaurants to eat at. Also the hotel served rather delicious evening bar meals. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was a delight with a pianist playing - very soothing start to the day.

Room Tip: Try for a room overlooking Table Mountain for a superb view.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teddy673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews