We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True luxury and service in a magnificent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Table Bay Hotel
Ranked #18 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
South Africa
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“True luxury and service in a magnificent location”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We recently spent a long weekend at The Table Bay to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary and were thrilled with our experience. The hotel location is arguably one of the best at seaside -and quayside! - in the country, spilling views from its rooms either towards the ocean or the bustling Waterfront and working harbour. and unmistakably, the grandeur of the colossus of Table Mountain itself.

As it happened, the Hotel upgraded us to a superior deluxe room, a corner room which superbly boasted views to all of the ocean, harbour and mountain - quite magnificent from the sixth floor. We were generously spoiled given the occasion, amongst others with a complimentary bottle of bubbly and very special roses petals display in bedroom and bathroom - adding to the romantic ambience of our stay.

Service was sharp, generally, and a faulty kettle in our room, for instance, was tended to within 10 minutes. Although we experienced minor hiccup at check-in, this was skillfully and swiftly sorted. The breakfast buffet display is phenomenal and offered in the elegant surroundings, live piano music inclusive, of the Atlantic Grill, inside, or outside overlooking Cape Town's most famous berg landmark. We were however referred to the lounge seating on the first morning, because of an overfull inside restaurant, with much lesser offerings. We had not been told that we could help ourselves to the grand buffet inside, but it was enjoyable altogether.

We enjoyed dinner at the same restaurant on the second night and it was thoroughly fine dining at 5 star service.

Hats off too for our chauffeur limousine service from the airport after an exclusive hotel meet-and-greet representative at the airport. A special accolade too to the concierge who arranged a complimentary limousine transfer to and from our first night-out dinner appointment.

Although we have known the Table Bay since inception, and been inside and around it many times before, its location adjacent to the very stylish V&A Waterfront shopping mall and its efforts to make us really feel like valued guests, made this first stay experience a most memorable one. A worthy Capetonian Leading Hotel of the World!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room from the sixth floor or higher
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndreLombard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,563
    414
    116
    35
    29
See reviews for
397
948
59
311
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (563)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile



Dear Sir / madam

We are currently staying at the Table Bay hotel, as we have done on many occasions since we first stayed in 1995.

This is not a complaining email but I just feel that you should know that the standards of service that we have come to expect when we come here are just no longer there.

I have heard many guests complain about the poor levels of service and indeed one man made a complete scene at breakfast yesterday morning by losing his temper in public over these matters. Whilst the way in which this man let everyone around him know was wrong the content of his complaint was very accurate.

I am currently sitting by the pool and it took 45 mins to order a cocktail,and a glass of water. Even then the waitress forgot the type of cocktail I wanted. I have asked for my bill some 30 mins ago and as yet it has never materialised! This is a small example and there are 5 staff at the pool and only 10 guests so it's not busy.

When we arrived our room was not quite ready so we were offered complimentary drinks that they tried to then add to the food bill and our room was only ready about 3.00 pm - we had just flown in on a 12 hour flight from Ireland.

I too run a business employing 25 people and I know your people either make or break your reputation and without your reputation you will achieve nothing. I have heard literally dozens of guests mumble and mutter complaints since we arrived.

I write this to ask you not to ruin what has always been a great place to come and stay in Cape Town until 2014. I don't know if you've had so change in staff or management but please listen to what your customers are saying

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank Roadside01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tirol, Austria
Level Contributor
311 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

The table bay hotel is located close to the waterfront. The service is superb and the rooms all offer a great view. Breakfast us served inside and outside and you will not miss anything there. All in all one of the best hotels in Cape Town.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xtraveller71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

The position right on the Waterfront with direct view on Table Mountain is unique.
Breakfast is great, but avoid their restaurant for the rest of your meals, there is much better just a few steps away.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chef E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We visited the hotel as part of our 3rd wedding anniversary from 25th to 29th November 2013 with our 1yr old son.
We were upgraded to a superior family room in arrival and we felt it was a good gesture from the hotel.
The service is extremely good. Everyone went on his/her way to make our stay memorable. Ann was really great in suggesting an African dinner at the Gold restaurant. Thanks a lot Ann.You need to try this restaurant
We were on BB.Breakfast was great with lots of variety.
Hotel is located at the mall which is very convenient for an ardent shopper and right on the V&A waterfront. Visits to Robben island and round the city can be very convenient from this hotel

However, I found the room very old for the price charged. The hotel can do with some refurbishments. The Carpet and corridor was smelling bad but other things were fine.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the waterfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onekir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

The Table Bay hotel was our first hotel in our South African tour and our first loom at South Africa and we were very impressed. After reading reviews with warnings regarding hotels etc, our group of 10 (5 adults and 5 young children) was positively astounded with the beautiful rooms and high quality of service.

pros - very easy access to the V&A Waterfront for food and shopping; excellent breakfast buffet (the salad selection was my favorite); beautiful view, free internet access, big rooms; the staff also presented my brother-in-law with a surprise birthday cake in their suite -- very nice!

Cons - none that I can remember for the hotel, but this is for the money exchange people in the mall beside who did not even wait for us to run back to the hotel to get our original passport -- since we only had xerox copies -- I was waiting in front of the counter while my husband rushed to our hotel room (which took around 7 minutes) and the guy just closed the counter in my face :)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JYTiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Amazing property.Tremendous location. The staff and the entire management was very very nice.II would like to thank Andrew,Rodrick for being so prompt. The breakfast spread was huge and they ensured that every little thing is taken care off.

Thanks for making our stay so brilliant and memorable.

Room Tip: The Mountain View room is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adarsh713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.4 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,997 reviews
0.3 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#26 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,490 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,554 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,482 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queen Victoria Hotel
Queen Victoria Hotel
#14 of 109 in Cape Town Central
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Table Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Table Bay Hotel

Property: The Table Bay Hotel
Address: Table Bay Hotel | Table Bay Breakwater Blvd, Quay 6, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#10 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Table Bay Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 329
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Table Bay offers the ultimate in 5-star luxury hotel accommodation in Cape Town. One of the Leading Hotels of the World, this sophisticated Sun International property was opened in May 1997 by iconic former South African president, Nelson Mandela. As part of the Sunlux Collection, The Table Bay continues to set its own standards in international service, cuisine and luxury. Situated on the historic Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, The Table Bay hotel is perfectly positioned against the stunning backdrop of Table Mountain and the Atlantic Ocean and provides easy access to the top places to visit in Cape Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Table Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Table Bay Cape Town
Table Bay Hotel Cape Town
Hotel Table Bay
The Table Bay Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing