We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you could imagine and more”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Table Bay Hotel
Ranked #16 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviewed 23 January 2014

From the moment we arrived at the Table Bay Hotel to the moment we left we were in a world of delight. The service and attention to detail, the elegant and awe-inspiring architecture, the beautifully appointed rooms (what views!), the simply amazing breakfast buffet, and the one-in-a-million location - all simply incredible.

Top that off with the immediate surrounds which includes amazing shopping, entertainment, dining and the lively atmosphere of Cape Town's waterfront, and we felt we were truly privileged.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hawks2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,282)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,375 - 1,381 of 2,282 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2014

We recently spent a couple of nights at The Table Bay Hotel and we were delighted with our experience.

We arrived late at night after a very long, delayed international flight and were immediately welcomed into the hotel and upgraded to a magnificent corner room - made even more special by the rose petals scattered in the bedroom and bathroom. The best part was waking up the following morning to the most breathtaking views of the ocean, waterfront and Table Mountain.

The breakfast buffet was outstanding, complemented with live piano music and the most faultless service. This must be the best service we have ever received at breakfast, we were treated like royalty and felt very special.

The location of this hotel is perfect and you would struggle to find a location with better views over Table Mountain and the V&A Waterfront.

So often today hotels are branded as five star and they don't come anywhere close to expectations of a five star hotel. I can, however, honestly say that The Table Bay Hotel is a true five star luxury hotel and a worthy member of the Leading Hotels of the World.

We look forward to staying at this hotel again next time we visit Cape Town.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madeline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TableBayHotel, General Manager at The Table Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

This is a lovely hotel, let down only on it's service with so many staff and yet left unsupervised it's sad, at breakfast it was hard some days to get anyone to take your order or even top up your coffee, the buffet was extensive and is served from 06:30 until 11:00 including champagne and oysters...On our last day we said we would have the oysters and champagne only to be told there were no more oysters and this was at 09:40 which was very dissapointing and i was suitibly unimpressed...We had a large room with the most amazing views of Table Mountain, and all the linen was changed daily, very nice and a real treat...It's location is fantastic as there is a direct link to the shopping mall and restaurants a real pleasure...The in room guide to services is out of date April 2010, and needs to be updated, the TV whilst should be easy to operate was not and no in house giude, we had to ask for help, only to find out that the tv can not be operated by the remote from the bed as it is then out of range!!!! Servicing of the room varied in time so much that it became annoying 14:30 and still not done when we enquired we were told they were busy on our floor!... We had afternoon tea and cakebut had to ask if we could have serviettes come on please... This should be an amazing hotel yet it lacked and i believe when you pay for it your supposed to get it after all it is rated 5 star...

Room Tip: Room 622 has a really great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Welcome and check-in: we arrived quite early and our room was not ready yet. We were offered complimentary coffee and beverages for the waiting time which we had in the marvellous lobby lounge. Process was very professional and of highest standard. Service was very friendly.
Room: very nice room facing Table Mountain, cookies and water was free, very large bathroom. Highest standard in every respect.
Breakfast: the largest breakfast buffet we have ever seen in South Africa. Top quality and highly recommendable. A real feast!
Airport transfer: We had to get to the airport very early. Arranged everything with the concierge the evening before - everything worked perfectly.
Location: hotel has direct access to the V&A shopping mall and the restaurants at the harbour side.
If you are looking for a hotel where you want to be sure you will not be disappointed - Table Bay hotel is definitely a great choice in Cape Town.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JTDoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Just sitting in the lobby having checked out waiting for our pick up back to the airport. We have had 2 weeks of unadulterated luxury here. From our early morning arrival to find our room already prepared for us several hours ahead of check in time to being able to keep our room beyond check out so we could enjoy our last day here everything was superb. Our room was spacious and luxurious with towels and Molton Brown toiletries replaced twice a day and our bed changed daily. Room service dining was an unexpected treat and fun, the pool was quiet and the staff there incredibly friendly. Breakfasts in this hotel are the ultimate in decadence with champagne and oysters part of the buffet and you rather get the feeling that whatever you asked for would be conjured up as well. The poached eggs were excellent .. Loved being asked how I would like them and then getting them spot on.

The in house spa is also a high point with lovely treatments at very good prices. Meant we were able to indulge ourselves.

I would seriously recommend this hotel for a really relaxing stay, nothing is too much trouble for the team here and service is delivered with a warm friendly smile.

This was our first trip to South Africa but won't be our last given the warm welcome we have had

Stayed: January 2014
Thank gembiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

The position of the hotel is right on the Waterfront with direct view on Table Mountain and the ocean which is fascinating.
we loved the easy access to all the shops, bars and restaurants near the WaterFront. The hotel is connected to a major mall.
Service is good enough with very helpful staff, excluding room cleaning, for that price they should do more.
Breakfast was amazing with everything you possibly want to eat.

It's a great place to be in Cape Town.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VelinaND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Today is my birthday and yesterday my daughter and I booked into the hotel for my birthday treat, at this stage I have to say I wouldn't come back.

We sat at the pool for a while relaxing and ordered an iced coffee and a strawberry juice with our poolside lunch, after finishing our lunch and still no drinks we asked them to please send them up to the room, 1hr after our order we got our drinks.

Last night and again tonight on turn down service there was not even a chocolate on our pillows (Which at this price and star rating, one would expect).

Our spa treatment this morning was outstanding but unfortunately can not say the same for the afternoon one, kept waiting 15mins with no apology and then given mediocre reflexology.

At no stage has any staff member wished me a happy birthday even though I put that as the reason for our booking, it is not that this bothers me personally, but from a service point of view of the hotel, this is attention to detail not paid.

We have one more night to go and if service improves I will definately write a follow up review.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Ally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.4 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,075 reviews
0.5 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#12 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,647 reviews
0.3 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,760 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#34 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,528 reviews
1.5 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Table Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Table Bay Hotel

Address: Table Bay Hotel | Table Bay Breakwater Blvd, Quay 6, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#10 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#16 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £243 - £577 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Table Bay Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 329
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Table Bay offers the ultimate in 5-star luxury hotel accommodation in Cape Town. One of the Leading Hotels of the World, this sophisticated Sun International property was opened in May 1997 by iconic former South African president, Nelson Mandela. As part of the Sunlux Collection, The Table Bay continues to set its own standards in international service, cuisine and luxury. Situated on the historic Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, The Table Bay hotel is perfectly positioned against the stunning backdrop of Table Mountain and the Atlantic Ocean and provides easy access to the top places to visit in Cape Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelbag, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Table Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Table Bay Cape Town
Table Bay Hotel Cape Town
Hotel Table Bay
The Table Bay Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing