We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A long way to go”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Table Bay Hotel
Ranked #18 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A long way to go”
Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

I had a mixed bag of poitives and negatives about this hotel. Having stayed at international five star hotels, I have to sadly admit that the TBH has a long way to go before reaching the pinnacle. Postives? Location, location, location. Negatives? Three star service. For example, water accumulation in shower, inconsistent restocking of bar fridge, inconsistent supply of room amenities, casual and noisy waiters at breakfast, underwhelming pool area, old and loud lift doors, stony-faced reception, outdated lighting technology (example, no energy saving switches and light switches are simply too far to enable easy switching on/off at night).

I feel these are things that can be improved and hopefully next time I will notice a difference. The hotel has the potential to be the best hotel in CT. They only need to work on the inconsistencies. For example, some of the waiters go out of their way to make you feel welcome whilst others seem to be on holiday. There is no doubt that my stay was probably influenced by the fact that I stayed during a seriously busy period and perhaps resources were stretched. But this should not be an excuse for a five star hotel charging five star prices.

Don't get me wrong there are some very nice things about this hotel. Its spacious, comfortable, scenic and strategically located. And like I said some of the staff members know how to make you feel welcome. I so wish I could give it a better rating but I think that would not be fair on both the hotel and anyone reading this review.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank TheBigO111222333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,561
    414
    116
    35
    29
See reviews for
397
948
58
311
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (563)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Great location, excellent well appointed rooms, superb views over the bay and across to Table Mountain. Great service and great food in the restaurant. Easy access to all bay-front amenities and to shopping mall. A most enjoyable stay at the end a six week business visit. Would definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: My room was quiet and I was undisturbed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lancastrian777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TableBayHotel, General Manager at The Table Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate the time taken and look forward to welcoming you back to 'The Best Address in the Cape'
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

I have stayed here 3 times now over a period of 5 years and each time it just gets better. This time was a special anniversary celebration and the Table bay pulled out all the stops to ensure we had an absolutely amazing time. The rooms was spotless, the bathroom had every facility a person would need and the view of Table Mountain is spectacular. The service in this hotel is wonderful yet discreet and not overbearing.

The spa in the hotel is wonderful too and the knowledgeable and experienced staff are fantastic

I have stayed in many hotels all over the world of varying quality an finesse, but will keep coming back to the Table bay for as long as they continue to provide the accommodation and service as they do.

This truly is my favourite hotel in the world

Room Tip: I would always ask for a mountain facing room. Dont expect opulence in this hotel or its rooms, it i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bossies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TableBayHotel, General Manager at The Table Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thank you for placing your review on TripAdvisor, we do have the most incredible location overlooking Table Mountain and you cannot miss the fact that you are in the beautiful city of Cape Town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

The internal connection to the Victoria and Alfred mall was very convenient as well as the general location and closeness to good restaurants by the pier. The lobby and eating areas are very grand and comfortable, spacious and bright. What I didn´t find very appealing was the incredibly long walk from the lift to my room. I felt I was in one of those mammoth hotels in Vegas. And even though the room was very nice I thought the bathroom was in need of refurbishment and modernization.
The breakfast was a huge varied buffet of international cuisine! In spite of my good review I am not sure if i would return, it just didn´t get to me, I didn´t feel any emotional connection to the hotel.

Room Tip: I would prefer to be closer to the lifts, though not too close. A 30 second walk is more than enough...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SGB2202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TableBayHotel, General Manager at The Table Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
We take note of your request for a room closer to the lifts and should you return ensure we make every effort to accommodate this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasilia, Df
Level Contributor
154 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Wanted to treat myself for two nights in Cape Town and chose this hotel. Good choice! Great room with all the necessary touches, Table Mountain view was wonderful. Service generally fine.
Details: slow service at breakfast on second morning, food lukewarm. Bill messed up when I checked out, and I was a bit taken aback to hear "Oh, when the hotel's full, we charge more" (that said, the room averaged what I'd booked for). And getting my bag from the room was a farce.
BUT - the hotel is wonderfully located, oozes class in many ways, and if I go back to to Cape Town I'd certainly think of staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffStranks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TableBayHotel, General Manager at The Table Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your recent stay. We welcome the information provided so we consistently strive to improve our service delivery. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Pros: Room big
Location of the hotel
Breakfast buffet

Cons:
Service really not 5 stars. The waiters are mainly communicating with themselves
and not with guests. Got to wait always for waiter, even there is more than enough staff.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RBungart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TableBayHotel, General Manager at The Table Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
We appreciate your comments, both positive and negative and through feedback such as this able to improve service to our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the beautiful city of Cape Town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sequim, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

The hotel sits at the waterfront of Table Bay. It is within walking distance of Victoria and Alfred Mall , several good restaurants and the Hop on and Off tour bus.
The rooms are luxurious with many amenities, staff is conscientious and polite. The Breakfast Buffet offers almost anything you could hope for but if you do not find what you want there, they will make it for you. High Tea is wonderful with any kind of tea you could wish for and a huge selection of wonderfully attractive and tasty quiches, cakes, sandwiches etc. The restaurant for dinner was very good but not exceptional. The architecture is amazing. Only complaint is that the concierge staff could be better trained and follow through with requests. All in all a 5 star experience with full view of Table Rock.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheltiemama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.4 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,997 reviews
0.3 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,490 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,550 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,482 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queen Victoria Hotel
Queen Victoria Hotel
#14 of 109 in Cape Town Central
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Table Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Table Bay Hotel

Property: The Table Bay Hotel
Address: Table Bay Hotel | Table Bay Breakwater Blvd, Quay 6, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#10 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Table Bay Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 329
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Table Bay offers the ultimate in 5-star luxury hotel accommodation in Cape Town. One of the Leading Hotels of the World, this sophisticated Sun International property was opened in May 1997 by iconic former South African president, Nelson Mandela. As part of the Sunlux Collection, The Table Bay continues to set its own standards in international service, cuisine and luxury. Situated on the historic Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, The Table Bay hotel is perfectly positioned against the stunning backdrop of Table Mountain and the Atlantic Ocean and provides easy access to the top places to visit in Cape Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Table Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Table Bay Cape Town
Table Bay Hotel Cape Town
Hotel Table Bay
The Table Bay Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing