We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Table Bay Hotel
Ranked #19 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Ballito, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What a place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed a lovely weekend with mt wife at the Table Bay Hotel. Room was lovely. The food divine, and the service top notch. Would definitely recommend it to anybody looking for good accommodation in the V&A Waterfront in Cape Town.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Schastri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,078 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,506
    399
    114
    32
    27
See reviews for
387
913
55
302
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (544)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
WorcesterUK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

This is our sixth visit now to the Table Bay Hotel in eight years, while there have been some subtle changes the standard remains high. Rooms either face Table Mountain or the ocean, breakfast choice is beyond your wildest dream and no request is too much! The hotel is central to all activities and close to some fabulous restaurants. The area is extremely safe for anyone who may have concerns. A perfect location for leisure or business, we will be back for sure!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays

Helpful?
2 Thank Edwards_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

Positives: Great location, huge room had a sea facing room that's it
Negatives: Toilets are outdated in the room and needs an upgrade, high tea is overpriced for items on offer, needs an upgrade as everything feels outdated was put in a room near a service elevator that was noisy and was a disturbance at night, parking during the day is horrendous as I found difficulty in finding available parking due to the free parking for shoppers to the V and A. The hotel toilet was used more for the public then guests actually staying at the hotel.
I have stayed at other 5 star hotels and this one needs an upgrade and friendlier staff

Room Tip: Maybe request a room away from service elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rehina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TableBayHotel, General Manager at The Table Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Table Bay. On an annual basis we conduct a refurbishment of our rooms and public areas to maintain the standards of the hotel property. The hotel has private parking, and is not available to shoppers at the V&A Waterfront, we do generally find our parking sufficient to accommodate our hotel guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

Lovely hotel,good rooms with great views of table mountain ,we took a wine land tour booked via the hotel.This was a wonderful tour,in a top quality vehicle ,the guide/ driver nabeel was excellent,knowledgable and extremely pleasant ,can't recommend it enough.
This was our first trip to Cape Town and this hotel is perfect for position,safety and easy to go out and dine.

Room Tip: All have good views,we were in 526 very nice room with great views,have breakfast in the room it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank derekmarples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 6 nights at the end of January, we were very impressed, the location was wonderful, the view from our room was amazing, the breakfast outstanding the pool staff the bar staff were very attentive and extremely helpful, and Bradley at the concierge was great, we enjoyed our visit very much we fell in love with Cape Town and will return next year and we will ensure that we stay here again. Thank you to all of the hotel team for making our visit amazing.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASHFORD,KENT
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

looking back I didnt remember fitting so much into this trip.

the hotel is well placed and is of a good standard, their empress size beds are one of the reasons we now have an empress bed.

we went in 1999 and did a helicopter ride, cape point, all the bars in the Victoria waterfront.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAYNEKINDELL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

I had a mixed bag of poitives and negatives about this hotel. Having stayed at international five star hotels, I have to sadly admit that the TBH has a long way to go before reaching the pinnacle. Postives? Location, location, location. Negatives? Three star service. For example, water accumulation in shower, inconsistent restocking of bar fridge, inconsistent supply of room amenities, casual and noisy waiters at breakfast, underwhelming pool area, old and loud lift doors, stony-faced reception, outdated lighting technology (example, no energy saving switches and light switches are simply too far to enable easy switching on/off at night).

I feel these are things that can be improved and hopefully next time I will notice a difference. The hotel has the potential to be the best hotel in CT. They only need to work on the inconsistencies. For example, some of the waiters go out of their way to make you feel welcome whilst others seem to be on holiday. There is no doubt that my stay was probably influenced by the fact that I stayed during a seriously busy period and perhaps resources were stretched. But this should not be an excuse for a five star hotel charging five star prices.

Don't get me wrong there are some very nice things about this hotel. Its spacious, comfortable, scenic and strategically located. And like I said some of the staff members know how to make you feel welcome. I so wish I could give it a better rating but I think that would not be fair on both the hotel and anyone reading this review.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank TheBigO111222333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.4 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,947 reviews
0.5 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#15 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,506 reviews
0.3 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#28 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#32 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,657 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,470 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Commodore
The Commodore
#41 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Table Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Table Bay Hotel

Property: The Table Bay Hotel
Address: Table Bay Hotel | Table Bay Breakwater Blvd, Quay 6, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#8 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#10 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#19 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Table Bay Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 329
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Table Bay offers the ultimate in 5-star luxury hotel accommodation in Cape Town. One of the Leading Hotels of the World, this sophisticated Sun International property was opened in May 1997 by iconic former South African president, Nelson Mandela. As part of the Sunlux Collection, The Table Bay continues to set its own standards in international service, cuisine and luxury. Situated on the historic Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, The Table Bay hotel is perfectly positioned against the stunning backdrop of Table Mountain and the Atlantic Ocean and provides easy access to the top places to visit in Cape Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Table Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Table Bay Cape Town
Table Bay Hotel Cape Town
Hotel Table Bay
The Table Bay Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing