We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Table Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Table Bay Hotel
Ranked #17 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Hotel can be a bit overwhelming at first as it is huge with a vast entrance hall. Lots of staff about. Stayed in room 527 overlooking the sea with a view of Robben Island. The room was very spacious with all facilities. Walk in shower was nice as were the large fluffy towels. A/C was easy to operate. We had a fridge with complimentary water. Each evening the maid would visit us asking if we needed anything like extra coffee,tea,water etc. Also gave us a few fudge sweets!
Used the housekeeping service for our laundry - very efficient but quite expensive. Also requested an iron and ironing board which was delivered instantly.
I enjoyed the large TV especially as I was able to watch live Premiership football (how sad!)
You need your room card to operate the lifts which are guarded by hotel staff. Escalator will take you up to the huge shopping centre directly from the hotel. Try and remember the way back as there are many exits and entrances.
If you go out of the back of the hotel you are directly on the Waterfront and in reach of many restaurants.
For breakfast we avoided the huge room to the left and went into the smaller one on the right. This was known as the continental breakfast room. However you could have a full English breakfast as the staff will bring you anything you wish and it is much quieter than the other restaurant. I was shown round the bigger breakfast room by our waiter. The choice here was amazing with its own juice bar and a separate waffle and pancake bar. However infinite choice is not always a good thing and we were happy with our little breakfast area for the rest of our stay.
Afternoon tea is served in the lounge area of the foyer.

The staff in the hotel were excellent and the bar area was just right for a nightcap.

I can highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are very nice but ask for Table Mountain view if weather is clear
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisatholly55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,037 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,474
    394
    110
    32
    27
See reviews for
379
896
53
299
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (532)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London Uk
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

We arrived early 12:00 and I had requested early checkin but our room was not ready until 14:00. We were offered complimentary tea/coffee/juice while we waited.

The room we booked a family superior for me my wife and son. I was more than happy with the room which had a balcony and stunning view of the harbour and table mountain. Reception lady show us around our room and explained the amenities of the hotel.

I have highlighted some of the pros/cons below:

Pro

Great location
Connected to V & A shopping mall
Plenty of choice in waterfront restaurants walking distance
5* service - staff attentive and very friendly nothing is too much trouble - always remembered name
Great buffet breakfast - massive choice - with live piano playing :)
Room service catered for what we requested - very good quality food
Quality room
Valet Parking

Con

Spa - tried massage didn't think much of the treatment
Pool/Gym - Small
Not much for children

Overall highly recommended. I would stay again on my next trip.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

A large hotel with a personal service. A warm welcome greeted us on our arrival. The room was large and luxurious. The hotel has a swimming pool on the roof with a cocktail bar with waiter service, a lovely place to relax and soak up the sun. This hotel is located close to all of the restaurants and cafes. There is a relaxed vibe as you walk around the V&A at night.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FoodiePlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the Table Bay Hotel, which started off our first visit to South Africa on the right foot. We arrived late in the evening (just after 11pm), and we were greeted by reception. Shaun was nice enough to show us around the hotel and walk us up to our room. Soon after he showed us the amenities of the room, the bellhop arrived with our luggage. I'm sure treatment like this isn't possible when reception is busy, but it was a nice touch after a long travel day from the US.

The hotel is beautiful - very clean with lovely decor. The rooms are very well-appointed and clean. The bathroom sinks, however, didn't drain very well. But not that much of a bother for us. The hotel is in a prime location - situated on the V&A Waterfront and next to a mall (in fact, it's attached to the mall), there are plenty of options for food and shopping. This came in handy for us on the day it rained. We were able to leave our room, go to the lobby, take the escalator to the entrance of the mall and do some shopping and have some lunch. Did you leave something at home? Want a snack? There's even a large grocery store on the lower level of the mall.

The breakfast is the best breakfast buffet we've seen at a hotel - so many choices! Everything from fruits, salad, danishes, cereal, hot food, waffles/crepes, and more. We didn't feel like the service was lacking. There was always someone clearing our plate when we were done and ready for more, and everyone was very friendly. We sat outside one of the mornings we were there, and while there were birds around, they were never bothersome to us.

Dinner at Camissa was nice as well. Service was a little slow, but the staff was friendly. The food was good.

We also enjoyed high tea in the Lounge. Again, friendly staff and a great selection of small sandwiches, biscuits, and desserts.

We have to mark down the hotel because of the concierge. While very nice and always willing to help, we experienced some poor service and lack of communication. Our first instance occurred when my husband requested a shuttle to the GrandWest Casino. He made a reservation the night before, and the next morning decided to change the reservation to one hour later. He was told it was taken care of, but sure enough, we received a phone call at the original time saying that the shuttle was waiting for him. The second instance was when we decided to cancel a tour we had booked. I asked at the concierge desk if we could cancel the tour (which was the next day), and I was told they would take care of it. The next morning, we received a call saying the tour guide was in the lobby waiting for us. We experienced lack of communication when we inquired about the complimentary shuttle to Table Mountain. We were told to show up outside at the scheduled pick up time, and the shuttle would be there. Upon arrival (we even showed up 10 minutes early), we were told the shuttle was already full. We weren't informed that it was first come, first served. Had we known, we would've shown up much earlier. We were given the impression that space on the shuttle would not be a problem. We ended up taking a taxi up to Table Mountain. Someone in our party tried to take the shuttle back to the hotel from Table Mountain, but she said it arrived 10 minutes earlier than scheduled and didn't wait.

Overall, we had a really great experience at the Table Bay Hotel. We would definitely stay here again, mostly because of the breakfast buffet (which had a lovely view of Table Mountain and the Waterfront) and the location.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelteamSDF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NW IN
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

We had a wonderful stay at The Table Bay. US visitors traveling on a "South Africa in Absolute Style" tour with Lion World Travel. Both the accommodations and the staff were perfect, 1st class in every way.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WLC1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

This was our final 5 night stay on our tour of South Africa. Having spent some time in Cape Town previously we had decided to stay here as it was recommended as the place to stay being one of the top hotels in Cape Town.

It did not get off to a good start – we arrived early at 12.30 and were told our room was not ready, this we had expected and we were offered complimentary tea/coffee whilst we waited for it to got ready. After 2 hours we still had not got a room whilst we noticed that others arriving later were being shown to their room after no more than ½ hour wait. Finally my wife went to enquire when our room would be ready. We were told it still wasn’t ready and we were given an alternative. We were shown to our room and as soon as we walked in I commented that I could smell cigarette smoke (we had requested a non- smoking room). We were assured in a somewhat haughty manner that it was non-smoking and if we wanted to complain we could. We did some minimal unpacking and went straight out to the V&A Waterfront not returning until after our evening meal. Despite the window being open it still smelled of cigarette smoke. The following morning I noticed a sign on the desk “smoking area”. We immediately went to reception to complain. We were advised that this hotel does in fact allow smoking in designated rooms – which ours was one. We then enquired as to why we weren’t allocated our original room – no good reason was given. (A shrug of the shoulders). The hotel policy clearly states that rooms will be ready for occupation from 2.00 pm onwards. (Ours was not)

We asked to be moved to a non-smoking room to which the reply was we will see what we can do in about ½ hour. We went to have breakfast and returned 40 minutes later to enquire about the progress. None, “we will see what we can do you will have to wait, a room will have to be cleaned and this could take some time”. This was totally un-acceptable from this quality of hotel. It was only on demanding to see the Duty Manager that any progress was made and we were re-allocated a room and our luggage moved within the hour. (We still do not understand why we could have the original room allocated to us). The Duty Manager was apologetic and indicated that the “hotel” would do something special to make up for the inconvenience of the need to change rooms. (The something special was ½ bottle of red wine!!)

The only meal we took in the hotel was breakfast. As expected for such a large hotel this was a Buffet. It was very good with an exceptionally wide choice of both hot and cold food although at times it did become a “free for all”

The rest of the stay was uneventful though obviously coloured by this initial experience.

This is supposedly one of the top three hotels in Cape Town on the V&A Waterfront – we were disappointed and consider it to be only average and on any future visit to Cape Town will not be stopping here.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LancashireWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TableBayHotel, General Manager at The Table Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
We are sorry to hear that your stay with us was disappointing, we value our 5 star service and product offering, and would hope that you may reconsider a visit in the future. We do value the feedback and will follow up with the Front Office team with regards to your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
151 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

This is, however, my first stay at this property. Excellent service, well maintained. Staff are extremely well trained and competent. A joy to stay here! Expensive but worth all that I paid so the value equation works for me. Excellent location right in the V&A. I will stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joelob22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TableBayHotel, General Manager at The Table Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on TripAdvisor, delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at The Best Address in the Cape!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.4 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,919 reviews
0.5 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#26 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#32 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,459 reviews
1.5 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#16 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Table Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Table Bay Hotel

Property: The Table Bay Hotel
Address: Table Bay Hotel | Table Bay Breakwater Blvd, Quay 6, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#10 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Table Bay Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 329
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Table Bay offers the ultimate in 5-star luxury hotel accommodation in Cape Town. One of the Leading Hotels of the World, this sophisticated Sun International property was opened in May 1997 by iconic former South African president, Nelson Mandela. As part of the Sunlux Collection, The Table Bay continues to set its own standards in international service, cuisine and luxury. Situated on the historic Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, The Table Bay hotel is perfectly positioned against the stunning backdrop of Table Mountain and the Atlantic Ocean and provides easy access to the top places to visit in Cape Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, Ebookers, Hotel.de, HRS and Holiday Gems so you can book your The Table Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Table Bay Cape Town
Table Bay Hotel Cape Town
Hotel Table Bay
The Table Bay Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing