We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Table Bay Hotel
Ranked #19 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Helsinki
Level Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Classic luxury”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

A truly classic 5-star hotel with a superb location in Cape Town's V&A waterfront area. The location in Cape Town is very important, as the waterfront area is one of those areas, where you can safely walk around even later in the evening. The downtown area does have a few nice hotels as well, but my overall experience from it is not very good: slightly run-down, messy, and not very safe in the evenings. In addition, the waterfront area has a large number of dining and entertainment opportunities. What also makes the location of this hotel excellent is the fact that it is attached to the adjacent shopping mall.

We had two separate stays at the hotel. Our first room was spacious and commanded a great view towards the waterfront and harbor area and the Table Mountain. Our second room was even more spacious and commanded an equally impressive view. At the beginning of our second stay, we were first given a room where somebody had been smoking (even though it was supposed to be a non-smoking room). When we provided feedback from this, we were immediately upgraded to another, more spacious room and given free access to the cake table that was part of the afternoon tea ceremony at the hotel. A good example of the kind of responsive service that we were given at this great hotel.

Also, the hotel had one of the best and largest breakfasts that I have enjoyed anywhere in my life. It is easy to survive with the breakfast alone until the dinner.

One of the many reasons why we selected this hotel was the fact that it has a pool (or actually an outside pool area). Unfortunately, this pool area turned out to be fairly small (at least if you want to be exposed to the sunshine and get tanned). To secure a sunbed, be prepared to go there soon after the breakfast time.

Those of you who are after more boutique hotel-style accommodation and relaxed atmosphere, this is not your hotel of choice. Those of you in search of a classic, more formal luxury experience should seriously consider this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkoSHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,078 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,506
    399
    114
    32
    27
See reviews for
387
913
55
302
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (544)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

This hotel is conveniently located on the V&A waterfront, which is it's major advantage. The waterfront area features several restaurants, bars and cafés that serve an array of mouth watering dishes, which you will appreciate as I found the hotel meal/snack menu to be lacking in variety.
The breakfasts area had 2 serving points. On our first morning we were seated at the area away from the main dining section- which had a wider variety of food-and as the staff did not notify us of the other area we had a smaller selection of foods to choose from, this was however settled in the following days.
The hotel rooms were clean and comfortable and if you can get a room with a view of table mountain, and the waterfront.
There's a pool which isn't large and a gym.
I would recommend this hotel to those traveling on business or those planning to spend lots of time outdoors as there isn't much to do within the hotel itself.
All in all we had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TableBayHotel, General Manager at The Table Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to respond on your recent stay at The Table Bay hotel, we do have a great location attached to the V&A Waterfront. The Waterfront itself has a large array of activities and our central location allows our guests to explore Cape Town from the Best Address in the Cape!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al Jubail, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here as part of a package with Lion World Travel and we were thoroughly impressed. When we first arrived we had one of the staff immediately give us a tour of the hotel and our room. Our room was nice, it had a great view of table mountain. The free breakfast there was excellent! They had a great selection of food including a crepe station. We also had lunch at the other restaurant and it was delicious. The location was perfect, it was attached to a mall and there were bars and restaurants all within walking distance. Lovely time in Capetown and a lovely stay at Table bay! Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

My family (kids 9&11 and husband) and I recently stayed at the Table Bay Hotel for 5 nights. We had an incredible time. Not only was the room comfortable and spacious, but the location of the hotel was incredible; we were close to many great restaurants, shopping (there is even a passage to the V & A shopping center), and attractions (walking distance to the aquarium). Even though this is a big hotel, the attention was very personalized (the staff knows your name). The staff is friendly and tries to help in any way possible. I was also very pleased when we found a note from the cleaning staff explaining that they had found some money behind the curtain.
My children's favorite part was the breakfast. It was the ideal beginning for every day and because of the great variety of food, everyone ends up happy. We also had high tea on one of the afternoons; and although we had not made reservations, they were able to accommodate us.
I can honestly say that next time we go to Cape Town, we will also stay here.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 6th floor facing the ocean. It was a beautiful, quiet room with a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loreq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

The room was fantastic, with a great view of the table mountain and the waterfront. The hotel is right on the waterfront and so close to every activity you want to do while in Capetown. There is a pathway in the back which takes you right to the ocean if you want to get away from the hustle of the waterfront. The concierge was extremely nice and helpful, and quickly arranged for an alternate trip for me when my whale watching tour was cancelled due to weather. Housekeeping is quite exceptional as well. The breakfast is one of the largest and best that I have ever experienced. I got a complimentary high tea invitation for staying for 5 nights, and that was a very pleasing experience with delicious three-course snacks and great tea choices. In conclusion, definitely one of my best experiences ever.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saswatibiswas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We spent four nights at the hotel and loved every minute. We were with a group from New Zealand and everything has been first class, from the minstrel band welcoming us to the amazing breakfasts, and great cleaning services in our room. Every night we come home and our room has been refreshed, our bed turned down, slippers beside bed and a bottle of water and nougat sweets for us. Just love it. Beautiful entry area too.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rachel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

My wife and I recently stayed at the Table Bay Hotel in Cape Town (May 19 - 23, 2014), where, unfortunately, I was savaged by bed bugs. Naturally, I reported the attack to management who apologized and then assured us that the room would be thoroughly cleaned and the mattress changed. However, all that happened was that the mattress was changed. I was able to write the word 'D U S T' in the dust! The net curtains in the room rarely get washed and to cap it all, there was a dirty pair of men's underpants in our laundry bin. There was no offer to compensate our stay even for just one night. It is now more than two weeks since the assault on my legs, and the bites are still grossly evident. The management did offer a 'competitive rate' for any future stay - highly unlikely!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
22 Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TableBayHotel, General Manager at The Table Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for your response on Tripadvisor, we value all feedback we receive from our guests and take these issues seriously. The hotel undergoes fumigation on a regular basis to ensure the comfort of our guests, we have not to-date experienced problems in this area before.
This issue has been discussed with our Housekeeping Department and the fumigation company going forward.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.4 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,947 reviews
0.5 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#15 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,506 reviews
0.3 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#28 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#32 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,657 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Commodore
The Commodore
#41 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Table Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Table Bay Hotel

Property: The Table Bay Hotel
Address: Table Bay Hotel | Table Bay Breakwater Blvd, Quay 6, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#8 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#10 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#19 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Table Bay Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 329
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Table Bay offers the ultimate in 5-star luxury hotel accommodation in Cape Town. One of the Leading Hotels of the World, this sophisticated Sun International property was opened in May 1997 by iconic former South African president, Nelson Mandela. As part of the Sunlux Collection, The Table Bay continues to set its own standards in international service, cuisine and luxury. Situated on the historic Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, The Table Bay hotel is perfectly positioned against the stunning backdrop of Table Mountain and the Atlantic Ocean and provides easy access to the top places to visit in Cape Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Holiday Gems, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Table Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Table Bay Cape Town
Table Bay Hotel Cape Town
Hotel Table Bay
The Table Bay Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing