We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room. Unhelpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ashanti Lodge Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice room. Unhelpful staff”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Although the rooms were clean, spacious and secure, the staff were very unhelpful and unwelcoming. They weren't forthcoming with basic information such as how to find our guest house - which was on a different street to the main building. The location of the hostel is reasonably good but is beside a park you're advised to avoid at night. The street where our guest house was is a dark street at night so we always travelled as a group.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noeleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaMas0n, Owner at Ashanti Lodge Gardens, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Hello Noeleen
Thank you for your review. I apologise for the unhelpfulness of my staff - I will speak to them and try to ensure that they improve their customer service.
Regards, Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    165
    64
    24
    12
See reviews for
21
92
194
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Super nice hostel, really cool location close to everything. Shared bathrooms are clean.
Staff were great and helpful. Clean and spacious dorms. Friendly atmosphere and great kitchen. One of the best hostels I have ever stayed in..

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Lucel23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaMas0n, Owner at Ashanti Lodge Gardens, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Hi there - thank you for your kind review!
Regards, Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The location of this Hostel was fantastic just a short walk from Long street with all the bars and restaurants, the rooms were clean and had some good additions like safes, lockable storage and reading lights. HOWEVER the staff really ruined the experinence of our stay. To be fair it wasn't all the staff but we did have a very negative experinence overall. Firstly we had emailed ahead booking an airport transfer and requesting a quiet room. Neither emails were replied to meaning that we made other arrangements to get to the hostel from the airport yet on our arrival there we saw that the lodge had infact sent someone to collect us, this was great but we really could have done with having this info confirmed before hand. The staff in the bar seemed more into getting drunk/stoned than actually serving anyone, infact they partied so hard it wasnt unusual to fine one of them asleep in our room in the middle of the day!!
The mai issue we had was one that occured near the end of the stay and involved the night security man. A drunk male guest had tried to enter our bedroom, becoming very physically and verbally aggressive and had grabbed my female friend and tried to drag her to his bedroom. the expoerience was terrifying and it was only as there was two of us that we were able to fight him off and managed to get him out into the corridor so we could shut and lock ourselves in our room. when we finally felt he had gone we immediatly went to the front reception to alert the night guard of the incident. Although initially concerned the guard went to find the man we had described who was now drinking in the bar upstairs we were relieved when it looked like he was being escorted off the premisis only to later find out that he was still being allowed to stay in his room and that he would be asked to leave in the morning. We both felt this was totally unacceptable given the voilent nature of what had happened we voiced this to the security guard who just kept repeating that he would be gone by the morning. we eventaully had to accept this was all that was going to be done and we returned to our bedroom for a very unrestful nights sleep. Due to this incident i would not reccomend this hostel especially not to lone female travellers.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Abi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaMas0n, Owner at Ashanti Lodge Gardens, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Hi Abi
Thanks for your review. First of all, I checked the correspondence and your email regarding the transfer WAS replied to on the same day! Maybe it went to your junk mail folder? But I am absolutely horrified to read of the incident with the drunk guest. It must have been terrible for you and your friend. Please be assured that this kind of thing has never happened before - and never will!! I will also speak to the night manager and advise him of procedure.
On a positive note, I see that you extended your stay so overall you must have enjoyed your visit.
Regards, Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Very nice hostel with clean and comfortable rooms.

Shared bathrooms were clean and had good features.

Bar was good.

Location was a nice area, just outside of city centre. Easy walking distance to Long Street.

Staff were helpful.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaMas0n, Owner at Ashanti Lodge Gardens, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Hi Jim
Thanks for your review and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Regards
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

A great location, a great pool area, lovely bar and facilities, but why oh WHY do these guys think it's OK to have the staff run around shouting at each other at 7.30am on a SUNDAY (!!!!!), the cleaners and bar staff start at 7.30, and my room was under the....BAR!!! When I arrived I spent 4 hours waiting to get a bed that I had actually booked 2 days before, then found out it had been available all that time but the communication of the black girl to the rest was poor to say the least. I stayed one of the 3 nights there as it sounded like thunder the whole day and night and then went else-where.

Ashanti, YOU SHOULD NOT be asking money for that room, it's the worst room I've ever stayed in!!! Shameful, it could have been a great experience. That should be a store room, period.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Orinoco888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaMas0n, Owner at Ashanti Lodge Gardens, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Thank you for your review and I really apologise for your uncomfortable stay at Ashanti. I have tried for years to ask the cleaning staff not to shout early in the morning, but it is in their culture and they find it difficult to talk quietly. Usually guests are not disturbed by it though.
As far as your room is concerned - yes, it is under the bar and can be loud so I am sorry for that - as well as for the lack of communication amongst the reception staff in arranginga re-location for yourself.
Regards, Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denver
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We stayed here for 6 nights, in both the Gardens and in the Lodges (1 & 2) always in ensuite rooms. Overall, we had a great stay. Everything is clean, beds comfy, the kitchen facilities are good except in Ashanti 1 lodge which had very little fridge or cooking space. The location is fabulous and the area felt safe. We enjoyed the bar a few times as well as the deck overlooking table mountain during the day. Most of the time the service was excellent calling cabs and answering questions however there were a few times when it was actually poor (e.g. at check in the gentleman working was much more interested in the futbol game than us, not appreciated after 30 hours of travel and limited sleep!). Overall, though, we recommend this place!

Room Tip: The lodges are very quiet but "away from the action." The gardens is active and a nice pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank earthgirlDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa K, Owner at Ashanti Lodge Gardens, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you so much for your review. I will have to have a word with the night manager about watching football - sorry about that :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Ashanti Lodge was my first backpacking experience.
Let me tell you...what an amazing atmosphere, the staff were all very friendly and they all treated me with the best customer service. Especially the cleaning ladies, they always made me feel good.
Not to mention the countless people that come and go there, what a perfect way to meet somebody from somewhere different.
Thanks to the staff at Ashanti Lodge for the great 2.5 weeks there.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lu T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa K, Owner at Ashanti Lodge Gardens, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Hi there - I am so glad you enjoyed your stay here. It really helps staying for more than a few days and then you really get into the groove....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Cape Town Lodge
#74 of 109 in Cape Town Central
675 reviews
Parliament Hotel
#37 of 109 in Cape Town Central
576 reviews
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#67 of 109 in Cape Town Central
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
The Backpack
The Backpack
#4 of 125 in Cape Town Central
678 reviews
Atlantic Point Backpackers
#3 of 125 in Cape Town Central
639 reviews
City Bowl
Once in Cape Town
Once in Cape Town
#9 of 125 in Cape Town Central
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashanti Lodge Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashanti Lodge Gardens

Property: Ashanti Lodge Gardens
Address: 11 Hof Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 125 Speciality Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ashanti Lodge Gardens 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Victorian mansion boasts clean, comfortable rooms and handy innovations like individual reading lights, personal safes and international plug points. Our sparkling pool, landscaped gardens, spacious balconies and palm-fringed sundecks are great for chilling out - while our legendary Kumasi Bar is the place to party! We serve delicious meals in our bar and also have a well-equipped kitchen for self-catering. We offer all accommodation options, including private, en-suite rooms in our guesthouse around the corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and HRS so you can book your Ashanti Lodge Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashanti Lodge Gardens Hotel Cape Town Central
Ashanti Lodge Gardens Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing