We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average backpackers overpriced for world cup”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ashanti Lodge Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Average backpackers overpriced for world cup”
Reviewed 18 July 2010

Stayed 3 nights at Ashanti during the World Cup 2010 with my partner. Even booking 6 month ahead of time all prices were highly inflated and in the end this hostel was about the price of an average hotel and fit in our budget. If we had paid the standard backpacker rate for the room I think we would have more positive things to say but this review is written in mind that we paid over 100AUD for a shoebox with a bed.

The staff at reception were all friendly enough but not very efficient or helpful. The key to the 'secure luggage room' was sitting on the reception desk unwatched during the day the whole time we were there. The room was not large- just big enough for a double bed and a sink. It fronted onto the pool and bar area which was loud with people and music all nights we stayed (again- noise is expected in a hostel during the world cup, but not appreciated for the amount we paid. Would be nice if the social area didn't front onto rooms). The kitchen and bathrooms weren't clean, but that happens in hostels. The hot water in the showers was variable by the time of day. Security was good- the building was surrounded by barbed wire and big fences and had a security guard out the front. Our room had an electric safe which was secure. Amazing view of Table Mountain from the bar.

The travel desk was very helpful and organised a really good day trip to Cape Point for us.

All in all I've stayed in much nicer backpackers and much worse ones. I expect there are nicer backpackers in Cape Town for similar prices to Ashanti's normal (not World Cup) prices though if you are willing to make the effort to look.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keineideen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    164
    64
    24
    12
See reviews for
21
92
192
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2010

This hostel/ more like a 4 star hotel was very very good and value for money. My sister and i traveled around the world and this is by far the best place we stayed in. We stayed in all sorts of places and all stars and this is one of the top, probably the top place we stayed at. The hotel is very new and has everything you want. The showers are very nice and it is clean, good room size and SAFE.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dream_worldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashantimanager, Manager at Ashanti Lodge Gardens, responded to this review, 16 July 2010
Hi - thank you for your kind words. We do hope that you come back sometime soon as we have had a total refurb - ie new beds, new linen and blankets, duvets, pillows etc.
Kind regards,
Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2010

Date 21 Jan 2010
We stayed in this hotel for arround 4 days.We booked Suoer Deluxe room, which was in a separate Cottage.

The location was fabulous, in the heart of te city, very lively place, all the site seeing points were close by.

The Hotel ambience was very nice.
It has its own travel desk, which will arrange sight seeing package for you, u need not ot bother about it.

Overall good experience.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank travelfreakPune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashantimanager, Manager at Ashanti Lodge Gardens, responded to this review, 25 January 2010
Hi - thank you for your happy review! We hope you come back to stay with us soon. Kind regards Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2010

We didn't expect the Ritz but this lodge failed on nearly all levels of basic cleanliness. We had just finished a 6 week overland tour and ended in Cape Town with one night in Ashanti Lodge and although the staff tried hard I understand it was difficult to book in 20 people at a time and they kept smiling. We went in to our room and it smelt very musty and stale. The bunk beds in themselves were ok but the matresses were stained and smelly and so were the blankets and sheets provided. When you stamped your feet dust flew up from the carpet. Myself and some others in our group were bitten by bed bugs to which the reception staff were indifferent.
The cafe was overpriced but the food was ok. The bathrooms were clean and in good working order.
The internet was good and we were able to use Wireless in our room.
This hostel could be really nice but they need new carpets and matresses and bedding.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GlobalJim82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashantimanager, Manager at Ashanti Lodge Gardens, responded to this review, 15 January 2010
Hi,

I am so sorry to read that you had such a disappointing stay at Ashanti Lodge. I wish that we had met during your stay here so we could have sorted out some of the issues for you. From your log in I can not trace your name and surname, so I can not check our system to see which room you stayed in.

I can make a few notes on your comments

The rooms can be smelly at times - we are aware of this and try to air the rooms as much as possible. With so many people coming off trucks that have been through Africa for weeks - shoes are smelly and laundry is in abundance. We can not monitor personal hygiene of our guests, but please believe me we have had some guests with very bad body odour. All these smells get into the carpets and mattresses.

The rooms get serviced daily with fresh linen and last year we bought 40 brand new mattresses, so we try to update things as often as possible. We are due a linen upgrade - so yes we agree with you - time for new sheets. They may be old - but I promise they are clean.

As far as the bed bugs allegation - we certainly do NOT have bed bugs in our establishment. This causes huge patches of raised welts if bitten and in my 13 years here I have never seen a case. ( I know first hand what bed bugs can do as I had them in Guatemala) We do however have mosquitoes and the odd flee pays a visit.

Our Kumasi cafe is by far cheaper than any restuarant or bar in city centre except for Arnolds and we can not compete with their breakfasts.

I do hope you can try us again when you return to South Africa and hopefully we could change your minds.

Regards,
Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Mesa, California USA
Level Contributor
70 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed at Ashanti Lodge for two nights in November 2009. The property is in a nice part of the city (Gardens) and easy walking distance to Long Street/Shopping/Restaurants, etc. The main building is a very pretty restored Victorian and the lodge also includes two separate detached guest houses that accommodate the various double and single en-suite rooms. These detached guest houses are located a short block or two away from the main property.

We stayed in Guest House #2, room 10. The building appeared to be very secure - Locked gate on outside perimeter fence, metal security door outside building front door, locking front door and locked doors for each guest room. Our room also had an exterior door that exited into the patio area which also had locks and a metal security door on top of that. All doors required keys. Unfortunately, this guesthouse did not have security cameras installed like the main building does.

On our third night, we came home from dinner at around 11PM to discover we had been robbed. Nothing seemed out of the ordinary when we came back from dinner; none of the outside gates were broken or even unlocked. However, our actual room door was unlocked when we tried the key. There was no sign of forced entry - it was obvious that whoever broke in had a set of keys.

Lucky for us, there was an electronic wall safe where we had placed our passports, credit cards, extra money and other important documents. However, the wall safe was not big enough for all of our valuables. The thieves got away with almost $3,000 worth of stuff, including a nice DSLR Nikon Camera that didn’t fit in the wall safe, clothes and an Osprey Backpack. Many other sentimental items were taken, small items that can’t be replaced. We know that we were lucky; the wall safe wasn’t compromised and we didn’t lose the most important things.

My boyfriend and I have traveled the world extensively, staying in everything from 5-star hotels to bush camp tents with barely a zipper to close up. We know not to be careless – No valuables in sight, no open windows or blinds, everything you can do to minimize your risk of being a target.

When you are on the road as much as we have been over the years, you tend to expect this to happen sooner or later – and it usually happens when you least expect it. In this case, the property was probably one of the most secure buildings we had stayed in on this trip.

We called reception right away. It was late Friday night, so the day staff was gone and the night desk clerk wanted to know if we wanted to call the police, which we did. Two constables came out and filed a report. They agreed that the perpetrator must have had a key.

Because the thief obviously had keys to the entire building we did not want to stay in our room any longer. The night clerk called over to their sister property, Ashanti Green Point, to secure us a room over there. We had to pay for a cab to the other property at 2AM as the night clerk was unable to provide free transport.

The worst part of the experience, and the item we think other travelers should be aware of, was the Ashanti management’s response…or lack thereof.

The next morning, we asked for the shuttle driver to come and pick us up and take us back to Gardens so we could tell the staff what happened. When we arrived, we told them the whole story and offered to give them a copy of the police report. We really wanted to speak to management so we could relay the seriousness of this security breach. Not only did the thief have a set of keys they used to break into our unit, but they also took our second set of keys which we had left in the room. There were now two sets of keys to this building in the hands of thieves.

The staff on the desk seemed to be concerned, but did not offer to interview employees, search in the main building or investigate further. We were told the main manager Sue would be very concerned and would want to talk to us on Monday when she was back from a holiday weekend. We pressed the staff for her phone number so we could speak to her immediately, but they were unwilling to give us one and said they would not bother her during the weekend. They didn’t even want a copy of the police report for their records.

That morning we also met a police investigator and a detective who came to take fingerprints. Interestingly, housekeeping had already been in our room and done a complete cleaning before the detectives arrived. The staff at the front desk had told us they would keep the room sealed off until the police completed their investigation. There was obviously a miscommunication here.

We never did hear from Ashanti management. We stayed at their sister property until Tuesday morning, inquiring several times if Sue had called or if anyone had asked about the robbery or wanted to talk to us for more details. The hotel had our email and a mobile phone number to reach us after we departed Cape Town but nobody ever contacted us.

We wanted to wait a few weeks to post this because we wanted to let it sink in a bit and not overreact and give the hotel a chance to reply, but now I feel like we have to post something.

To their credit, the weekend staff were kind. They did reimburse us for the taxi we had to take at 2AM (after we asked for it) and they refunded our key deposit for the 2nd set of keys that were taken from our room that night. We did enjoy the rest of our stay at the sister property and for the most part had a great time in Cape Town. This incident did not leave us with a negative reflection on Cape Town, this could have happened anywhere to anyone – and it happens every day.

However, it was our opinion that management should have been on top of this, if for no other reason than to try to alleviate their customers concerns. There was a major security breach in this building and there were many other people staying in the guesthouse that had no idea what had happened. We met one girl who was staying in a room by herself and she was quite scared to be staying in a building that was no longer secure. The weekend staff indicated that the building would be re-keyed immediately, but we have no idea when or if this actually happened.

Cape Town is a beautiful city and both of the Ashanti properties are great places to stay (location, amenities). As with anywhere though, be vigilant and always pack the wall safe with as much as you can. A lot of accommodations we saw in Cape Town appeared to have security cameras throughout. I would think this would be the best deterrent against thieves and might be something you would want to inquire about during your booking.

If someone wishes to learn more about our experience and ask me any questions, please feel free to send me a private Trip Advisor message and I’ll be happy to reply. Cheers!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank LeftCoastTravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2009

This is a rather nice place. Swimming pool, good bar, nice but small rooms (the double beds are uncomfortable though), good clean toilets and showers. It is however a bit of a party place so if this is not what you are up for (or you are 30+) maybe you should think about staying at another place. And be prepared to pay for taxi rides. Although it is safe to walk to long street in day time you need to take a taxi after dark.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SwedenViktoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
1 review
Reviewed 13 October 2009

Ashanti Lodge is a great place to stay in Capetown.

Located beneath table mountain it's a 10 minute walk from the hustle and bustle of Long St and twenty minute walk from V&A waterfront.

We were located in one of the houses - seperate from the main hostel, just round the corner, in a double ensuite with shared kitchen facilities. The room itself was spacious, clean and comfy. My only complaint being after a day out exploring i came back to find my mock (primark) diamond earrings were no longer on the bedside table... stupid mistake on my part for leaving them out i suppose.

The travel centre was absolutley fantastic though! Sam, tailored our stay in capetown to our budget, made great reccommendations and gave advice for the rest of our journey up the garden route. Nothing was too much bother and she was really welcoming and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schminks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Parliament Hotel
#36 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
City Bowl
The Backpack
The Backpack
#4 of 125 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
City Bowl
Once in Cape Town
Once in Cape Town
#8 of 125 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Atlantic Point Backpackers
#2 of 125 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
The Backpackers in Green Point
#1 of 125 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Never at Home Cape Town
#9 of 125 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashanti Lodge Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashanti Lodge Gardens

Property: Ashanti Lodge Gardens
Address: 11 Hof Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 125 Speciality Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ashanti Lodge Gardens 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Victorian mansion boasts clean, comfortable rooms and handy innovations like individual reading lights, personal safes and international plug points. Our sparkling pool, landscaped gardens, spacious balconies and palm-fringed sundecks are great for chilling out - while our legendary Kumasi Bar is the place to party! We serve delicious meals in our bar and also have a well-equipped kitchen for self-catering. We offer all accommodation options, including private, en-suite rooms in our guesthouse around the corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Ashanti Lodge Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashanti Lodge Gardens Hotel Cape Town Central
Ashanti Lodge Gardens Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing