We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge
Ranked #59 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
289 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Great small Hotel”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

This hotel is about 500m (800 yards) from the vibrant Waterfront in Cape Town.
It has had a compete makeover and renovation.
It is located in a centuries old prison and shares the premises with the Graduate School of Business of the University of Cape Town ( one of the top Universities in the world)
Rooms are smallish but really well set up.
Good breakfast as well.

Room Tip: No view so ask for ground floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clive V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    490
    170
    54
    32
See reviews for
188
361
70
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Holt, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights with a school sports tour.

Ideal for big groups as hotel has friendly staff, great breakfasts (if a little expensive!!!!!). The hotel also has complimentary wifi and computers.

The hotel is in a great location as it is only 3 minutes walk to the waterfront. The hotel has a Gym and you can pay 5 rand for laundry. My only criticism is that the rooms are a bit small but they are comfortable.

Overall, would recommend this hotel for a big group or a family.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ben G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

The hotel is located within walking distance to the waterfront which made it easier for us a family of five to just walk across to board a ferry to Robben Island, the Two Oceans Aquarium and other places of attraction. Breakfast was very good. Rooms are vey nice and clean and finishes mordenised. Although there were a few glitches staff are very professional and efficient these were resolved on time. As a light sleeper I had a problem with air con noise. All in all this us a great hotel to stay I would recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ntombi-kaMbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2013

This was a perfect hotel in every way. Great location, amazing rooms, food was first class and the staff were exceptional. Highly recommended and they were able to house our party of 86 fantastically well. The best hotel I have stayed at in Cape Town.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonfitt1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

This hotel was part of an old jail dating back to the 1600. It now forms part of Cape Town university. The rooms have been modernised and the furnishings are new. The bathroom consists of a wet room with a separate toilet.

This hotel is only five minute walk from The Water Front and across the road you will find The Aquarium which is well worth a visit. Also here you will find the start of The City Bus Tour cost 150 Rand. (£10.75) with 18 stops that you can get on and off at. The City Tour will take you along the coast via Camps Bay. Well worth it.

Back to the Hotel, there's are two restaurants here the food is very good. Don't forget to ask for your discount card at reception this will entitle you to a discount on food eaten here. There was two of us and we got 50% off our food bill. So two main courses, followed by two deserts and two Gin and Tonics and two beers came to £15.00.

Breakfast is a fantastic array of fresh fruit, cereals and many cooked items. Muffins and various pastries along side four flavours of yogurt.

The staff are very helpful and provided an umbrella when it rained. Table Mountain can be seen from here although it is closed for maintainence from end of July through to the end of August.

The building features some of the old cell doors and door frames.

This is a great place to stay and being so close to everything I would truly recommend it.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Woody1209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Hotel rooms are new, modern, charming and super clean.
The hotel is located on walking distance (10 min) to the breakwater complex and have parking included on the rate.
The staff is efficient and friendly.
They have breakfast available to the hotel but I preferred to take it on the markets on the waterfront.
It is a great value for money when comparing the options around.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cristina m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strand, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We were travelling into Cape Town for a show at the Artscape Theatre last weekend. I wasn't keen on driving back home after 22h30 so decided to book my husband and myself into the Breakwater Lodge for the night and start the drive home safely next morning.
Naturally there isn't much one can gather about a place in just a one night stay (especially where most of your time is spent out elsewhere), but I really do have to commend the PH Breakwater Lodge on it's wonderfully friendly staff. What an absolute pleasure to be welcomed with such smiles and genuine open friendliness. In a world where customer service is severely lacking these days, it was lovely to see. The staff were not only friendly, but also helpful and well informed.
As for the room - although small, it was extremely comfortable and clean. I wouldn't hesitate to go back again should I require a room in the future!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
1.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#67 of 109 in Cape Town Central
333 reviews
0.1 mi away
The PortsWood
The PortsWood
#46 of 109 in Cape Town Central
728 reviews
0.2 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#53 of 109 in Cape Town Central
612 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,490 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Commodore
The Commodore
#43 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge
Address: Portswood Road | V & A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#48 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#54 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balance modern comfort and and experience soaking in the rich history of Cape Town with a stay at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge. Our hotel in Cape Town, South Africa sits right next to the city's fantastic V&A Waterfront, a minute from restaurants, shops and theatres. We're perfectly poised to give you a feel for the heart of the Waterfront area, just 25 km from Cape Town International Airport. Enjoy easy access to beaches, mountains and city hotspots from our accommodations, as well as convenience getting to Cape Town International Convention Center and Cape Town Stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Marriott, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Breakwater Cape Town Central
Breakwater Hotel Cape Town
The Breakwater Hotel
Protea Hotel By Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing