We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge
Ranked #61 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Thieving daylight robbery. Rooms so small can't unpack 1 medium sized suitcase. No water in rooms and vending machines don't work. Got in from Johannesburg before 10pm, and no chance of even a snack. Not close enough to walk to anyplace to buy a snack or take away! After a long day this is NOT what one would expect!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,036)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

558 - 564 of 1,036 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed four nights, first week in November 2013, Family with two children. We got two rooms, probably the smallest Í´ve seen in a long time. You couldn´t open the extremely small wardrobe unless you move the chair (situated by the desk) to the small entrance! There is absolutely no space for luggage. Compared to other places we stayed in South Africa, very expensive laundry services and we had to pay to park our car inside the premises!
The best part of the hotel is the location, 5 minutes walk to the heart of the Waterfront. Very good, though expensive breakfast and great service.

Room Tip: Travel with no luggage at all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ernestix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

best value for money we have found in Cape Town.

Comfortable clean hotel - not luxurious but more than adequate and just a few minutes walk from the V & A waterfront with its fabulous range of restaurants and bars. Reception staff all very friendly and helpful and free on site parking

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jelico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We've been at the hotel for 8 nights with one to go. The hotel is in an excellent location- just a few minutes walk to the shops at the V&A.
Our room, although small has been very comfortable and staff are friendly.
Breakfast is available, for an additional charge, but it is so easy to find cheaper alternatives at the V&A.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed here 4 nights as part of South Africa tour. The location was great, close to waterfront and we were not afraid to walk back at night. Hotel is built in old prison, which is interesting but it is also part of the business school and we got lost a couple of times trying to find the breakfast room or the reception.
We arrived very late and after a long flight and did not realize immediately that the family unit the gave us for two people is very inconvenient. It has 2 small rooms with a full size bed in each, 2 tiny bathrooms one with a shower and one with a toilet - no bath tub. It may be OK if you have 1-2 children but for a couple, you have to sleep in a small bed or separately.
The safes in both rooms did not work and cleanliness can be improved.
Breakfast buffet was plentiful and tasty.
Try to get a room overlooking table mountain.

Room Tip: Do not get a family room if you are 2 people and not close to laundry machines.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MNM1209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This hotel scores highly for location, and for the friendliness of the staff. Our bedroom, similar to those offered by hotel chains worldwide, was adequate if a little boring, but well up to business traveller standards. We were not so keen on the glass walled bathroom though. The original prison block is primarily a business school, hence we were housed in a newer adjacent block. Nonetheless, safe, good value for money, and really convenient to the V&A waterfront.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Russell H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed here for three nights while exploring Cape Town. The hotel couldn't of been better located and the price was very good for this area. We didn't eat here as there was too many choices elsewhere. The rooms were large enough with nice beds and a decent bathroom. If I came back I would certain choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Garyddd73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.1 mi away
The PortsWood
The PortsWood
#45 of 110 in Cape Town Central
772 reviews
0.2 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,565 reviews
1.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#70 of 110 in Cape Town Central
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#54 of 110 in Cape Town Central
641 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#35 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,528 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Commodore
The Commodore
#41 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge

Address: Portswood Road | V & A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#47 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#53 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £102 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balance modern comfort and and experience soaking in the rich history of Cape Town with a stay at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge. Our hotel in Cape Town, South Africa sits right next to the city's fantastic V&A Waterfront, a minute from restaurants, shops and theatres. We're perfectly poised to give you a feel for the heart of the Waterfront area, just 25 km from Cape Town International Airport. Enjoy easy access to beaches, mountains and city hotspots from our accommodations, as well as convenience getting to Cape Town International Convention Center and Cape Town Stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Marriott, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Breakwater Cape Town Central
Breakwater Hotel Cape Town
The Breakwater Hotel
Protea Hotel By Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing