We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge
Ranked #61 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

Excellent location, great value for money. Worth considering to stay when visiting Cape Town. No actual lobby bar for one to enjoy a night cap. This is the only downside. Everything else is exactly what I expected Certainly would consider staying there again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kosta_Elena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    469
    155
    50
    31
See reviews for
175
340
69
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

I spent three nights in this hotel during a huge CT storm so I didn't qet to move around as much as I would have liked to - the concept of the hotel is great but I'm not sure if I would stay there again, don't really know why but here are some observations.
It shares the space with the UCT Business School and the actual prison is used more for classrooms than hotel rooms - I was given a room in the newly renovated section and I don't think this was or was meant to, resemble a prison. The room was fairly small with some dysfunctional items in it like a chaise lounge which was just in the way with two single beds on either side of the room. It definitely has the Protea look to it. The room allocated for breakfast (the same room for dinner) was far to small and finding a small table for a single person was always a challenge - helping yourself at the buffet was a struggle as it was in the same space as the only access to the far end of the room and as such you had people moving in both directions as well as trying to dish some regular breakfast onto plates that were hard to find.
Not bad, just impractical in a lot of ways.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeteF621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Horrible,awful,terrible,dreadful,dirty and expensive is my summing up of a stay at this hotel. I arrived with my best friends from the UK to visit Cape Town, we were told we could book in at 14.00 hours, when we arrived to check in it took 30 minutes with staff saying rooms were not ready yet and seeming to be resentful of our enquiries as to what was happening. We were shown to two rooms in what used to be a prison, they were small with stained settees and were obviously student accommodation, nothing like the rooms featured on the web site. I rang the reception and was told they would try to move us, 30 minutes later I rang again, this time someone rang back to say there were no other rooms available. The clanging of trollies along the ground floor started at 05.45 this was staff setting up for the conferences in the establishment for the day ahead.The bathroom was tiny with the filthiest bath mat I have ever seen. I suspect that we were "bumped" from our allocated rooms because of an over booking for a tour group, as individuals we were of no importance. The final insult came when we went check out and they got our bill wrong. Please view the photographs I took and ask yourself do I want to part with money to have this experience. AVOID!!

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lesley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex, England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Hotel was in a great location. 5 min walk to the waterfront. 2 mins to the red bus sightseeing terminal and the aquarium.
Rooms were small but clean and well appointed. No ironing facilities you need to request them..we waited 40 mins.
We didn't use the restaurant, no need when the waterfront is so close.
Liked the fact it used to be a prison..nice story to it.
Wifi is available free but in the rooms the strength is poor. You have to get a wireless code daily.
My only criticism is its very noisy..walls are thin..I could hear the man coughing in the room above us all night. The doors slam as they close and the maids in the morning along the corridors were so noisy banging and chatting. .didn't pay any attention to a do not disturb sign.
Would I stay here again..if I wanted great location and somewhere to sleep at a good price definitely.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M0nkeyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
178 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

Good value hotel excellently located for the Waterfront area of Cape Town. Some of the hotel is an old prison refurbished. Rooms are small though and you need to upgrade to an executive room. Breakfast good. Service excellent, we had a lady on tour who was ill and they looked after her and her husband in an excellent manner. Would recommend especially for groups. Nightclub out the back makes noise on Friday and Saturday nights!

Room Tip: Avoid the side where the nightclub is; go for the old prison
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zetat0urs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

Thieving daylight robbery. Rooms so small can't unpack 1 medium sized suitcase. No water in rooms and vending machines don't work. Got in from Johannesburg before 10pm, and no chance of even a snack. Not close enough to walk to anyplace to buy a snack or take away! After a long day this is NOT what one would expect!

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed four nights, first week in November 2013, Family with two children. We got two rooms, probably the smallest Í´ve seen in a long time. You couldn´t open the extremely small wardrobe unless you move the chair (situated by the desk) to the small entrance! There is absolutely no space for luggage. Compared to other places we stayed in South Africa, very expensive laundry services and we had to pay to park our car inside the premises!
The best part of the hotel is the location, 5 minutes walk to the heart of the Waterfront. Very good, though expensive breakfast and great service.

Room Tip: Travel with no luggage at all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ernestix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
1.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#67 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Commodore
The Commodore
#41 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
0.2 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#28 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#54 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
0.1 mi away
The PortsWood
The PortsWood
#43 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#32 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge
Address: Portswood Road | V & A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#48 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#54 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a rich piece of history balancing modern-day comfort when you stay at this hotel right next to Cape Town's fabulous V&A Waterfront. Just a minute away from restaurants, theatres and shops, the hotel is perfectly positioned in the heart of the V&A Waterfront and 25km from Cape Town International Airport. The hotel is also near all the main routes to the beaches, mountain walks and city hotspots as well as the Cape Town International Convention Centre (CTICC) and Cape Town Stadium. The hotel is closely linked with the University of Cape Town's Graduate School of Business and features 18 conference venues, four public lounges, gym, SPA, business centre, 24-hour secure parking - 250 parking bays, airport transfers, laundry service. The hotel boasts with 191 modern environmentally conscious rooms with standard rooms, business suites and family units. All rooms are equipped with minibar fridge, free uncapped WIFI, tea/coffee facilities, air-conditioning, LCD flat screen TV, telephone and laptop-friendly electronic safes. Stonebreakers Restaurant offers a la carte & buffet menus daily in a relaxed atmosphere with magnificent views of both the V&A Waterfront and Table Mountain. A selection of alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages is available from our full service bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Breakwater Cape Town Central
Breakwater Hotel Cape Town
The Breakwater Hotel
Protea Hotel By Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing