We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge
Ranked #60 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
2 reviews
“Good holiday spot”
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

A very good room, air conditioned, cosy and comfortable. Peaceful place and well situated. No pool, which was disappointing... and breakfast was not too great. Staff is great and accommodating... I would definitely return.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Roger F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    496
    172
    54
    33
See reviews for
193
366
70
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

The facility is in a renovated prison; most of the hallways still have a prison feeling with guard walkways and skylights overhead; tho VERY nicely renovated. The room was very comfortable and clean; tho a bit small for storing my travel and camping gear (just came off of a 7-day camping safari on the Serengeti). Space was fine for me travelling alone, but could be a bit tight for 2. I'm sure the desk would have stored my camping gear had I asked. Fantastic professional staff; very willing to help.

Restaurant breakfast buffet was superb; many selections and plenty of fresh fruit. As mentioned by other reviewers; the best feature was access to the V&A waterfront for restaurants and "browsing" opportunities. Also just a few minute walk to the Robben Island ferry where Mandela spent 18 years in prison. Hop-on-Hop-off bus just across the street from the hotel (trick is to use the back entrance thru the parking lot, not the main/front entrance, so you walk out of the hotel into the aquarium and hop-on starting point.

For evening activities there are several club/restaurants on the waterfront (5-10minute walk) with music entertainment and the Jou Ma Se Comedy Club at the Pumphouse is about a 5 minute walk. So good evening entertainment.

Highly recommend the Cape Point tour with Viator with pickup at Breakwater; Cape of Good Hope, side boat trip to seal island, a penguin colony and more.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the same building as the restaurant; there is a business college in one of the bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dean r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We arrived from Australia and found that we could not check into our room. We arrived at 1.00pm and checking in time was 2.00p.m. Very annoying after a 17 hour flight. There seemed to be some problems with our credit card but it appears that it was ok the staff just needed to key in the numbers into the machine. This caused us a bit of angst.

The worst part was when there was a storm and our room was flooded. Ours was a business room. Staff were apologetic and moved us to another room. Staff did not offer to credit us the night for the inconvenience of moving rooms. I had to insist to get my husband's slippers drycleaned as they were new and soaking wet.
Location was very good and located close to the V&A waterfront. Staff are friendly. Room service could be expanded. Very limited in options. Car Parking on the grounds very good. No problems with safety and parking. My suggestion is to skip the breakfast in the hotel and go the V&A waterfront - greater options and much cheaper.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GMcGlinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Walking distance to V&A waterfront shopping. Interesting Hotel to explore as it use to be a prison. Room size is abit small but comfortable.
Coin operated washing machines makes laundry very affordable and convenient in the hotel itself.
Reception are friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 8 nights. This was the first time we had been to Cape Town and so wanted to have a hotel that was in a good location. We were so pleased we did as this Hotel is so close to the V and A Waterfront as well as the Hop on Hop off Bus tours, markets, restaurants and bars.
Yes the rooms are not big but I have stayed at many that are smaller and we really didn't stay in the room that much, who wants to when you are in the wonderful Cape Town. Great Breakfast each morning meant that we only needed dinner. This is a good hotel that we would use again and the price was reasonable but we did book this as part of a package which may have been cheaper.

Room Tip: Our room was facing a courtyard and there was no noise at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Excellent location, great value for money. Worth considering to stay when visiting Cape Town. No actual lobby bar for one to enjoy a night cap. This is the only downside. Everything else is exactly what I expected Certainly would consider staying there again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kosta_Elena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

I spent three nights in this hotel during a huge CT storm so I didn't qet to move around as much as I would have liked to - the concept of the hotel is great but I'm not sure if I would stay there again, don't really know why but here are some observations.
It shares the space with the UCT Business School and the actual prison is used more for classrooms than hotel rooms - I was given a room in the newly renovated section and I don't think this was or was meant to, resemble a prison. The room was fairly small with some dysfunctional items in it like a chaise lounge which was just in the way with two single beds on either side of the room. It definitely has the Protea look to it. The room allocated for breakfast (the same room for dinner) was far to small and finding a small table for a single person was always a challenge - helping yourself at the buffet was a struggle as it was in the same space as the only access to the far end of the room and as such you had people moving in both directions as well as trying to dish some regular breakfast onto plates that were hard to find.
Not bad, just impractical in a lot of ways.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeteF621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.1 mi away
The PortsWood
The PortsWood
#48 of 109 in Cape Town Central
737 reviews
1.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#67 of 109 in Cape Town Central
338 reviews
0.2 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#32 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,499 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Commodore
The Commodore
#45 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,239 reviews
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#53 of 109 in Cape Town Central
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge
Address: Portswood Road | V & A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#48 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#54 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balance modern comfort and and experience soaking in the rich history of Cape Town with a stay at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge. Our hotel in Cape Town, South Africa sits right next to the city's fantastic V&A Waterfront, a minute from restaurants, shops and theatres. We're perfectly poised to give you a feel for the heart of the Waterfront area, just 25 km from Cape Town International Airport. Enjoy easy access to beaches, mountains and city hotspots from our accommodations, as well as convenience getting to Cape Town International Convention Center and Cape Town Stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Breakwater Cape Town Central
Breakwater Hotel Cape Town
The Breakwater Hotel
Protea Hotel By Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing