We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge
Ranked #62 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Not just only a hotel, it was once a prison, now a place to sleep, eat, study and meet.
A lot of history, great setting, beautiful Table Mountain views, and the Business suites are great, roomy and peaceful!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NellaN27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,079)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

569 - 575 of 1,079 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

Thank goodness we only stayed in this hotel for our last night. This hotel is really terrible. The lobby is too small and very crowded and the staff are surly. Although not too much of a problem, it is broken up into three separate blocks which can be confusing. When we arrived into S.A. 11 days earlier, the welcome at our hotel in Cape Town (see my Southern Sun Cullinan review) was so welcoming that it set a positive tone for the rest of our trip. If the Breakwater lodge had been our first hotel in S.A., I am sure the tone would have been very different.

The location is good because of its proximity to the waterfront but; that is really the only upside. As a stopover hotel for one night, it is ok however; if you plan to use it for your base in Cape Town, I suggest you look elsewhere.

With two young boys and no pool it made our one night in this poor hotel even more difficult.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CaptainTuttle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

It close to the waterfront. Thats where my compliments end.
We are a bit of a four star and five star family but we are down- to earth and recognize good value for money......but this isnt 4 or 5 star it more of a tatty...very tatty 3/2 star and its not good value. Its more like somewhere to put your head down on clean sheets. I have read the other reviews and wondered if we all stayed at the same place! I guess its all down to expectations and this isnt up to expectations~ no matter how little you pay. I somehow thought a prison hotel would be delightful. But prisons arent delightful, they are miserable and book this hotel and you are staying in a cell. Be under no misunderstanding about that. We had been traveling through South Africa and had stayed earlier at the month at the Cullinan Sun hotel in Cape town. The Cullinan isnt a fabulous four star but its most charming and fun and had overwhelmed us with delightful service. This isnt charming ;its a bed factory in a prison. We had a family room in 'BLOCK A". ( seriously there are different blocks). This is a good block (comparatively) and is where the overcrowded reception area is located. A family room is clean and blandly decorated by someone who is in love with Ikea furniture. ( Ikea for those who dont know is a cheap swedish furniture chain which requires you to put everything you buy together by putting A piece of chip board into into Z peice of chip board with an Allen key). Its best feature is that when you open the main door from the prison corridor there are two small rooms in front of you . One had a two single beds and one had a double bed. You can walk around the double bed ( just). Its tight~ but if you are not overweight you should be able to manage it. Finding somewhere to put your luggage, however, will be challenging. Ditto the other twin bedded room. There is a small shared bathroom with a shower ( no bath) and a separate toilet. Every inch is allocated so with our several suitcases we definitely wished we had all taken some pole vaulting classes as there was no floor space left to walk. None -the- less it was clean and the beds were comfortable. The reception area was small and very crowded and understaffed. I was especially irritated that whenever I finally made it to the front of the queue, the receptionist would pick up the continually ringing phone. The reception area was a circus. There were additional staff positioned in an area not much bigger than my home bathroom to try and help you before you got in from of the rather exasperated and overworked receptionists, but it was awful anyway you tell it. The restaurant was also decorated cheaply and by someone in love with Ikea. It looked a bit like my school canteen just with darker lighting and some cheap green tablecloths. The food was cold, and took soooooooooo much time to arrive. The kitchen seemed to be on the other side of the campus and food arrived covered in cling wrap ( glad wrap if you are Australian) in an effort to keep it warm from the obviously long journey it had endured from the microwave on the other side of town. The breakfast buffet was okay but cold - so very very cold. Cold bacon isnt nice. I am not talking tepid - I mean cold and the hotel was full ~so no excuses. Oh and did I mention you are staying in a university as well as a prison? To get to the breakfast restaurant - with its very stained carpet ~ you have to walk along concrete corridors and past lecture rooms and notice boards filled with academic trivia for those who just failed their year 3 studies in chemistry or some other subject equally irrelevant to your vacation. In short I cant recommend you stay. Did I tell you about the pool? No! I didnt because it doesn't have one. You can do better~ you can do sooooooooo much better. BUT we did stay at the Protea in Knysna and that is very nice - like chalk and cheese to his hotel ...so dont be put off by the name Protea.! Just dont stay at this one.

Room Tip: dont stay in a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CarolineJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

in an excellent position- walking distance to Waterfront for shops and restaurants; easy access to the rest of the city. lovely mountain views. very comfortable. welcoming and friendly staff. rooms are comfortable, with noise level varying depending on position.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jozijax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

The best thing about this hotel is its location at the V&A Waterfront and how easy it is to get everything you need in a walking distance. The room we booked - the family room - was a little bit smaller than the others. All the staff is really kind and helpful, the hotel offers tours for those who are interested and have a very nice breakfast. The worst thing about the hotel is the internet: slow and offline most part of some days - this really needs to be improved for those who are traveling for some kind of business. The restaurant does not have many vegan options - as much as Cape Town - but you will figure it out. We enjoyed our stay and recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jhessica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel for the price. Spacious rooms very clean, fridge always full. Stuff was very helpful and friendly. Within walking distsnce from harbour and stadiums. Short drive from Table Mountain, Lions Head and airport.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank wogla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

A very good room, air conditioned, cosy and comfortable. Peaceful place and well situated. No pool, which was disappointing... and breakfast was not too great. Staff is great and accommodating... I would definitely return.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Roger F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#74 of 112 in Cape Town Central
369 reviews
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#57 of 112 in Cape Town Central
667 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#23 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,825 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#43 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,394 reviews
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#58 of 112 in Cape Town Central
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge

Address: Portswood Road | V & A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#47 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#53 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £97 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balance modern comfort and and experience soaking in the rich history of Cape Town with a stay at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge. Our hotel in Cape Town, South Africa sits right next to the city's fantastic V&A Waterfront, a minute from restaurants, shops and theatres. We're perfectly poised to give you a feel for the heart of the Waterfront area, just 25 km from Cape Town International Airport. Enjoy easy access to beaches, mountains and city hotspots from our accommodations, as well as convenience getting to Cape Town International Convention Center and Cape Town Stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Breakwater Cape Town Central
Breakwater Hotel Cape Town
The Breakwater Hotel
Protea Hotel By Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing