We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refreshing change from the normal hotel chain”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge
Ranked #59 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Herts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Refreshing change from the normal hotel chain”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I moved here to save some money over the weekend at the end of a business trip. What a great move! Half the price of the waterfront hotel I had stayed in for my business meetings etc. and so full of character.

The hotel is in the old prison, that I knew in advance, so was expecting it to be a little quirky. What I had not realised was it was also a university campus, and felt very much like going back to college.

The rooms are simple but clean, well designed and comfortable. The staff were generally helpful - but don't rely on them to get you a taxi in a hurry, better to walk to the taxi rank down at the waterfront. The highlight was when I left my phone in a cab and the staff managed to track the driver down from my receipt and persuade him to come and give it back (for a small reward of course!) - excellent service.

The cafe/restaurant was basic but more than ok for breakfast - just what you would expect in a university canteen. And given the number of top quality alternatives a stone's throw away you don't need anything more.

I never got around to using the spa, too busy (lazy?) but was told it was a reasonable facility by others who stayed there.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveljunkie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    482
    166
    51
    31
See reviews for
181
359
69
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed over New Years, and while you expect the price to be a bit higher over the high season, it was a bit much for what you get. Good spot, close to the V & A if you are willing to pay for it.the service was good, however breakfast was average.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night. The location is great! However we found the rooms to be quite small and basic for the amount we paid! the bathroom did not smell clean and the shower drain was blocked. After having complained about that, they did not even bother to offer us a different room.They also charged us for parking in the hotel premises. Too basic and too overpriced.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosy083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
58 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Not just only a hotel, it was once a prison, now a place to sleep, eat, study and meet.
A lot of history, great setting, beautiful Table Mountain views, and the Business suites are great, roomy and peaceful!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NellaN27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Thank goodness we only stayed in this hotel for our last night. This hotel is really terrible. The lobby is too small and very crowded and the staff are surly. Although not too much of a problem, it is broken up into three separate blocks which can be confusing. When we arrived into S.A. 11 days earlier, the welcome at our hotel in Cape Town (see my Southern Sun Cullinan review) was so welcoming that it set a positive tone for the rest of our trip. If the Breakwater lodge had been our first hotel in S.A., I am sure the tone would have been very different.

The location is good because of its proximity to the waterfront but; that is really the only upside. As a stopover hotel for one night, it is ok however; if you plan to use it for your base in Cape Town, I suggest you look elsewhere.

With two young boys and no pool it made our one night in this poor hotel even more difficult.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaptainTuttle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

It close to the waterfront. Thats where my compliments end.
We are a bit of a four star and five star family but we are down- to earth and recognize good value for money......but this isnt 4 or 5 star it more of a tatty...very tatty 3/2 star and its not good value. Its more like somewhere to put your head down on clean sheets. I have read the other reviews and wondered if we all stayed at the same place! I guess its all down to expectations and this isnt up to expectations~ no matter how little you pay. I somehow thought a prison hotel would be delightful. But prisons arent delightful, they are miserable and book this hotel and you are staying in a cell. Be under no misunderstanding about that. We had been traveling through South Africa and had stayed earlier at the month at the Cullinan Sun hotel in Cape town. The Cullinan isnt a fabulous four star but its most charming and fun and had overwhelmed us with delightful service. This isnt charming ;its a bed factory in a prison. We had a family room in 'BLOCK A". ( seriously there are different blocks). This is a good block (comparatively) and is where the overcrowded reception area is located. A family room is clean and blandly decorated by someone who is in love with Ikea furniture. ( Ikea for those who dont know is a cheap swedish furniture chain which requires you to put everything you buy together by putting A piece of chip board into into Z peice of chip board with an Allen key). Its best feature is that when you open the main door from the prison corridor there are two small rooms in front of you . One had a two single beds and one had a double bed. You can walk around the double bed ( just). Its tight~ but if you are not overweight you should be able to manage it. Finding somewhere to put your luggage, however, will be challenging. Ditto the other twin bedded room. There is a small shared bathroom with a shower ( no bath) and a separate toilet. Every inch is allocated so with our several suitcases we definitely wished we had all taken some pole vaulting classes as there was no floor space left to walk. None -the- less it was clean and the beds were comfortable. The reception area was small and very crowded and understaffed. I was especially irritated that whenever I finally made it to the front of the queue, the receptionist would pick up the continually ringing phone. The reception area was a circus. There were additional staff positioned in an area not much bigger than my home bathroom to try and help you before you got in from of the rather exasperated and overworked receptionists, but it was awful anyway you tell it. The restaurant was also decorated cheaply and by someone in love with Ikea. It looked a bit like my school canteen just with darker lighting and some cheap green tablecloths. The food was cold, and took soooooooooo much time to arrive. The kitchen seemed to be on the other side of the campus and food arrived covered in cling wrap ( glad wrap if you are Australian) in an effort to keep it warm from the obviously long journey it had endured from the microwave on the other side of town. The breakfast buffet was okay but cold - so very very cold. Cold bacon isnt nice. I am not talking tepid - I mean cold and the hotel was full ~so no excuses. Oh and did I mention you are staying in a university as well as a prison? To get to the breakfast restaurant - with its very stained carpet ~ you have to walk along concrete corridors and past lecture rooms and notice boards filled with academic trivia for those who just failed their year 3 studies in chemistry or some other subject equally irrelevant to your vacation. In short I cant recommend you stay. Did I tell you about the pool? No! I didnt because it doesn't have one. You can do better~ you can do sooooooooo much better. BUT we did stay at the Protea in Knysna and that is very nice - like chalk and cheese to his hotel ...so dont be put off by the name Protea.! Just dont stay at this one.

Room Tip: dont stay in a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CarolineJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

in an excellent position- walking distance to Waterfront for shops and restaurants; easy access to the rest of the city. lovely mountain views. very comfortable. welcoming and friendly staff. rooms are comfortable, with noise level varying depending on position.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jozijax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
1.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#66 of 109 in Cape Town Central
326 reviews
0.2 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#26 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,490 reviews
0.1 mi away
The PortsWood
The PortsWood
#45 of 109 in Cape Town Central
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#55 of 109 in Cape Town Central
602 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Commodore
The Commodore
#43 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,207 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge
Address: Portswood Road | V & A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#48 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#54 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balance modern comfort and and experience soaking in the rich history of Cape Town with a stay at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge. Our hotel in Cape Town, South Africa sits right next to the city's fantastic V&A Waterfront, a minute from restaurants, shops and theatres. We're perfectly poised to give you a feel for the heart of the Waterfront area, just 25 km from Cape Town International Airport. Enjoy easy access to beaches, mountains and city hotspots from our accommodations, as well as convenience getting to Cape Town International Convention Center and Cape Town Stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Breakwater Cape Town Central
Breakwater Hotel Cape Town
The Breakwater Hotel
Protea Hotel By Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing