We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just what we were looking for”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Brenwin Guest House
Ranked #70 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Just what we were looking for”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012

We stayed at this hotel during the 2010 worldcup and it was perfect for us, we walked five minutes to the matches, there was good food real close,the shopping area was right down the street, the hotel itself was clean, quite,comfortable, just a great place to stay the owners who were German were very lovely people and very helpful! when we return to Capetown we will also return to the Brenwin a overall great experiance!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thorough-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    56
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
28
47
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights in October 2012 and found it very convenient. Situated in Green Point, a safe 15 minute walk to V & A Waterfront(wouldn't want to walk it in the dark). The room was spacious and clean, and breakfast well presented . Staff very helpful but other than the security guard there is no-one around after 6.30p.m, although they are contactable by phone.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 395lynM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

We stayed at the Brenwin for Five nights at the beginning of July 2012. Our first room was very spacious with furniture to match the period of this old Port Captains House, very nice but with small but adequate shower room. Our Daughter and her Partner arrived the following day and we then moved to a room next to theirs, again this was very spacious with a modern shower room that was bigger than our bedroom at home :).
The living room area was very comfortable and the breakfast room very appealling with a hearty breakfast to match - obviously it wasn't the right time of year to use the pool but it did look very inviting, all in all we had a lovely stay and thanks to Hank the very laid back and friendly host for being so helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ernyruff2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montrose, Colorado
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

Good access to the things you want to see. The front room I stayed in was large and comfortable. The house used to be the Capetown port Captain's house. The owners are friendly, and most helpful with directions and suggestions. There is a security guard on the property all night so a car is safe. Particularly good place if you're self driving. Easy in and out of the city.

Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

I stayed for 3 nights in Brenwin Guest House and it was really nice! The room was big and comfortable with big windows!
The breakfast was very good and staff was really helpful and friendly.

The hotel is in Green Point, which is a great location in Cape Town.I went by car and it was very easy to find..
I definetely recommend!

Room Tip: I stayed in the Select Room, which is a bit more expensive and was really good. My friends stayed on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla_Tanaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baunatal, Hessen, Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

My family and I have been there on a number of occasions the last time over the Easter period.
For us the guesthouse is situated very nicely for e.g. close to the Waterfront and also other
beautiful spots in the city. The rooms are well-equipped and comfortable. The breakfast has a lovely choice of continental and full hearty breakfast. And Kelly has always given us good tips
to go...The staff is very pleasant and helpful. We would recommend this guesthouse to anyone staying in CT.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

V friendly staff and great location. Breakfast was basic with no finesse.. Ie poached eggs are done in an egg poacher not hand dolloped into a swirling pool of vinegary water. Am I a ponce? Possibly but it felt a bit of a function rather than a service.

Room 6 felt like it had been put together rather than a proper bedroom - we had a peak at the others and they were far better. V enjoyable stay but room and brekky could be better.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrchris11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.0 mi away
Port View House
Port View House
#93 of 156 in Cape Town Central
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.2 mi away
4 On Varneys
4 On Varneys
#41 of 156 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wilton Manor Guest House
Wilton Manor Guest House
#27 of 156 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Avatara Guest House
Avatara Guest House
#75 of 156 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cape Finest Guesthouse
Cape Finest Guesthouse
#37 of 156 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oxford House
Oxford House
#10 of 125 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brenwin Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brenwin Guest House

Property: Brenwin Guest House
Address: P.O.Box 654 | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8051, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Brenwin Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Brenwin Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brenwin Hotel Cape Town
Brenwin Guest House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing