We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A haven in the heart of CT”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Brenwin Guest House
Ranked #73 of 155 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A haven in the heart of CT”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Before we arrived I had been emailing back and forth with the owners as they were trying to get us the most comfortable rooms, you can't get that from many hotels. Our room was comfy with an extra bit of room attached and access to a shared courtyard. The breakfast was really nice and the location bang in the centre of Green Point but with so many palm trees and no noise, you could be in the middle of nowhere. Parking can be a bit tricky as it is street parking in a residential area but even though some nights we were a bit further away, we had no issues. Our bathroom also had a slidey door which never quite closed properly so maybe not ideal for honeymooners.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clareyfaery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    56
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
28
47
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
Level Contributor
311 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

I stayed for six nights in the Poolside Room (#14) - en suite double bed and open plan lounge/kitchen with a large bathroom that includes separate shower stall and tub. The room was spacious, well appointed and the kitchen suited my travel style perfectly – I prefer to dine in rather than dine out alone. The room was well appointed, bright and clean. There is no A/C but it is not necessary as the provided floor fan was adequate when the Cape Town breeze took a break. The room has two TV sets. The channel selection leaves much to be desired – and of those available many did not come in clearly – likely due to satellite TV service and the Cape winds rocking the receiver dish.

The pool and surroundings are not large, but more than adequate. The landscaping makes for an very inviting area to lounge or sunbathe. As others have mentioned, I too wish this was a non-smoking property – smoking is only allowed outside. But with open windows the smoke finds its way to your nose.

The daily buffet breakfast with cooked to order eggs was fairly extensive and the service prompt and most friendly. Adjoining the breakfast room is a large lounge with newspapers and plenty of seating.

There is a Woolworth food store at the bottom of the hill with a nice selection fresh and refrigerated items for meals. I particular liked the Asian style noodle or rice bowls with prawns, chicken or beef.

Several reviewers have commented on Pam – the daytime manager. She is exceptional in many ways and has a personality perfect for dealing with a wide variety of guests and their likes/dislikes. I only met Henk at the end of my stay.

I would certainly return to the Brenwin Guest House in the future and would recommend it to others without qualification.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LostLen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kampala, Uganda
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We chanced on this place and made a last minute booking. However we were not disappointed. Its a superb place. Very clean and very wonderful staff. The meals we prepared in time and very nice. There was always a cab to take us everywhere we went promptly

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SUSAN N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luanda, Angola
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed in one of the apartments for a few nights with our two children. The apartment was clean and spacious. The breakfast was very good in a lovely breakfast room and the owner was very helpful. The apartment lacks some of the charm of the rest of the guest house but it is spacious and practical. The guest house is very well located, just a short walk from the V and A Waterfront.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilene O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Stayed at the Brenwin guest house May 2013 for a week with my partner and our daughter.
Staff were very helpful. Especially since the room we'd booked had a burst pipe, so we were unavailable to sleep in, they let us use the kitchen facilities in the apartment we'd booked as well as the room above it to sleep in.
5 minute walk to some good pubs/restaurants.
20 minute walk to the V&A - Not hard to find either straight road down to waterfront.

Lots to do and see in Cape town. Especially loved table top mountain. Spectacular views!

Our visit was to see my partner after 3 months deployment - his R 'n' R happened to be in Cape Town. Never even thought to holiday there - but, we loved it.

Made all the better by great staff at the Brenwin.
Thank you

Room Tip: both the rooms we had access to were clean, and presented lovely. Poolside apartment & Queen sel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We found Brenwin just by chance while we were trying to book at another guest house which was full and then referred us to Brenwin. It is a lovely place, very clean with nice furnishings. We walked a lot as it is right in the centre of CT and we didnt need to take taxis all the time. The V&A Waterfront and city centre are just a 5 minute walk.

Our only regret was that we were in Cape Town in June which was the middle of winter in Southern Africa, so on some days it was raining and windy. We had a spacious room with high ceilings so the heater didnt give much effect. The history of the GH is also interesting as we found out. Overall, it was good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kutloano L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coupeville, Washington
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

I stayed here for several nights on my first trip to Cape Town. When I booked the room, I was not aware that this was a historic Port Captain's home so was pleasantly charmed and surprised. There was a special on room prices when I was there so I felt it was a very good value for the money. It is definitely an old structure but well maintained and clean. The room was well appointed and comfortable, the bed was very comfortable. It is a very great location for walking to the waterfront, downtown, etc. There are beautiful gardens and a small pool - places to sit outside and relax. My only complaint is that smoking is allowed outside so if you have your windows open and someone is sitting in the courtyard smoking - the smoke comes right it the windows. It would have been more perfect if there was no smoking allowed on the property at all. The breakfast room and lounge are lovely, the breakfast buffet had a good selection of cold foods and cereals, and you could also order a hot cooked breakfast which was excellent. The breakfast staff was efficient, friendly and courteous. Henk, in the office, gets his own 5 stars for being courteous and helpful. Thank you, Henk. I found the owner to be a bit surly but he is not around much. The manager was also very courteous and helpful, she gets 5 stars too - but most of my dealings were with Henk. I would stay there again - it is charming and such a great location!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deborah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.1 mi away
Cape Diem Lodge
Cape Diem Lodge
#37 of 155 in Cape Town Central
233 reviews
0.0 mi away
Port View House
Port View House
#90 of 155 in Cape Town Central
80 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jambo Guest House
Jambo Guest House
#55 of 155 in Cape Town Central
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cheviot Place Guest House
Cheviot Place Guest House
#30 of 155 in Cape Town Central
134 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avatara Guest House
Avatara Guest House
#71 of 155 in Cape Town Central
64 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wilton Manor Guest House
Wilton Manor Guest House
#29 of 155 in Cape Town Central
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brenwin Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brenwin Guest House

Property: Brenwin Guest House
Address: P.O.Box 654 | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8051, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Brenwin Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Brenwin Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brenwin Hotel Cape Town
Brenwin Guest House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing