We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Brenwin Guest House
Ranked #70 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Staff were very accommodating even before arrival by answering email queries promptly and in a friendly helpful manner. Our 3 day stay was pleasant and comfortable. The room and bathroom were cleaned regularly however the only 2 drawbacks were the bathroom door not closing completely and the safe made a regular beeping noise which was annoying. The breakfast was lovely with a wide selection of both continental and hot breakfast available to order. Throughout our stay staff were friendly and assisted us when we required help such as finding restaurants and ordering taxis. Would stay again!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank SuzyMax94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    56
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
28
47
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

The best things about Brenwin are the staff and the location. The staff were incredibly helpful, responsive and available for all sorts of things, from fixing the electricity short in my room to helping me figure out how to set the GPS to get me to the Cape of Good Hope. And talking to the breakfast cooks and servers was a lovely way to start the day. The location is great too - tucked away in a residential neighborhood; close to the Waterfront without being too close and an easy drive to downtown. There are a bunch of good restaurants nearby and the Victoria Wharf mall, with Woolworth's and Pick N Pay is walking distance as well.

Room Tip: Rooms 9 and 10 are the least expensive and it's clear they are a bit smaller, older and more dat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shoeflypie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Cute little quiet place, very conveniently located for walking to restaurants and the Waterfront. Staff were kind and helpful. Delicious breakfast! Lots of fluffy pillows, very cozy. Enjoy your stay!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KMG414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Before we arrived I had been emailing back and forth with the owners as they were trying to get us the most comfortable rooms, you can't get that from many hotels. Our room was comfy with an extra bit of room attached and access to a shared courtyard. The breakfast was really nice and the location bang in the centre of Green Point but with so many palm trees and no noise, you could be in the middle of nowhere. Parking can be a bit tricky as it is street parking in a residential area but even though some nights we were a bit further away, we had no issues. Our bathroom also had a slidey door which never quite closed properly so maybe not ideal for honeymooners.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clareyfaery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern California
Level Contributor
299 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

I stayed for six nights in the Poolside Room (#14) - en suite double bed and open plan lounge/kitchen with a large bathroom that includes separate shower stall and tub. The room was spacious, well appointed and the kitchen suited my travel style perfectly – I prefer to dine in rather than dine out alone. The room was well appointed, bright and clean. There is no A/C but it is not necessary as the provided floor fan was adequate when the Cape Town breeze took a break. The room has two TV sets. The channel selection leaves much to be desired – and of those available many did not come in clearly – likely due to satellite TV service and the Cape winds rocking the receiver dish.

The pool and surroundings are not large, but more than adequate. The landscaping makes for an very inviting area to lounge or sunbathe. As others have mentioned, I too wish this was a non-smoking property – smoking is only allowed outside. But with open windows the smoke finds its way to your nose.

The daily buffet breakfast with cooked to order eggs was fairly extensive and the service prompt and most friendly. Adjoining the breakfast room is a large lounge with newspapers and plenty of seating.

There is a Woolworth food store at the bottom of the hill with a nice selection fresh and refrigerated items for meals. I particular liked the Asian style noodle or rice bowls with prawns, chicken or beef.

Several reviewers have commented on Pam – the daytime manager. She is exceptional in many ways and has a personality perfect for dealing with a wide variety of guests and their likes/dislikes. I only met Henk at the end of my stay.

I would certainly return to the Brenwin Guest House in the future and would recommend it to others without qualification.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LostLen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kampala, Uganda
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

We chanced on this place and made a last minute booking. However we were not disappointed. Its a superb place. Very clean and very wonderful staff. The meals we prepared in time and very nice. There was always a cab to take us everywhere we went promptly

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SUSAN N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luanda, Angola
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed in one of the apartments for a few nights with our two children. The apartment was clean and spacious. The breakfast was very good in a lovely breakfast room and the owner was very helpful. The apartment lacks some of the charm of the rest of the guest house but it is spacious and practical. The guest house is very well located, just a short walk from the V and A Waterfront.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilene O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.0 mi away
Port View House
Port View House
#93 of 156 in Cape Town Central
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.2 mi away
4 On Varneys
4 On Varneys
#35 of 156 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wilton Manor Guest House
Wilton Manor Guest House
#29 of 156 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Avatara Guest House
Avatara Guest House
#76 of 156 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cape Finest Guesthouse
Cape Finest Guesthouse
#38 of 156 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oxford House
Oxford House
#10 of 125 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brenwin Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brenwin Guest House

Property: Brenwin Guest House
Address: P.O.Box 654 | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8051, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Brenwin Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Brenwin Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brenwin Hotel Cape Town
Brenwin Guest House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing