We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Brenwin Guest House
Ranked #75 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2010

We stayed at Brenwin for 4 nights during the World Cup and found it met our needs perfectly. The staff is as friendly and helpful as they could possibly be, right from the first greeting until you leave. The place is clean and has great character. The breakfast was outstanding, especially the omelettes, but there is also a good variety of fruit and breads. We stayed in one of the apartments located in a separate building. The apartment was modern, clean and very comfortable - the one negative was that you had to go through a separate locked door to get in and out. As there were 3 of us and one set of keys it required some logistical planning at times. The location is outstanding and could not have been better for the WC, right off Main Road walking distance to the Stadium. There are plenty of great restaurants and bars right in Green Point but the V&A Waterfront and downtown are also very accessible by foot. When I return to Cape Town this is the place I'll call.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cantjumpBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2010

Have just returned from Brenwin after staying there for 2 weeks watching the World Cup. We booked this last July and we dropped lucky! 10 minutes from the stadium and 15 from the V & A Waterfront. Clean rooms and a good breakfast. Evelyn, Pam and Kelly, Cheers!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bullocksmba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2010

Stayed here during the World Cup and it was ideal. Very close to Green Point Stadium. Numerous good food and drink options right around the corner. Owners are very cordial and helpful. Lovely classic home and cared-for property. Solid breakfast. We stayed in an apt that was not particularly attractive but was quite functional and worked out fine. Room rates are a bit expensive but a very nice choice if it fits within your budget.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gnocchi_sorrentina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2010

Just returned from South Africa and from a pleasant stay at Brenwin Guest House.
The location is excellent, as the Waterfront is only a short walk away (no problems walking home after dark).
Our room (Nr. 1) was fantastic, spacious, with old furniture.
Very good breakfast (with real bread!), very nice and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swiss6659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2010

This was the first place that we stayed on our 3 week visit to South Africa.

The B&B is perfect for a short stay. The location is excellent and is an easy walk to the V&A, Downtown and the new football stadium. The owner advised a taxi back after dark, but we walked every day and had no problems, just watch out for the potential for a hit and run on the pedestrian crossings. cape town drivers take no prisoners!

The breakfast was excellent and you could order anything you wanted if you were prepared for it to be cooked fresh. some English guests who were there at the same time as us had an early start to watch the test match and had to miss out on a cooked breakfast, much to thier disgust!

The property has a nice BarBQ area, pool and guest lounge with LCD TV and also offers free WiFi that you have to ask for a password for, non of which we used. The staff are happy to sell you beer from the fridge, but it's much cheaper to pop down the Spar shop and bring it back. They don't have any problem with you doing that either, they will even provide you with a glass!

The only two down sides to the Brenwin are the hill from the waterfront (only about 100m, but very steep) this would make the Brenwin difficult for the elderly or disabled, also the steep steps from the road to the reception and up into the house, do not seem to have a disabled bypass. This generally seems to be the norm in SA, they havn't really come on board with needs for the disabled in smaller establishments.

The other down side is the slightly tired appearance of the rooms. we stayed in one of 4 rooms at the back of the property, built into a cliff. The room, although clean and tidy, was in need of re-decoration and some new tiles in the bathroom. Our travelling companions had a larger room in the main property, this seemed in much better condition.

In summary, a great little B&B for a couple of nights or as a base to watch the football later in the year, but don't expect 5* luxury.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark&Nic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2010

The location of the Brenwin has good and bad points. It is very close to everything you need from bars to shops. The Victoria and Alfred is only 15 minutes walk away, although a taxi is recommended. The location is at the top of a 200 yard steep incline so will not suit the old. It is certainly unsuitable for disabled travellers.
If you are neither old or disabled the Brenwin has so very much to offer. The most friendly staff I have ever dealt with. They will do anything for you with pleasure. They offer an extremely relaxing atmosphere. Uwe the owner of the property allowed us and our friends from another hotel to use the communal BBQ area and it was one of our best evenings. Uwe supplied everything we needed with just 15 minutes notice. Even cold beer at a reasonable price (12 rand a bottle.) We just supplied the food and coal.
The pool is small but plenty good enough for a cooling dip. it also provides an ample sun terrace.
Finally thank you to Evelyn who made sure we had a lovely breakfast every morning. Breakfast is very comprehensive and of good quality. I loved the place. Oh and thanks also to Kelly who was so helpful and laid back.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2010

The rooms are rather old fashioned, and the superior rooms are certainly worth the extra money. Good breakfast, but get there early, as the tasty things run out and don’t get replaced. The situation is great - just a 15 minute walk to the V & A waterfront and about the same to the new football stadium. There is street parking only, and this is patrolled by the night guard who looks after the property when the owners go home in the evening.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oakroyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
0.2 mi away
4 On Varneys
4 On Varneys
#32 of 156 in Cape Town Central
150 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wilton Manor Guest House
Wilton Manor Guest House
#34 of 156 in Cape Town Central
276 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harpers House
Harpers House
#89 of 952 in Cape Town
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Oxford House
Oxford House
#6 of 128 in Cape Town Central
576 reviews
0.0 mi away
Port View House
Port View House
#92 of 156 in Cape Town Central
89 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Backpackers in Green Point
The Backpackers in Green Point
#1 of 128 in Cape Town Central
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brenwin Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brenwin Guest House

Address: P.O.Box 654 | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8051, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £68 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brenwin Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and HotelsClick so you can book your Brenwin Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brenwin Hotel Cape Town
Brenwin Guest House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing