We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Brenwin Guest House
Ranked #76 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 February 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Brenwin for 6 nights from 7 February. Although we arrived from the UK well before check in time nothing was too much trouble and this continued throughout our 6 night stay. With lots of choice for breakfast this was enough to set us up for our days of exploring.

Tours were recommended to us as this was our first visit to Cape Town and booked for us by very helpful and friendly staff. If you are looking for somewhere relaxed and friendly to stay look no further than the Brenwin. Hopefully we will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clutterbuck145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2011

The Brenwin Guest House has a very European feel. I believe the proprietors are German and many of the guest were as well. The terrace where breakfast can be eaten is delightful. There is security in the streets around Greenport until 11:00 at night. We never had a problem around our guest house during this time period. Although the neighborhood is upscale, it took four different keys to get to our room.

It is a few minutes walk from Oceanside, a huge shopping and entertainment complex and we were able to catch and really great Bike Tour at the bottom of the street. You would not need to rent a car, but just catch an occasional cab to the further big attractions. Cabs were no problem, but you had to be very vigilant everywhere. My daughter's purse was pick pocketed at a market and grabbed another time off a restaurant table. (She was able to grab it back.)

As always when we travel, we try to leave our clothing for the poor. It makes unpacking easier and room for souvenirs in the suitcase, Brenwin Guest House were happy to offer these items to their help, who know where to take them.

We had a blast on our vacation and really enjoyed hiking all the peaks nearby. Most people visit the famous Table Mountain, but I highly recommend hiking Devil's Peak, which was most gorgeous trail I have ever been on.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank exactowife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2010

We stayed here with a group of friends (15 people!) for three nights. We were warmly welcomed since our first minute. Our room was one of the best, but everyone enjoyed its one. Very beautiful garden and nice swimming pool. Great breakfast with a valuable service.
There's no parking inside, but we found easily place outside, even with three big cars every night. Surroundings seemed very quiet.
Pam was so kind with us and she gave us good suggestions for shopping.
If I'll come back I'll return here.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefano F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2010

We stayed at Brenwin for 4 nights during the World Cup and found it met our needs perfectly. The staff is as friendly and helpful as they could possibly be, right from the first greeting until you leave. The place is clean and has great character. The breakfast was outstanding, especially the omelettes, but there is also a good variety of fruit and breads. We stayed in one of the apartments located in a separate building. The apartment was modern, clean and very comfortable - the one negative was that you had to go through a separate locked door to get in and out. As there were 3 of us and one set of keys it required some logistical planning at times. The location is outstanding and could not have been better for the WC, right off Main Road walking distance to the Stadium. There are plenty of great restaurants and bars right in Green Point but the V&A Waterfront and downtown are also very accessible by foot. When I return to Cape Town this is the place I'll call.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cantjumpBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2010

Have just returned from Brenwin after staying there for 2 weeks watching the World Cup. We booked this last July and we dropped lucky! 10 minutes from the stadium and 15 from the V & A Waterfront. Clean rooms and a good breakfast. Evelyn, Pam and Kelly, Cheers!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bullocksmba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2010

Stayed here during the World Cup and it was ideal. Very close to Green Point Stadium. Numerous good food and drink options right around the corner. Owners are very cordial and helpful. Lovely classic home and cared-for property. Solid breakfast. We stayed in an apt that was not particularly attractive but was quite functional and worked out fine. Room rates are a bit expensive but a very nice choice if it fits within your budget.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gnocchi_sorrentina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2010

Just returned from South Africa and from a pleasant stay at Brenwin Guest House.
The location is excellent, as the Waterfront is only a short walk away (no problems walking home after dark).
Our room (Nr. 1) was fantastic, spacious, with old furniture.
Very good breakfast (with real bread!), very nice and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swiss6659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#62 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,057 reviews
0.2 mi away
4 On Varneys
4 On Varneys
#35 of 156 in Cape Town Central
157 reviews
1 mi away
Mountview Spa and Guest House
Mountview Spa and Guest House
#58 of 156 in Cape Town Central
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Leeuwenzee Guest House
Leeuwenzee Guest House
#48 of 156 in Cape Town Central
97 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bluegum Hill Guest House and Apartments
Bluegum Hill Guest House and Apa...
#8 of 156 in Cape Town Central
278 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Blue House Guesthouse
The Blue House Guesthouse
#44 of 156 in Cape Town Central
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brenwin Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brenwin Guest House

Address: P.O.Box 654 | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8051, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £66 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brenwin Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and HotelsClick so you can book your Brenwin Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brenwin Hotel Cape Town
Brenwin Guest House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing