We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront
Nearby Hotels
US$219
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$208
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$135
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Taj Cape Town(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Commodore(Cape Town Central)
US$221
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$145
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Victoria & Alfred Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$275
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blackheath Lodge(Cape Town Central)
US$210
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Table Bay Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$360
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$348
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$846
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$484
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cape Grace(Cape Town Central)
US$627
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$485
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (509)
Filter reviews
509 results
Traveller rating
115
264
98
20
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
115
264
98
20
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationtravel deskwalking distanceconstruction worknon smoking roomminute walkclose proximityfree wifibusiness tripwater frontstar hotelbuffet breakfastpleasant stayeasy accesscomfortable roomssecure parkingrobben island
Filter
Updating list...
315 - 320 of 509 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2013

The City Lodge was our base for four nights in Cape Town and we were very pleased with this hotel. It offers the perfect location, within an easy 10 minute walk to epicenter of the V&A Waterfront complex of shops. Our room and bed were comfortable, everything is well-maintained, the front desk staff was professional and the buffet breakfast (with made to order omelettes) was superb. No pool (just a jacuzzi) but everything else was very satisfactory.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2013

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We hope to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Stayed here with my sons when we were looking at schools in CT. Well located and reasonably priced. Decent sized room, but TV was tiny and the is no room service. You can tray-in from the restaurant where prices are reasonable or access fast-food via Mr Delivery.. But it's not the same. The hotel 'does the job' - good for a business traveller on a budget who just needs a place to lay his head.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank BloDaJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2013

Thanks for your comments - we are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

I stayed in April 2013 for a weekend getaway on the end of a business trip. The hotel was great for holidaying (easy walking distance or short boat or taxi ride to the V&A Waterfront) and work (good sized desk in room, free 20 mins of internet a day, then charged directly to your credit card.) The rooms are clean and comfortable and the shower was good. The staff are kind and helpful, and allowed me to print my boarding cards for free, as well as arranging a late night pickup from the airport on arrival. And the takeaway muffin on check out is a nice touch!

Top tips: 1) take a taxi back from the waterfront at night (there are security guards along the route but some lonely sections and why risk the chance of being mugged?). 2) When purchasing internet access for a few days, unless you want to stream a substantial amount of video, its cheaper to buy access by data size (ie 1 gig) rather than an unlimited per day rate. 3) The "quick breakfast" is less expensive than the full buffet, but still includes bacon and eggs, so you won't go hungry.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelfundi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2013

Thank you for your review - we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

As previous reviewers have indicated very clearly - this hotel is an EXCELLENT choice, especially for business people needing to be fairly centrally located, with close proximity to N1 & N2 and who are not wanting to pay the high rates some hotels in the CBD/Waterfront area charge. The same would apply to folks holidaying in Cape Town and not wanting to spend a fortune on accommodation. Public transport and taxi services are easily accessible too, as is the fabulous Cape Town Sightseeing "red bus" - which stops very nearby. The rooms are well thought out and equipped. Breakfasts provide a wide range of options in buffet style and VERY good coffee. There is a late night coffee shop with light meals, located adjacent to the bar and an all hours fast food delivery service available too. We found all the staff very courteous and helpful, from front desk & tourist cubicle through to cleaning and food services. Just a pity that wi-fi is not freely available. This is obviously a well managed hotel and certainly a credit to the City Lodge group. We were so very pleased we made this choice!

Room Tip: We requested a quiet non-smoking room and we got one!
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trish G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2013

Thank you so much for your extensive review of our hotel - hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We stayed here for a second year in row to take part in the Cape Argus Cycle Tour. The hotel is smack bang in the middle between the start and the finish line. The hotel is very accommodating for the cyclists with an early breakfast on the day of the race and allowing cycles in the room. “Sweat and Gears” are stationed in the parking lot and is ready to service your bike and last minute repairs and parts. The whole package, including the pricing for the accommodation is well worth it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HendrikDuToit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

Thank you for your comments - we hope to see you again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews