We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront
Nearby Hotels
Cape Heritage Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$360
US$256
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Protea Hotel Cape Town Victoria Junction(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Blackheath Lodge(Cape Town Central)
US$225
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$165
US$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Protea Hotel Cape Town Sea Point(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cape Grace(Cape Town Central)
US$709
US$670
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
One&Only Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
US$864
US$768
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$285
US$266
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$150
US$115
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Table Bay Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$400
US$343
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (507)
Filter reviews
507 results
Traveller rating
114
263
98
20
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
114
263
98
20
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationtravel deskwalking distanceconstruction worknon smoking roomminute walkclose proximityfree wifibusiness tripwater frontstar hotelbuffet breakfastpleasant stayeasy accesscomfortable roomssecure parkingrobben island
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
312 - 317 of 507 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We stayed at the City Lodge V&A Waterfront for a single night for business towards the end of April - this is my second stay there. It is always clean, neat, it has absolutely everything you could wish for in terms of amenities. They also have a fabulous breakfast with loads of fresh fruits and other nice baked goodies. We were dropped at the hotel by a colleague so didn't have a car to get around. The concierge arranged a taxi for us for R30.00 (4$) to get to the Waterfront for dinner. (I wouldn't recommend the walk on your own at night). All in all a fabulous stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Muise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2013

Thanks for your comments - we are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013 via mobile

First time in cape so not sure if the service is the norm. I was not impressed and I was not upset, just meh service. The hotel rooms are small so if business traveler you may want to rethink. The bathrooms have a Euro shower so tight quarters even for a small person. The bed was comfortable. I stayed facing a busy street, may want to ask for a different room if you are not wanting noise. The location is actually so so. If walking you walk through a lot of construction right now and even on other streets not a lot of light to get to the waterfront. I thought the travel desk people were very friendly and more personable than the hotel staff. I took a ride from them to get to Table top, sadly they made me feel more welcomed.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlutoDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

The City Lodge was our base for four nights in Cape Town and we were very pleased with this hotel. It offers the perfect location, within an easy 10 minute walk to epicenter of the V&A Waterfront complex of shops. Our room and bed were comfortable, everything is well-maintained, the front desk staff was professional and the buffet breakfast (with made to order omelettes) was superb. No pool (just a jacuzzi) but everything else was very satisfactory.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mascalzone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2013

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We hope to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Stayed here with my sons when we were looking at schools in CT. Well located and reasonably priced. Decent sized room, but TV was tiny and the is no room service. You can tray-in from the restaurant where prices are reasonable or access fast-food via Mr Delivery.. But it's not the same. The hotel 'does the job' - good for a business traveller on a budget who just needs a place to lay his head.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank BloDaJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2013

Thanks for your comments - we are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

I stayed in April 2013 for a weekend getaway on the end of a business trip. The hotel was great for holidaying (easy walking distance or short boat or taxi ride to the V&A Waterfront) and work (good sized desk in room, free 20 mins of internet a day, then charged directly to your credit card.) The rooms are clean and comfortable and the shower was good. The staff are kind and helpful, and allowed me to print my boarding cards for free, as well as arranging a late night pickup from the airport on arrival. And the takeaway muffin on check out is a nice touch!

Top tips: 1) take a taxi back from the waterfront at night (there are security guards along the route but some lonely sections and why risk the chance of being mugged?). 2) When purchasing internet access for a few days, unless you want to stream a substantial amount of video, its cheaper to buy access by data size (ie 1 gig) rather than an unlimited per day rate. 3) The "quick breakfast" is less expensive than the full buffet, but still includes bacon and eggs, so you won't go hungry.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelfundi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2013

Thank you for your review - we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews