We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be careful of your bookings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront
Ranked #66 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Be careful of your bookings”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We made a booking for a guest that came from Durban to Cape Town. The booking was done with a order that was sent to the guest. On arrival the guest was first told there is no booking. The guest was standing at reception with the conformed booking. Somebody changed the name on the booking and also the conditions of the stay! What an embarrassment to us as the guest was told that she has to settle the account? It is still not sorted and it just baffles me that a hotel makes a mistake but will not accept their responsibility and then is not very helpful.

Room Tip: Double check your booking and don't rely on the conformation
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Our sincerest apologies for this - we will definitely look into the matter further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    239
    92
    19
    12
See reviews for
62
126
37
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, Usa
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

My wife and I are Americans and we spent four nights of our vacation at City Lodge V&A Waterfront.

This hotel is situated within in walking distance to the convention center, to the center of the business district in Cape Town and to V&A Waterfront. Walking to these locations is safe for the most part during the day but not during the night. For safety reasons, it is best to take a cab during the night.

We noticed that this hotel has a mix of vacationers and business people.

When we asked for a room on the ocean side of the building, they accommodated our needs.

The breakfasts are excellent. There are two breakfast areas: 1) ground floor and 2) lobby level. While most guests had breakfast on the ground floor, we always had breakfast on the lobby level which has more of a view. This hotel does have a good restaurant and bar that are open late.

The security in this hotel is excellent.

The rooms and beds are excellent.

For vacationers, that want more access to the beach, I would suggest finding a hotel or B & B two kilometers to four kilometers south of his hotel. The area that is two kilometers to four kilometers the City Lodge V&A Waterfront is a little more upscale but not as close to the business district, to the V&A Waterfront and to the convention center.

Our only disappointment was that the person at the hotel's travel desk gave us advice about the hike up to Table Mountain that was not logistically sound. This delayed our hike by two days. His other advice was good.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We loved this hotel. Great location , comfortable rooms , fabulous breakfasts, courteous and helpful staff. We had a 3rd floor (attic) type room, with sloping windows but lovely views of Table Mountain and the waterfront. Our room had a separate toilet so so you could use the bathroom area even if the toilet was in use.
There are heaps of shops and restaurants nearby and after 10 the place was quiet. The hop on/off bus terminus was nearby and you could walk into town if you wanted (not recommended after dark)
It's worth getting a room overlooking the waterfront otherwise you overlook a parking lot. We had no security issues but were very careful. There was a doorman watching who went up the lift and stairs. Well worth the (very reasonable) price- we would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: choose a waterfront room 3rd floor rooms have a sloping ceiling and window, may be a problem for ta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Perthcott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thanks so much for this great review - we are chuffed that you enjoyed your stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bordeaux, France
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

This is one of the few decently priced hotels in close proximity to the waterfront. We stayed for only one night, and the rooms were spacious, the little balconies overlooking the canal were very nice. The only issue is the online booking for the rooms was a bit annoying. It was impossible to book two rooms at once (you have to repeat the entire procedure) and in order to get interleading rooms you have to then call the reception in addition to the online booking.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GothKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed here (actually, again) for one night. This hotel is in close proximity to the Waterfront and other areas of entertainment, which makes it a great base from which you can explore. Rooms are rather small, but comfortable and tastefully decorated. We faced the Waterfront, which was a bonus, and there was a lot of natural light. Quiet - no street noise, so good soundproofing. Good parking with security at the gate. Breakfast is served but we scooted out very early. I don't regard this as a budget hotel as the room was R1189 for two people, but really good value. I would recommend this hotel for short stayovers.

Room Tip: Waterfront view is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madeleine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you for your kind review - we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This is a 3 star budget orientated hotel. We've stayed here before and was happy to come back, since the hotel is so well located at the entrance to the Waterfront. The rooms are small but comfortable, rooms facing the parking lot are very dark, ground floor rooms facing the canal are great since they get natural light and have a little balcony.

During our most recent stay, however, two African guys entered our room, stole a computer and cellphone and tried to run out the hotel. I had to pursue them and stop them in the lobby. NO security in the hotel. There is a lonely security guard operating the boom to the parking lot outside the hotel. The hotel manager was on-hand, and the situation was managed well, with the police arriving an hour later to arrest the thieves.

On review, I must say, that there are the minimum of staff on hand at this hotel. No doorman, security or other. There is free access from outside to the hotel and to guest rooms.
Our room was only cleaned at 3pm everyday, we left at 9 am daily.

We have two young girls, and would not return to this hotel.
Thieves commonly target this type of hotel, as tourists are unlikely to press charges and follow through

Room Tip: If you are a self defence expert, stay in a ground floor canal facing room, leave all your valuables...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Johan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you for staying with us - we are really sorry that you were a victim of crime during your stay. We will evaluate your comments about security. This hotel has suffered very few incidents of crime, but your experience shows that there is no room for complacency in this regard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linkoping, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

Within walking distance from the waterfront the hotel has a pretty good location. It is in good condition with good service and a great breakfast.

It's one of those places that just delivers what you expect, not more or less, so it is hard to write tripit 's required 200 words about it. ;-)

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thanks for your comments - we hope to welcome you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#60 of 109 in Cape Town Central
987 reviews
0.2 mi away
AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suites
AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suite...
#63 of 109 in Cape Town Central
371 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Foreshore
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#49 of 109 in Cape Town Central
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#23 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,517 reviews
0.6 mi away
The PortsWood
The PortsWood
#47 of 109 in Cape Town Central
737 reviews
0.1 mi away
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Tow...
#31 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront

Property: City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront
Address: Cnr Dock and Alfred Roads | P O Box 6025, Roggebaa, Cape Town Central 8012, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#46 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A centrally located hotel at the gateway to the vibrant and dynamic V and A Waterfront, within walking distance of Cape Town’s CBD, close to the N2 motorway and 15 minutes from the international airport. A nautical theme runs through the hotel and a spa-pool is available for guests to relax in the warm Cape weather. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Lodge v And a Waterfront
City Lodge v&a Waterfront Hotel Cape Town Central
City Hotel Cape Town
City Hotel v a Waterfront
City Lodge Waterfront Cape Town
City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing