We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront
Nearby Hotels
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$892
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$495
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$235
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Taj Cape Town(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$172
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Victoria & Alfred Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$228
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$206
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Pepperclub Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$152
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Commodore(Cape Town Central)
US$223
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$178
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cape Grace(Cape Town Central)
US$631
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$498
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blackheath Lodge(Cape Town Central)
US$211
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Table Bay Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$349
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$321
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (511)
Filter reviews
511 results
Traveller rating
116
264
99
20
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
116
264
99
20
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationtravel deskwalking distanceconstruction worknon smoking roomminute walkclose proximityfree wifibusiness tripwater frontstar hotelbuffet breakfastpleasant stayeasy accesscomfortable roomssecure parkingrobben island
Filter
Updating list...
289 - 294 of 511 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2014

If you are looking for a good base for a few days exploring Cape Town then this is the place. It is ideally situated between the V&A waterfront for all your shopping and no end of evening meal opportunities, not to mention the many boating excursions you can take, and the city centre. Both are within safe walking distance from the hotel and the hop on hop off bus stop is only a couple of minutes walk away. There is also a water taxi from just outside the hotel that can take you to the waterfront. A good base is nothing without a good breakfast and here you will find a very pleasant spread to set you up for the day. The hotel also gas a good travel desk that can arrange taxis and trips for you. If you want to hang around a hotel then this is probably not for you although there is a reasonable bar and small pool. But then again who would want to hang around a hotel when you are in Cape Town!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IainMacpherson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Thank you for the lovely review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

This hotel is very well located for those who wanna have fun within the Waterfront area. A walking distance to most of the malls and fun places in the Waterfront area. It is also very fairly priced. Though do not expect much from an old hotel. This is a chain from the City Lodge and after visiting two of them i conclude they are not very good at preparing breakfast. Take a stroll to the mall if you can there is a wide variety to choose from foodwise

Room Tip: If you can get the rooms facing inward or the higher floors you may get a glimpse of the Table Mountain!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seme l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you for the review. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

The City Lodge V and A is perfectly situated and well geared as a business hotel. The rooms would be too small for leisure , but for a 3 star I thought it was very good value for money and had all a business traveller would need. The staff deserve a mention , the concierge arranged a taxi for me in minutes and the bar staff made a hot chocolate for my dinner very close to closing time with a smile , the waitress even said " oh really it's nothing you sit and relax". Big comfortable bed, good sized working desk with PC friendly lamp. Windows that open onto the canal so you can choose between fresh air or aircon. Ideal for walking to and from waterfront.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Faye J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you for the great review. We are pleased to hear that our staff were so accommodating and that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

8 of us stayed before our golf trip up the Garden Route....
Great location to stroll to the Waterfront.
Service was excellent - we were collected at the airport arranged by the hotel. Reception had our rooms ready for early check in and were extremely friendly.
The breakfast offered was excellent - as may have said, as good a choice as any top hotel.
The Manager, Dean - was very visible and proactive during our 3 day stay and his staff did him proud.
Overall, a great place that is close to the "action" and conveniently located for anything "Cape Town wise"

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zambandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Thank you for the great review! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

I spent a few nights here for a work related conference. Excellent location and far surpassed my expectations for a city lodge. Fantastic service, great food and convenient. Rooms larger than i have had for most business trips. Highly recommended,

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank Allison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Thank you for the great review. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews