We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“City Lodge V&A”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront
Ranked #65 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“City Lodge V&A”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

I always enjoy my stays in City Lodge V&A. The rooms are spacious and confortably furnished. The staff are friendly. Located close to Harbour, V&A Waterfront, ICC as well as the City Centre. Easy access to the highway.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UltraMel74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for the awesome review. We are so pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    233
    90
    19
    12
See reviews for
61
121
36
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Stayed February 7 -9 and was treated like royalty. The entire hotel is modern and top notch.they let us have a late checkout at no extra charge.Totally unexpected. Really close to v&a a waterfront without the ridiculous price!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angelanicol17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for the lovely review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
126 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

15 mn walk from the VA Water Front, reasonable price. Stayed 4 nights for INDABA Mining in Feb 2014. Staff helpful and very good breakfast included. Can't complain. Great hotel if you look something decent and can't afford one of the top brand close by.

Room Tip: Ask for a view on the 'river' and not in the back :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicolas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for the lovely review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

If you are looking for a good base for a few days exploring Cape Town then this is the place. It is ideally situated between the V&A waterfront for all your shopping and no end of evening meal opportunities, not to mention the many boating excursions you can take, and the city centre. Both are within safe walking distance from the hotel and the hop on hop off bus stop is only a couple of minutes walk away. There is also a water taxi from just outside the hotel that can take you to the waterfront. A good base is nothing without a good breakfast and here you will find a very pleasant spread to set you up for the day. The hotel also gas a good travel desk that can arrange taxis and trips for you. If you want to hang around a hotel then this is probably not for you although there is a reasonable bar and small pool. But then again who would want to hang around a hotel when you are in Cape Town!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IainMacpherson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you for the lovely review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

This hotel is very well located for those who wanna have fun within the Waterfront area. A walking distance to most of the malls and fun places in the Waterfront area. It is also very fairly priced. Though do not expect much from an old hotel. This is a chain from the City Lodge and after visiting two of them i conclude they are not very good at preparing breakfast. Take a stroll to the mall if you can there is a wide variety to choose from foodwise

Room Tip: If you can get the rooms facing inward or the higher floors you may get a glimpse of the Table Mount...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seme l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Thank you for the review. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
130 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

The City Lodge V and A is perfectly situated and well geared as a business hotel. The rooms would be too small for leisure , but for a 3 star I thought it was very good value for money and had all a business traveller would need. The staff deserve a mention , the concierge arranged a taxi for me in minutes and the bar staff made a hot chocolate for my dinner very close to closing time with a smile , the waitress even said " oh really it's nothing you sit and relax". Big comfortable bed, good sized working desk with PC friendly lamp. Windows that open onto the canal so you can choose between fresh air or aircon. Ideal for walking to and from waterfront.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Faye J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Thank you for the great review. We are pleased to hear that our staff were so accommodating and that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

8 of us stayed before our golf trip up the Garden Route....
Great location to stroll to the Waterfront.
Service was excellent - we were collected at the airport arranged by the hotel. Reception had our rooms ready for early check in and were extremely friendly.
The breakfast offered was excellent - as may have said, as good a choice as any top hotel.
The Manager, Dean - was very visible and proactive during our 3 day stay and his staff did him proud.
Overall, a great place that is close to the "action" and conveniently located for anything "Cape Town wise"

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zambandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank you for the great review! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#61 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
0.2 mi away
AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suites
AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suite...
#64 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#48 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Foreshore
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#51 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
0.5 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,465 reviews
2.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#67 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront

Property: City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront
Address: Cnr Dock and Alfred Roads | P O Box 6025, Roggebaa, Cape Town Central 8012, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#46 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A centrally located hotel at the gateway to the vibrant and dynamic V and A Waterfront, within walking distance of Cape Town’s CBD, close to the N2 motorway and 15 minutes from the international airport. A nautical theme runs through the hotel and a spa-pool is available for guests to relax in the warm Cape weather. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Lodge v And a Waterfront
City Lodge v&a Waterfront Hotel Cape Town Central
City Hotel Cape Town
City Hotel v a Waterfront
City Lodge Waterfront Cape Town
City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing