We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location ! Beautiful view from our room ...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Premier Hotel Cape Town
Ranked #61 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Mauritius
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great location ! Beautiful view from our room ...”
Reviewed 28 March 2011

My husband took part in the Cape Argus cycling race and we made a holiday out of it at the same time ...
We stayed at the Cape manor because it was receommended to us by other family members (aunts & uncles, brother-in-law and his family etc...) who were also staying there for the Argus & a holiday.

Overall we enjoyed our stay at the hotel. It is walking distance from the foreshore (walking promenade & the sea) -- absolutley stunning location !!

The staff are very friendly and breakfast was good.

General comments I left for the Manager of the hotel when we left:

- the water pipe system between the rooms (showers being turned on and off) is very noisy and at all hours of the day.

- the smell of breakfast cooking downstairs was unbearable. We were on the 4th floor and as of 6am it was like the eggs were being cooked under my nose in my bed. The smell would linger in our room and throughout the hotel for a couple of hours.

- we spent 2 weeks in all at the hotel with a 2 year and a 4 year old and we would have appreciated a mini bar in the room - at the very least a fridge to keep food items that we wanted to have during the day.

- 2 things that bothered me at breakfast were the sticky floors around the breakfast buffet/dining room areas and the fact that they don't have a espresso/cappucchino machine for "real coffee". Thankfully the filter coffee was good.

Other than that we were happy with the service and the facilities.

We would stay there again - the location is just too special.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rs08082014t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Cape_Manor, Manager at Premier Hotel Cape Town, responded to this review, 17 January 2017
Thank you for your review

Kind Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    204
    78
    27
    13
See reviews for
77
167
34
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2011

This hotel has opportunity to be outstanding, however, the lack of service and attention to detail can be blamed on it being clear that there is not "management by walkabout". If management would step into the shoes of its guests they would soon eliminate issues. To name a few: Water spilling down into the parking as the cleaner washes the floor, we our shoes were soaked and we nearly slipped, breakfast is chaos as seemingly the chef can only cook for 1 guest at a time, no gas at chef station making it real slow for service, serving equipment outdated, housekeeping don't always replace items.Our first night we place a dO NOT DISTURB sign on the door and when we returned the housekeeper had been in to put chocolates on the bed.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FiM36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Cape_Manor, Manager at Premier Hotel Cape Town, responded to this review, 17 January 2017
Thank you for your review

Kind Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
156 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2011

The hotel's location at Sea point is fine, although there is no beach around this area and, although the hotel did have sea facing rooms, ours was overlooking an adjacent building. When we arrived in Capetown the wind was blowing a gale and there was a draft running through the room even with the window shut (the wind could be heard whistling around the edges of the window as well). Our room's adjoining door was also unlocked, which staff rectified commendably quickly when informed - good job as well, as in the middle of the first night someone checked into the room next to ours and tried the handle. Apart from this, the room was decent enough and clean with a good selection of TV chanels including the English Premier League. Breakfast was very good, with a wide selection to choose from and the staff were very friendly and eager to help (although booking taxis were not their strong point - amazingly managing to book too many, not enough or at the wrong time. In saying that though, it always seemed to work out, one way or another). We ordered room sevice one evening and the food was good. The hotel pool was a pretty poor effort, often in shade and with 6 loungers. Overall, was okay for the money but if you can find better looking accommodation for the same price.....

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank johnny_5_bellys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Cape_Manor, Manager at Premier Hotel Cape Town, responded to this review, 17 January 2017
Thank you for your review

Kind Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
112 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2010

This hotel is very well located at Sea Point, almost straight off the promenade. It had quite a lot of English when we were there - mostly midlifers to elderly (over 50 - 70+). Ask for a sea view if you can and enjoy the sunsets! The staff were very friendly and attentive and the rooms were very reasonably priced, if quite small and the toilet and bathroom was tiny. If you like space this is probably not your No 1 hotel but the parking is secure and it was quiet. For what we paid, we considered it good value. Also very well located for the Green and Sea Point Shul (three minutes away in the same road, where you will get a very warm welcome also).

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RoyalSilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Cape_Manor, Manager at Premier Hotel Cape Town, responded to this review, 17 January 2017
Thank you for your review

Kind Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2010

The Hotel Cape Manor in the Sea Point neighborhood of Cape Town is a delightful hotel. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the staff is very warm and friendly, and the area is quiet. One door down from the seaside, the hotel is ideally situated in Sea Point--near the coast and a three-minute walk away form the bustle of the main street. The included breakfast is wonderful with fresh fruits, eggs, breads, meats, and cheese. Everything was very good, and it's evident the chef is happy to serve you.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank brianpatrick1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Cape_Manor, Manager at Premier Hotel Cape Town, responded to this review, 17 January 2017
Thank you for your review

Kind Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrow
Level Contributor
143 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2010

We spent four nights here at the end of an exhausting tour of South Africa with Saga. The hotel is by the sea but there is obvious pollution to be seen in the water and the smell is not for the faint hearted. We didn’t manage to go by the sea because of this and there is no beach in that part of Cape Town. The hotel has no real lounge as it seems to be part of the bar and is small. Cape town is just like any other city and was a bit of a disappointment after all we had seen in our travels. The Waterfront area is nice with lots of restaurants to choose from. We also went to Robben Island and that was an experience not to be missed.
Dinner was a selection from the buffet and could include Butternut Soup, Fish Steak, Thai Green Curry dish and vegetables, Salad, Hake, Rice and Tuna Bake, Beef Curry and Carrots, Yellowtail fish, Ostrich with sauce and chips .
Desserts included Pineapple pudding with cold Custard and Roly Poly Pudding and Cheesecake. There was quite a selection.
Breakfast included Porridge and fresh fruit. As there was a queue for eggs, they don't make scrambled eggs, I had some bacon and bread with coffee, which was drinkable. There was quite a selection for breakfast.
South Africa seems to be famous for being a meat eating nation and that is certainly reflected in the amount of meat you are given at each meal. The same can be said of fish.
While there we visited the Cape of Good Hope, the Penguins at Simons Town and the botanical gardens at Kirstenbosch. I had been looking forward to visiting these gardens but was very disappointed in that there were very few plants in flower and was pretty dismal compared to the botanical gardens in Durban. We visited in February 2010.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wolfhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Cape_Manor, Manager at Premier Hotel Cape Town, responded to this review, 17 January 2017
Thank you for your review

Kind Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2010

A professionally run, welcoming hotel with genuinely comfortable rooms just yards from the marine promenade. Busses to the Waterfront and Central Cape Town are easily accessible as are the restaurants, shops and generally buzzy street life of Sea Point. The staff are warm and exceptionally helpful, willing to do whatever is necessary to ensure a pleasant and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arnorab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Cape_Manor, Manager at Premier Hotel Cape Town, responded to this review, 17 January 2017
Thank you for your review

Kind Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
0.1 mi away
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#26 of 109 in Cape Town Central
485 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cascades on the Promenade
Cascades on the Promenade
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
381 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mojo Hotel
Mojo Hotel
#115 of 203 in Cape Town
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Le Vendome Hotel
Radisson Blu Le Vendome Hotel
#50 of 109 in Cape Town Central
378 reviews
0.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#67 of 109 in Cape Town Central
327 reviews
2.1 mi away
Parliament Hotel
Parliament Hotel
#36 of 109 in Cape Town Central
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Hotel Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Hotel Cape Town

Property: Premier Hotel Cape Town
Address: 1 Marais Road, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (Formerly Cape Manor Hotel)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Town Central
#32 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#54 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Premier Hotel Cape Town 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Premier Hotel Cape Manor is located in the beautifully tree-lined Marais Road on the Sea Point promenade in Cape Town, commanding spectacular views of Table Mountain and the awe inspiring Atlantic Ocean. This Western Cape hotel is situated at the heart of the fairest Cape's tourism centre and attractions like Table Mountain, the world famous Victoria and Alfred Waterfront, Green Point Stadium and the beautiful Camps Bay and Clifton beaches surround this luxurious destination for both business executives and leisure travelers. Guests at the Premier Hotel Cape Manor can enjoy wonderful evenings out in the cosmopolitan area of Cape Town and then return to their comfortable rooms with mountain & sea views for pure relaxation. Alternatively, enjoy your favourite drink on the hotel deck at the Promenade Cocktail Bar while watching the sun set over the Atlantic Ocean. Whether you are looking for a business facility or stylish accommodation, we at Premier Hotel Cape Manor welcome you to the best of Cape hospitality.he Premier Hotel Cape Manor is located in the beautifully tree-lined Marais Road on the Sea Point promenade in Cape Town, commanding spectacular views of Table Mountain and the awe inspiring Atlantic Ocean. This Western Cape hotel is situated at the heart of the fairest Cape's tourism centre and attractions like Table Mountain, the world famous Victoria and Alfred Waterfront, Green Point Stadium and the beautiful Camps Bay and Clifton beaches surround this luxurious destination for both business executives and leisure travelers. Guests at the Premier Hotel Cape Manor can enjoy wonderful evenings out in the cosmopolitan area of Cape Town and then return to their comfortable rooms with mountain & sea views for pure relaxation. Alternatively, enjoy your favourite drink on the hotel deck at the Promenade Cocktail Bar while watching the sun set over the Atlantic Ocean. Whether you are looking for a business facility or stylish accommodation, we at Premier Hotel Cape Manor welcome you to the best of Cape hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Premier Hotel Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Town Manor Hotel
Premier Hotel Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing