We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“End of my Journey!”
Review of Cape Milner

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cape Milner
Ranked #28 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
WA
Level Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“End of my Journey!”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

After a month exploring South Africa my final destination was Cape Town. I spent five days here at the Cape Milner Hotel exploring that corner. Location was great and was walking distance into the city, waterfront, red double decker bus stops and a small shopping centre just around the corner. Table top Mountain was a short distance away. So no need for taxi fares. There was a shuttle available for short distances from the hotel. My room was always kept clean and the room was of a large size with a great bathroom. I was very nearly tempted to buy bubble bath and have a bath. But unfortunately I never had the time as I was out all day exploring Cape Town and would arrive back to this great room with large window exhausted. I only ate breakfast here and the food available was to satisfy any ones hunger. Yes I would stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 696HelenS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeanne d, Manager at Cape Milner, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Good Day Helen,

Thank you very much for this fantastic review. I hope that when you next visit us, your stay will be such that you can further enjoy the hotel. Look forward to your return....

Management
Cape Milner Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    186
    46
    15
    5
See reviews for
45
157
48
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
188 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed at the Cape Milner Hotel as the first night of a small group tour. After reading previous reviews we were a bit apprehensive, but we were very pleasantly surprised. Our room and bathroom were large, modern, very clean and comfortable. The dining room was lovely and breakfast had a good selection on offer. The hotel is also in a great area, and a good base for exploring Cape Town. A good mid-range hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoRoBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeanne d, Manager at Cape Milner, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Good Day,

I am really pleased you enjoyed the hotel, which exceeded your expectations. Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

Management
Cape Milner Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abuja
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 August 2013

This happens to be my 4th stay in Cape Milner having stayed first in 2005, then 2007 and lately December 2012 before my last stay in August 2013. Wonderful Reception staff - Dani and Kim stand out for their resourcefulness, willingness to assist and prompt response to enquiries. The Sales Manager - Jorikas - was also quite helpful...always with a firm smile!! Restaurant staff are awesome - except the Restaurant Manager who couldn't offer reasonable excuse for not serving dessert on a buffet menu...and had a somewhat arrogant gait to boot!! I keep coming back with my always-impressed groups because of the hotel's serene location (good for conferences with competent staff); fantastic view of the Table Mountain; easy access to most areas in CPT and of course the great staff. Whatever it is that makes you attract good staff, do much more to retain them

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niyi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeanne d, Manager at Cape Milner, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for your positive and constructive feedback. I am very happy to hear that you have returned to the Cape Milner for the 4th time. Please let me assure you we have resolved the problem which led to your disappointment. I have informed all our restaurant staff how awesome you think they are, and they are delighted to receive such a great response. I trust that we shall again have the privilege of welcoming you back to The Cape Milner Hotel.

Cape Milner Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

Cape Milner is the perfect choice for those who wish to stay in the city centre yet be away from the cacophony of the busy streets. The hotel is conveniently located in a quiet, posh neighbourhood with stunning views of the Table mountain. The staff is young, energetic and incredibly helpful. I especially remember Dana at the front desk and Lennart our chauffeur who dropped us virtually everyday at the V&A Waterfront !! The rooms are medium sized yet very clean and contemporary. The breakfast definitely demands a mention. It is a fabulous spread of cereals, morning bakeries, yoghurt, cheese and other hot breakfast options like potato roasting, bacon, sausages and baked beans! The hotel provides a complimentary shuttle service to all the nearby shopping areas etc. The neighbourhood also has a few small, buzzing eateries like Simply Asia ( thai food), Cafe rick's, Fat Cactus and Nando's.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aparuparayganguly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacy C, Manager at Cape Milner, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Wow, thank you very much for such fantastic feedback. I’m delighted that you were able to experience the benefit and value our location provides. We aspire to provide the energetic helpful service you experienced and your review will inspire us to further improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at The Cape Milner recently. What a beautiful place! We were upgraded to a luxury room and everything was superb! The service, the breakfast, the beautiful flowers in the room, just everything!
I also had dinner at their restaurant one night & what a revelation! It was simply divine!
Thanks for a lovely time guys and I hope to see you again soon!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roundafric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nisha D, Manager at Cape Milner, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Hello roundafric,

Thank you for sharing your awesome feedback with us, we truly look forward to your return, to enjoy our hospitality and of course the Chef’s food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

This is a great hotel with a very hip & chic feel. The hotel is located in a quiet neighborhood and has a very pleasant view of the Table Mountain. Ample parking as I had rented a car from the airport. The food served in the restaurant was absolutely lip smacking and room service was efficient as well. The staff were warm and always willing to help. Pretty much located halfway between Cape Town's 2 highlights - Table Mountain & V&A waterfront.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms after the swimming pool sort of in the outhouse section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nispat74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nisha D, Manager at Cape Milner, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Hello Nispat74

We’re overwhelmed by your remarkable feedback. We’re glad that you enjoyed the meals served in our restaurant. Our key aspect that we pride ourselves in is in the quality of our cuisine and we constantly strive to maintain our excellent standards. We noticed that your stay with us was in Nov 2012, and it’s great that we have received your review and that the memories of our beautiful Cape Town and our hotel are still so fresh in your mind. We would love to have you back with us soon again. Hope there is another trip to Cape Town planned for soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

We stayed there for 3 Nights and enjoyed our stay thoroughly.
Right from the staff at the reception, in the restaurant and elsewhere to the rooms, toiletries and cleanliness it was worth it.The spread on offer for breakfast was wonderful and trhe service quick and courteous.The staff always wore a smile on their faces which added to the charm of the place.The room size is decent and housekeeping efficient.We had a problem as we did not get one of the sports channels in our room and within a span of 15 mins 2 different guys came and managed the channel.I was mighty impressed with this .Lastly, their tariff is pretty decent, so a must stay in Cape Twon.

Room Tip: Since the hotel is on a corner, suggest requesting a room which does not face the road so as to avoi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jiten1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nisha D, Manager at Cape Milner, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Dear Jiten,

Wow! What awesome feedback. Thank you for sharing your experience with us. It’s always a pleasure to be surrounded by friendly people with smiling faces who give you the feeling of being “home away from home”. And this is definitely the culture we have incorporated in our friendly hotel. No request is too big or too small for our friendly staff and I’m glad our technicians were able to fix the sports channel for you within minutes. I do hope that you will be back soon again to share added wonderful experiences with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#25 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,375 reviews
City Bowl
The Three Boutique Hotel
The Three Boutique Hotel
#22 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#53 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Dysart Boutique Hotel
#12 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Winchester Mansions
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Milner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Milner

Property: Cape Milner
Address: 2a Milner Road | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#28 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#41 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cape Milner 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cradled beneath the majestic Table Mountain in Cape Town's trendy suburb of Tamboerskloof lies the Cape Milner. Extensively refurbished, this exquisite hotel offers a sophisticated and contemporary ambience with the highest standards in style and luxury. All rooms have air-conditioning, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities, television (selected satellite programs), direct dial telephones, mini bar fridge - stocked on request only, safes and hairdryers. Children 0-11 years stay complimentary - room only - when sharing with a minimum of one full paying adult. A maximum of one child can be accommodated with two parents in a Luxury room only. Cots are available on request. The Hotel is ideally situated from which to explore the centre of Cape Town and is a 5 minute walk to an array of restaurants and entertainment. Transfers from the airport can be arranged upon request and charged to your account. Complimentary shuttle within an 8km radius of the Hotel on request includes the V&A Waterfront, Table Mountain, Cape Town CBD and a large amount of local attractions including museums and places of interest. Shuttle available during week days only from 08h00 and 17h00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Cape Milner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Milner Hotel Cape Town Central
Cape Town Milner
Hotel Cape Town
Cape Milner Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing