We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not where I would choose if on Holiday”
Review of Cape Milner

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cape Milner
Ranked #29 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 December 2013

The Cape Milner is a fine hotel and adequate in most respects. It's in a nice and quiet location with the ability to walk to most interesting parts of the city. I found the staff to be very courteous but a little inflexible with special requests. The restaurant had a nice but pretty basic breakfast buffet included with the room.

I found the room to be a bit dated and it had some annoying features. There was no clock in the room. The TV seemed very small when trying to watch from the bed. The shower (at least in room 203) leaked terribly on to the floor so after every shower there was a slipper flood in the bathroom that lasted until the room was cleaned. The rooms themselves were kind of stark feeling without any real decor.

The hotel had a small but adequate gym. The pool was also small. There was a beautiful view of Table Mountain from the pool. I was there for a three day business conference and the meeting rooms at the hotel were fine.

As a place to sleep while in Cape Town on business, I would have no problem recommending the Cape Milner. However, if I were in CT on holiday with my wife for family, this would not be the choice. I would probably choose one if the more boutique hotels by the water or one of the larger hotels in the city. There was just very little to do at the Cape Milner and the pool was too small to hang around at for the afternoon.

If the management of the hotel would out a little effort into making the rooms more comfortable and less dated, I think this hotel would take a huge leap forward.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mbloch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (495)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

368 - 374 of 495 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2013

Excellent service, lovely food and groovy decor made this a good choice.It's about 15mins drive (£5) taxi ride to the waterfront but a good spot for a business hotel.It has a real old world charm exterior but the decor inside is modern and stylish. Rooms have all the amenities you would expect from a higher grade hotel . The pool was tiny and the bed so hard I had to sleep on my pillows otherwise I would have given it a 5 considering what good value it was .

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meesh48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

The hotel has excellent views of Lion's Head and Table Mountain. Rooms are spacious with spacious bathrooms. The hotel has a very modern feel although you can still see that this used to be an old style building that has been renovated. Staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The restaurant can also cater to your needs if the menu doesn't have what you want. Overall an excellent stay.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank Rishen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeanne d, Manager at Cape Milner, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Hello Rishen

I’m happy you enjoyed the hotel and the flexibility and friendliness of our staff. We look forward to your return.

General Manager
The Cape Milner Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

6 of us stayed here last week when we flew into Cape Town for a few days. I booked without paying too much attention to reviews but my wife drew my attention to a couple of negative reviews on Trip Advisor relating to people being robbed etc.
I have to say that, although this did worry me a little there really is no reason for concern. The Cape Milner is a very well presented, comfortable, clean and affordable hotel in Cape Town. The rooms are nice, beds comfortable, food and drinks are great and well priced and, best of all the staff are excellent. There was not one person who worked there that would not go out of their way to help with any requests. Difficult to fault and thanks for a great stay. Top of the list for our next visit.

Room Tip: We were happy with the room we had. It was opposite the lift and so we did hear people now and again...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Markupton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeanne d, Manager at Cape Milner, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Good Afternoon and thank you so much for posting this awesome feedback. I’m really glad your party enjoyed their stay with us. I look forward to welcoming you back on your return!

General Manager
Cape Milner Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

A very welcoming Hotel,ideally situated in the heart of Cape Town. The reception staff, especially Leslie, and Mandla in the bar,were great and nothing was too much trouble. I can continue with accolades but its easier to try it yourself. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HDD_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeanne d, Manager at Cape Milner, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Hello and thank you! We really appreciate this positive feedback, it inspires and motivates us to improve and continue to exceed expectations.

General Manager & Staff
Cape Milner Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I discovered this gem in the beautiful City of Cape Town all thanks to my work. Myself and my boyfriend was welcomed with friendliness and professional service at the front desk. We waited at the bar and got a iced cold beer served in seconds! A great vibe at the swimming pool, with table mounting hugging the hotel. The room was gorgeous with table mountain as my view! Delicious Dinner & Breakfast! I would def stay there every night if I could!

Room Tip: All the rooms are perfect! my favorite being the ones on the side of the mountain!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alida L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeanne d, Manager at Cape Milner, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Home away from Home, I’m delighted to hear you enjoyed every aspect of the hotel and the friendly service we strive to offer. Please come back soon....


General Manager & Staff
Cape Milner Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We spent several days here - our balcony looked out onto Table Mountain and we watched her in all her different colours. The location was away from the typical tourist areas but we could easily walk to Long Street, the Fort, the gardens, markets etc plus small eateries. Staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast set us up nicely for days of walking.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room looking up to Table Mountain. While there is a courtesy bus to the V&A ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeanne d, Manager at Cape Milner, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Hello Pam, your feedback is truly appreciated. We are very pleased you enjoyed the hotel and our friendly service.

General Manager & Staff
Cape Milner Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
1.2 mi away
Southern Sun The Cullinan
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#25 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,738 reviews
0.3 mi away
Long Street Boutique Hotel
Long Street Boutique Hotel
#35 of 110 in Cape Town Central
220 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cape Town Hollow
Cape Town Hollow
#51 of 110 in Cape Town Central
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Dysart Boutique Hotel
Dysart Boutique Hotel
#18 of 110 in Cape Town Central
428 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#24 of 110 in Cape Town Central
553 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hippo Boutique Hotel
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#54 of 110 in Cape Town Central
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Milner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Milner

Address: 2a Milner Road | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#29 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#40 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £113 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cape Milner 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cradled beneath the majestic Table Mountain in Cape Town's trendy suburb of Tamboerskloof lies the Cape Milner. Extensively refurbished, this exquisite hotel offers a sophisticated and contemporary ambience with the highest standards in style and luxury. All rooms have air-conditioning, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities, television (selected satellite programs), direct dial telephones, mini bar fridge - stocked on request only, safes and hairdryers. Children 0-11 years stay complimentary - room only - when sharing with a minimum of one full paying adult. A maximum of one child can be accommodated with two parents in a Luxury room only. Cots are available on request. The Hotel is ideally situated from which to explore the centre of Cape Town and is a 5 minute walk to an array of restaurants and entertainment. Transfers from the airport can be arranged upon request and charged to your account. Complimentary shuttle within an 8km radius of the Hotel on request includes the V&A Waterfront, Table Mountain, Cape Town CBD and a large amount of local attractions including museums and places of interest. Shuttle available during week days only from 08h00 and 17h00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Splitty, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cape Milner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Milner Hotel Cape Town Central
Cape Town Milner
Hotel Cape Town
Cape Milner Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing