We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place! Very welcoming! ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cape Milner

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cape Milner
Ranked #28 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Livingston, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great place! Very welcoming! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

Whilst on a trip to Cape Town I had the good fortune of visiting the Cape Milner. Staff couldn't be more helpful, and the atmosphere is relaxed but classy. The pool has great views of Table Mountain, and is a real suntrap. In short it a a great place, located ideally close to the night life on Long and Kloof Streets. Prices are reasonable and service is good. Enjoy!

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank springbokrugby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MBCapeTown, General Manager at Cape Milner, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Sir,
Thank you so much for your very favourable review on the Cape Milner Hotel posted on Trip advisor.
I am deeply encouraged to read of the staff interaction with you as well as the facilities and location suited you perfectly.
All reviews we receive are discussed at all levels and prove to be very motivating to all of us at the Hotel.
I trust your journey home to Scotland was a pleasant one and we would love to see you at the Cape Milner Hotel again soon.
Thank you,
Jeremy Flowerday
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    176
    45
    15
    5
See reviews for
44
151
45
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Service not so great, people from the city in the swimming pool putting the music very loud and taking all the available space. Swimming pool dirty and small.
No ice to do cocktails, unable to do most of the cocktails. The service is slow. Average breakfast. Mistake of the receptionnist about a restaurant reservation.
Accomodation is fine.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grégoire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MBCapeTown, General Manager at Cape Milner, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Gregoire,
It was with regret to have learned of the poor standards of service and delivery during your stay at the Cape Milner Hotel.
There is a large amount of food for thought in your review and we have already commenced changes that we believe will avoid the annoyance and frustration that you experienced whilst with us.
The comment about the cocktails is very concerning to me as this is not the first time this has been mentioned, it will be put right so that we are in a position to deliver cocktails to all our guest expectations in the future.
I trust you had a good journey home to France and offer my sincere apologies for the shortcomings experienced.
Kind regards,
Jeremy Flowerday,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

I had been booked in this hotel by one of the major tour operators in India during my recent vacation in South Africa. I stayed there on two occasions. First on December 21 and second on December 26 and 27. On both the occasions I found the reception staff, very rude. The ACs in the rooms were not working and I requested either to make them work, or to provide a fan or to change to the room. None of the requests were acceded to. To top it on 27th , when I came back to my room at around 9.30 pm, I find the door wide open !!! I complained to the reception. He was very rude. I wanted some one to come and see. After much bargaining, the manager in charge of restaurants(!) came to see. I requested him to check through the card reader as to who would have entered the room. After around 30 minutes he brought the card reader. But he did not know how to use it!!!. I requested to talk to the General Manage. I was told that he could not be contacted. Left a complaint with my mail id. No reply or acknowledgement till date. The room did not appear to have been tampered. Hotel authorities have capability to open any rooms. Not sure whether any one had some ulterior motive and opened my room, but before they could finish their job, I had come!!!

Room Tip: Do not recommend this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sun6366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MBCapeTown, General Manager at Cape Milner, responded to this review, 3 May 2015
Dear Ferdinand C

Thank you for providing us with your feedback.

I am delighted to hear you enjoyed the stay and would like to apologise for the slow service in housekeeping, generally we aim to have our guest rooms serviced by 3pm however please advise us on check in and we will ensure your room is serviced as per your requirements,.

We will address the issue immediately to ensure our GUESTS receive only the best service at all times.

Kind regards

Natasha Powell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

I spend an afternoon at the Cape Milner hotel with close friends, enjoying the pool.
Janine Isaacs, our waitress, took such good care of us … smiling, attentive, and caring… She was just fantastic.
I will definitely come back to the Cape Milner for the great service.

Catherine
France/Canada

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cath R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

The Cape Milner is a fine hotel and adequate in most respects. It's in a nice and quiet location with the ability to walk to most interesting parts of the city. I found the staff to be very courteous but a little inflexible with special requests. The restaurant had a nice but pretty basic breakfast buffet included with the room.

I found the room to be a bit dated and it had some annoying features. There was no clock in the room. The TV seemed very small when trying to watch from the bed. The shower (at least in room 203) leaked terribly on to the floor so after every shower there was a slipper flood in the bathroom that lasted until the room was cleaned. The rooms themselves were kind of stark feeling without any real decor.

The hotel had a small but adequate gym. The pool was also small. There was a beautiful view of Table Mountain from the pool. I was there for a three day business conference and the meeting rooms at the hotel were fine.

As a place to sleep while in Cape Town on business, I would have no problem recommending the Cape Milner. However, if I were in CT on holiday with my wife for family, this would not be the choice. I would probably choose one if the more boutique hotels by the water or one of the larger hotels in the city. There was just very little to do at the Cape Milner and the pool was too small to hang around at for the afternoon.

If the management of the hotel would out a little effort into making the rooms more comfortable and less dated, I think this hotel would take a huge leap forward.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mbloch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bath
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

Excellent service, lovely food and groovy decor made this a good choice.It's about 15mins drive (£5) taxi ride to the waterfront but a good spot for a business hotel.It has a real old world charm exterior but the decor inside is modern and stylish. Rooms have all the amenities you would expect from a higher grade hotel . The pool was tiny and the bed so hard I had to sleep on my pillows otherwise I would have given it a 5 considering what good value it was .

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meesh48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

The hotel has excellent views of Lion's Head and Table Mountain. Rooms are spacious with spacious bathrooms. The hotel has a very modern feel although you can still see that this used to be an old style building that has been renovated. Staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The restaurant can also cater to your needs if the menu doesn't have what you want. Overall an excellent stay.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Rishen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeanne d, Manager at Cape Milner, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Hello Rishen

I’m happy you enjoyed the hotel and the flexibility and friendliness of our staff. We look forward to your return.

General Manager
The Cape Milner Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
6.4 mi away
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#26 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
4.7 mi away
Alta Bay
Alta Bay
#21 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hippo Boutique Hotel
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#47 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel
African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel
#32 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
4.6 mi away
Cape Town Hollow
Cape Town Hollow
#42 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
4.7 mi away
Cape Heritage Hotel
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Milner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Milner

Property: Cape Milner
Address: 2a Milner Road | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#28 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#41 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cape Milner 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cradled beneath the majestic Table Mountain in Cape Town's trendy suburb of Tamboerskloof lies the Cape Milner. Extensively refurbished, this exquisite hotel offers a sophisticated and contemporary ambience with the highest standards in style and luxury. All rooms have air-conditioning, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities, television (selected satellite programs), direct dial telephones, mini bar fridge - stocked on request only, safes and hairdryers. Children 0-11 years stay complimentary - room only - when sharing with a minimum of one full paying adult. A maximum of one child can be accommodated with two parents in a Luxury room only. Cots are available on request. The Hotel is ideally situated from which to explore the centre of Cape Town and is a 5 minute walk to an array of restaurants and entertainment. Transfers from the airport can be arranged upon request and charged to your account. Complimentary shuttle within an 8km radius of the Hotel on request includes the V&A Waterfront, Table Mountain, Cape Town CBD and a large amount of local attractions including museums and places of interest. Shuttle available during week days only from 08h00 and 17h00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Cape Milner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Milner Hotel Cape Town Central
Cape Town Milner
Hotel Cape Town
Cape Milner Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing