We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recently refurbished and handy”
Review of The PortsWood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The PortsWood
Ranked #42 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 December 2011

We stayed for thre nights at the end of our African Safari and were pleased with the copies as it was handy to the waterfront region full of shops for tourists and magnificent Restuarants. Don't forget to visit the Craft Centre well worth the visit and purchase what you can from these talented crafts people.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aussiebd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (789)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

547 - 553 of 789 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2011

Our stay at the Portswood didn't get off to the best start. They had no record of our booking and told us we'd have to pay for the room (again!) and then find somewhere else to stay the next night as they were full. Needless to say our first couple of days were ruined trying to find another hotel. Only to be told that it was all sorted and we could stay.... no apology just that it was a computer glitch. The whole situation could and should have been handled better.

The hotel is in a great location, only a couple of minutes walk to the V&A waterfront. This is what you are paying for! As the rooms are average and what you'd get elsewhere for a hotel a third of the price. Breakfast was fine, a good selection of hot and cold dishes (there is also toast and other hot dishes available which you have to ask for - this seems to be top secret though as no one tells you this!).

Overall, not very impressed - although it seems that all hotels in this area are expensive, just don't expect to get much for your money.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JG-Edin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

We stayed at this hotel in Cape Town after a trip from Johannesburg on the Shongololo Express over 16 days which was a great way to experience South Africa. We found the rooms smart comfortable and clean. Like some many hotels however why is there only one sitting chair in a double room.
We found the staff in all departments provided a service that went beyond industry norms. The check in staff found us a room well ahead of normal check in time and the crew in the restaurant were most helpful at breakfast where the food was well presented and prepared.
Should we visit Cape Town again we would stay here for both the above reasons and for its convenient location to the V & A

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ikev48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

I am pleased to advise,that I stayed again at the Portswood in November for 4 nights, the experience was exceptional, the management and staff are so friendly it is like being home from home, the food and service is excellent and the location could not be better, I am already planning to make it a hatrick next year.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BOEING777300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

We could ask for no more from this friendly and welcoming hotel. The location to the V@A Waterfront was incredible, literally a 3 minute walk over the car park and very safe, even at night. We were there for the Clipper Round the World Yacht Race, so ideal to get down there quickly. All the staff are so friendly, thanks to Brian, Desmond & Joseph, your Welcome Home is a very nice touch when you had a long day and even more appriciated when you you first arrive after 20 hours of traveling. We were also there on our Wedding Anniversary Wedding Anniversary so we were upgraded to a suite, which was well maintained and a very spacous room, with a view overlooking the pool towards the V&A, we found this so relaxing.
The food was of an excellent standard and what a great breakfast with so much variation and so well presented and if you were in the mood try alfresco by the pool, but watch out for the birds! One of the only downsides was the speed of the internet connection whether you accessed remotely from your room or from the Business Centre, I gave up on several occassions trying to use it. When in Cape Town again, we would definately stay here, it has everything we want good location, good food, excellent staff.

Room Tip: Suites are good, but cost you more - Rooms overlooking the V&A do not get the full sunlight earl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KirbsSoham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

The hotel is located at the V & A Waterfront, a decent hotel with excellent service and comfortable rooms. The entire area safe, even in the late evening for a solo walk. The hotel staff will respond to every request with a smile. However - Wi-Fi terribly weak and slow, breakfast - decent but not much else. Recommended for those seeking a comfortable place, with good service for a reasonable price. Not for businessmen who looking to work while in room. Also - I have not seen an air conditioning, can be problematic on warm days.

Room Tip: If you want to connect to the Internet - has a wired connection, do not count on wireless connection
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yifta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

I occupied room 207 at the PortsWood Hotel; a small but nicely furnished room.

The layout was the standard hotel room. The bathroom was located on the right hand side of a small entrance hall, wardrobe on the left, with the bedroom beyond the entrance area.

The bathroom had white tiles with blue border tile trim, with white basin set into a blue laminate vanity top. A bath with shower over and WC completed the fittings. The lighting in the bathroom was cold fluorescent type (very unflattering). There was plenty of hot water, but the towels were very harsh.

The wardrobe comprised hanging space and three shelves: one of these was taken up with a personal safe and one with laundry list, laundry bags etc.

The twin beds had white duvets with a blue bed throw, with one bedside table between the beds, where a telephone and note pad were located. A clock was not provided in the room.

The bed linen was good quality and the pillows very comfortable. A turn down service in the evening was provided.

The desk area included kettle, coffee, tea, mugs etc., with a mirror over the desk.
There was also a cabinet with TV on top of it. The cabinet had glass shelves and was stocked with drinking glasses. Free wi-fi is provided throughout the hotel.

The décor was completed with nautical prints and the carpet blue patterned.

The PortsWood is located three minutes walk away from the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, accessed through a public car park and across a street. Guests are safe to walk to the V & A.

The staff at the PortsWood were excellent: friendly, welcoming and efficient. The housekeeping staff and the young woman on the Tour desk are particularly worthy of mention.

Breakfast is served in the Quarterdeck Restaurant. High quality china and cutlery is evident and the tables beautifully set. The maritime theme continues in the restaurant (as it does throughout the hotel) and the walls are adorned with fascinating dinner menus from ocean going liners that operated in the past to and from Cape Town.

In South Africa breakfast is often a highlight, but not so at the PortsWood. The food was very ordinary and the hot food was always cold. (The lids of the bain-maries were standing open most of the time.) Several members of the kitchen brigade were positioned in the Restaurant every morning, but they didn’t appear to be doing any work. No cooking stations for omelets etc were evident. There was no sign of a toaster and the croissants were cold. After the first day I opted for the continental breakfast, which was reasonably good.

Despite this, I thoroughly enjoyed my visit to the PortsWood and it is my intention to stay again on my next visit to South Africa.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0 mi away
The Commodore
The Commodore
#38 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,339 reviews
0.1 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,589 reviews
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#62 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#43 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,540 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,348 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor Hou...
#15 of 110 in Cape Town Central
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The PortsWood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The PortsWood

Address: PortsWood Road, PortsWood Square | V&A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8002, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#39 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#46 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#46 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £149 - £279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The PortsWood 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The PortsWood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Portswood Hotel Cape Town Central
Portswood Hotel Cape Town
Portswood Cape Town
The PortsWood Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing