We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location and comfortable stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The PortsWood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The PortsWood
Ranked #43 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent location and comfortable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in November 2011 at the start of our South African holiday and it was ideal. Great location as others have said just minutes from the Waterfront but peaceful. rooms not enormous but how long do you spend in your room when you are in Cape Town? Staff very pleasant although one complaint which was that a message from our tour guide was not relayed to us and so we spent half an hour one morning trying to meet up with him. As others have said staff are very charming but whether this is genuine or in the hope of getting a tip is debatable. Housekeeping was excellent. All in all would certainly recommend and would happily stay again.

Room Tip: choose one away from the pool as this can be noisy if other guests are sitting outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Citytraveller08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    317
    96
    28
    13
See reviews for
73
327
56
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
bradford
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

We stayed at the Portswood as the most economical hotel in the Waterfront complex. It doesn't have sea or mountain views, but is very close to the Waterfront hub. The staff were all very friendly, but they almost all (with the exception of the very helpful reception staff) made it clear they wanted a tip. There are so many staff that tipping them all would add substantially to the cost of the holiday! On our final day we tipped one waiter who had given us "special" service - after which we did not see him again, and all service ceased! There is a turndown service at night, but frequently this consisted of someone knocking at the door and handing us a chocolate! Having said this, the hotel has a lovely pool, although the sunlounge area is very small. There is a large, lovely selection at breakfast, and you can order practically any cooked food. The rooms are pleasant, but the bathrooms really need updating - they are worn and there was mould round the edge of my bath. The hotel had a large student group from Ireland stay, who were disruptive, and who prevented other residents using the pool. I would stay there only again only if I couldn't afford anywhere else on the Waterfront.

Room Tip: I would advise requesting a room that does not overlook the pool, as the students kept us awake at 4...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BradfordSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

Stayed here two nights in January 2012. The location is one block from the V & A Waterfront which is lively. The room was clean and everthing worked okay. Good and filling breakfasts. Good value for its location.
Housekeeping found hair spray for me when I ran out at the end of my stay.
Travel desk booked our trip on safari for us

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hobartgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

The location could not be any better, right in the middle of the waterfront. The valet/concierge were very welcoming. The staff made us feel at home. The rooms were very nice, clean and up to date. You only have to cross the street and you are in the waterfront shopping. It was the best way to finish this business trip. I would return in a heart beat to this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hydrosurveyor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2011

We stayed at the Portswood for three nights and had a great time.
The start of our 10 day African Sky Safari tour.
The hotel is across the road from the V&A Waterfront shopping precinct.
The staff were very friendly and went out of their way to help with any little thing, especially advice on what to see and where to go.
Don't miss the tour of Robben Island and the cable car to Table Mountain, they are worth it.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yantothahc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

The Portswood Hotel, great little hotel, right across from the Victoria & Albert Waterfront.
Spent 3 nights at the Portswood Hotel. It's the perfect boutique hotel when staying in Cape Town.

The Portswood is well situated for quick trips to the V & A Waterfront complex. When you exit the hotel take a left and follow the path, you will pass a few other hotels and guest houses, which will take you to a set of steps and across the street to the V & A. The V & A has a great variety of shops and restaurants as well as some street entertainment for your strolling pleasure. This is also where you can catch the ferry to Robben Island. When you leave the hotel, if you don't take an immediate left and continue straight left, this will lead to stairs and the street below, the aquarium is within walking distance as are views of nearby Table Mtn.

The Portswood has comfortable rooms, a small fridge is in the room to keep snacks chilled. The concierge in the lobby is ready to help with any questions you may have, there is a small outdoor pool, where you can also dine outdoors. The breakfast is delicious. There are 3 computers in the business area and internet is complimentary. I was having some difficulty printing off my boarding pass for an evening flight, the staff at the desk were extremely helpful as were all of the staff that we interacted with.

Cape Town is a beautiful city, the Portswood was a great base to use during our travels.

Room Tip: There is one elevator, and stairs are available, the stairwell is easy to navigate, so if you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flatfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberwell, Australia
Level Contributor
228 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2011

We stayed for thre nights at the end of our African Safari and were pleased with the copies as it was handy to the waterfront region full of shops for tourists and magnificent Restuarants. Don't forget to visit the Craft Centre well worth the visit and purchase what you can from these talented crafts people.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussiebd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.1 mi away
The Commodore
The Commodore
#41 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
0.1 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#27 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#59 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Queen Victoria Hotel
Queen Victoria Hotel
#14 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,028 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The PortsWood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The PortsWood

Property: The PortsWood
Address: PortsWood Road, PortsWood Square | V&A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8002, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#40 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#47 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#47 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The PortsWood 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The PortsWood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Portswood Hotel Cape Town Central
Portswood Hotel Cape Town
Portswood Cape Town
The PortsWood Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing